Greek University study on strength and speed in ballplayrs

• Greek University study on strength and speed in ballplayrs

<TABLE id=Table4 cellSpacing=5 cellPadding=0 width="98%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=SectionHead noWrap colSpan=3>Research in Sports Medicine: An International Journal </TD></TR><TR><TD width=20> </TD><TD class=Bold vAlign=top align=right>Publisher: </TD><TD width="100%">Taylor &amp; Francis Health Sciences, part of the Taylor &amp; Francis Group </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD><TD class=Bold vAlign=top align=right>Issue: </TD><TD width="100%">Volume 14, Number 3 / July-September 2006 </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD><TD class=Bold align=right>Pages: </TD><TD width="100%">205 - 214 </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD><TD class=Bold align=right>URL: </TD><TD width="100%">Linking Options </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD><TD class=Bold align=right>DOI: </TD><TD width="100%">10.1080/15438620600854769 </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE cellSpacing=5 cellPadding=0 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD>Strength and Speed Characteristics of Elite, Subelite, and Recreational Young Soccer Players

Ioannis Gissis <SUP>A1</SUP>, Christos Papadopoulos <SUP>A1</SUP>, Vasilios I. Kalapotharakos <SUP>A2</SUP>, Aristomenis Sotiropoulos <SUP>A2</SUP>, Georgios Komsis <SUP>A1</SUP>, Evagelos Manolopoulos <SUP>A1</SUP>

<SUP>A1</SUP>Department of Physical Education and Sport Science, Serres, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece
    <SUP>A2</SUP>Department of Physical Education and Sport Sciences, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece

Abstract:

The purpose of the present study was to compare maximal isometric force, force-time curve characteristics, pedaling rate, vertical jump, and sprint performance among young soccer players from different competition levels. Fifty-four (54) young soccer players were divided into three groups according to competition level: the elite group (n = 18) consisted of soccer players from the national youth soccer team of Greece, the subelite group (n = 18) consisted of youth soccer players who participated in the local championship, and the recreational group (n = 18) consisted of recreational soccer players. All groups were evaluated for maximal isometric force, explosive force at 100 msec, peak force relative to body mass, rate of force development, squat and drop jump heights, 10 m sprint time, and pedaling rate. The elite group presented significantly (p &lt; 0.05) higher maximal isometric force, vertical jump height, and pedaling rate, and lower 10 m sprint time in comparison with the subelite and recreational groups. No significant differences were observed in strength and speed characteristics between the subelite and recreational young soccer players. The findings of the present study suggest that the elite young soccer players can be distinguished from subelite and recreational young soccer players in strength and speed characteristics. These strength and speed measures can be used for strength and speed diagnosis, and for designing and evaluating training programs.</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

RE: Greek University study on strength and speed in ballplayrs

<DIV>I'm curious - how are the elements of vision and passing ability influenced by strength, speed, agility, stamina (and what else?)?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Thanks in advance!</DIV>

Mosiah (1/16/2007)<DIV>I'm curious - how are the elements of vision and passing ability influenced by strength, speed, agility, stamina (and what else?)?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Thanks in advance!</DIV>
      Reaction time, speed and agilityinfluences! Faster(less time used to perform)the physical tasks can be carried out...greater the length oftime that can be allotted to observe and make decisions based on those observations.

In Jamaica we can at the earlier agesfind many kids with the great reaction time and speed across ground...but, I think it is our coaching/teaching methods that fall short. The game is not taught as one requiring much thinking.

Sure the kids must be allowed to have fun...be not placed in too rigid...formal...teaching situations, but,just as it is necessary to teach and re-inforce good habits in other areas of the young ones' life experiences...so it should be with football.

I can remember watching the young Andy Williamsin his Mona games...I could see he was having fun...yet he was absorbing the idea of TEAM...the joys of using/involving TEAMmates in the action and had then'just about', in my eyes, perfect kicking and passing technique. Yup! It can be done.

If thatTEAM attitude...TEAM thinking-thinking of TEAM...attitude- you'll get vision and passing ability - is/can betaught/inculcated at the earliest stages...

...unfortunately basic speed and reaction time/swift reflexes cannot be...however, there are exercises and drills that can help the individual to improve on that "basic"...God given "basic" speedacross ground and reflexes/reaction time.

...similarly constantly being in and using 'mind' well during games helps to improve TEAM thinking-thinking of TEAM attitude...'vision'.

...as to jumping ability - strengthening exercisesand repetitive work will get improvement.

As it relates to the exceptional Valderama's and Fabregas' of the football world...sure they are slow but they have taken 'the vision thing' to exceptional heights...and, survived...more than survived at the TOP OF THE WORLD. Outside of "Skill" and "Tappa" we have had no one anywhere near the Valderamas and the Fabregas.

I know where you are going - The Maestro! ...as I said, he can improve...even at his today age. Unlike "Skill" and "Tappa" he does not release the ball as quickly. He does not usually make, in his games, the high number of one-time passes those men did.

Check past games of Fabregas and Valderama you will find that the number of one-time passes and or other quick releases...in their games...were very, veryhigh!They often quickly put theball towork.

Twoother things - movement and positioning -youwould observeon watching Valderama and Fabregas while that ball was away from them...they used the time to find space...support space...'good' support space...where often their only companion wasGod.

Karl (1/17/2007)

As it relates to the exceptional Valderama's and Fabregas' of the football world...sure they are slow but they have taken 'the vision thing' to exceptional heights...and, survived...more than survived at the TOP OF THE WORLD. Outside of "Skill" and "Tappa" we have had no one anywhere near the Valderamas and the Fabregas.

I know where you are going - The Maestro! ...as I said, he can improve...even at his today age. Unlike "Skill" and "Tappa" he does not release the ball as quickly. He does not usually make, in his games, the high number of one-time passes those men did.
        Karl got jokes! Tappa is known for passes, much less one-time passes?!? Mi belly!

The abstract stated the PURPOSE of the study.

It clearly listed the variables. Why the 'ell a bright bwoy like you want to muddy-up the article--introducing new 'elements' to the study.

Typical of some Jamaican.:hehe:

Karl I have to agree with you there,

Tappa's decision making skills (on field problem solving) is extraordinary and this is what makes him a world class player. Tappa has the ability to weave his way out of traps (spaces are being closed) and welcomes the chance to take on players. If Ja had treated Tappa the way France treated Zidane (make all plays go through Tappa but this takes discipline from the players) Ja would have qualified for germany. One touch passes are basic passes for Tappa, at times his teammates shows discomfort by getting a quick one touch pass. Not to cry down Hue but if he is given space he will hurt you, if you have quick defenders and midfielders constantly crowding him hge will be silent. Karl decison making is crtical in the game, let's look at robinho in the Arg.friendly (England): A quick turn and a through pass and Argentina found themselves down one nil. The ability to outwit and make qucik decisions (such as a telling pass; this can be called problem solving in football) is always key at the highest level. I saw in the last WC where Zidane literally used a pass to to tell henry where to go (you have to Pele in the 70s Wc to see these type of passes). the only way JA will see more Tappas is taking the nine and up street ballas and exposing them to professional coaches.

BTW Mexx and Ras mi hear unnuh boss, bless fi di hail up.