• PLCA protest hijacking players rights

PLCA protest hijacking players rights
    The Premier League Clubs Association (PLCA) held a meeting with 16 of the
    most senior players regularly used by the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) in
    international matches. These players are members of several Premier League Clubs
    represented by the PLCA.
    The players expressed their deep concern about the decision of the JFF that
    players who refused to sign an agreement issued by the JFF would not be invited to
    play for Jamaica.
    The agreement was reviewed by the Chairman of the PLCA, Most Honourable
    Edward, Seaga, Deputy Chairman, Carvel Stewart and Director, Ricardo Chin, three
    of which , represent leading clubs; Tivoli, Harbour View and Waterhouse respectively.
    The agreement requires the players to give up their rights to the JFF as well as to
    reduce their competition win bonus from 80% to 50%.
    Provisions for objection to these draconian, one-sided arrangements follow the
    same dictatorial pattern in that the final decision against any of the JFF requirements
    would be made by the JFF alone.
    The PLCA with the agreement of the players consider that discussion should
    proceed between the PLCA and the JFF to ensure that the rights of the players are
    protected. To this end, an arrangement was made for Mr. Seaga and Mr. Stewart to
    visit Captain Horace Burrell, President of the JFF at 10:30am Wednesday in Ocho
    Rios, to discuss the unilateral arrangements in the proposed agreement. However,
    General Secretary, Horace Reid of the JFF has negated the purpose of the meeting by
    using bullying tactics on the players demanding immediate signing or face the
    sanction of no inclusion in future JFF teams. Therefore, the meeting would no longer
    serve any purpose.

Mr. Seaga said, this is an ill-considered and devious attempt by the JFF to
    hijack the rights of the players who up until the recent CFU tournament had not been
    fully paid by the JFF in 18 months despite several promises. The response to the
    supreme sacrifice of the boys to remain without full compensation over this period is
    now to grab further rights and entitlements of the players. The PLCA and the players
    protest this unconscionable act. Discussions between the parties are necessary without
    any more bullying.

"Reduce their competition win bonus from 80 to 50 %" , does this mean the one they just won or that they always were to receive 80 % of any winnings?

i am in full support of the players... i also applaud the plca for their defense of the players... horace reid and burrell still believe they should continue to bully players and treat them as errand boys... these so called 'big man' dont like the idea of ghetto youths being able to exercise their rights to a decent living... i applaud the youths who are playing overseas who really stood up for a cause because they had the leverage... they did it for the youths who ply their trade in the local league and do not have the leverage... burrell and reid thinks the local youths will now succumb to threats and bullyism... i have been a supporter of burrell but i cannot support anyone who deems it necessary to demean youths who are striving to enhance their status in life... until this contract is examined by attorneys acting in the interest of the players, the players should not sign this contract...

Not because I support Burrell mean I support him on all issues. Personally I think 80 percent is too high but 50 is too low. It should be around 70 percent. I also think the Jan 30th deadline is foolishness. The youths need time to look over it with lawyers and others and I don't know about 4 years. Very good to see the PL Asscociation standing up but the players need to form their own unit and seek support.

I can support 50 %, but not 70 or 80%. I can't support treating big men like little boys...baker fi check him self....nuff licks for reid.

Very good to see the PL Asscociation standing up but the players need to form their own unit and seek support.
            Agreed! Players rights and clubs rights are not one and the same.

The Captain shows his true colours nthing no change. Duppy know who fi frighten. Despicable.

Jan 30 2011 or December 31 2010?

While everything nuh right mi nah blame the captain here fully. I am heartened to see players like Tappa and Barett involved and people like Tyrone want to give service for free. It has been 12 years since we make the world cup and players have benefitted. It is time for them to come as a unit and represent themselves more like the PL clubs have.

We call people bully and slavemaster, etc. How we a stand up to them if we act like we live pon they "yei top". Don't tell me the players can't form a good union. Nuff are educated, some are getting better pay than teachers and police and a lot of people in local and overseas sports faternity will give their help.

I cannot wait to hear what Jackula has to say again about our PLCA taking a strong stand against the JFF. An orginazation that was formed less than 5 years ago.

The JFF should understand that there is a huge difference between patriotism and blackmail/holding hostages.

Is their such an orginazation in T&T?

Stalemate.........meeting cancelled! I smell something fishy.
                      "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

So PLCA retracted..wow?

have they? SEAGA?!! him mellow inna him old age?! what happen? james robertson throw in his lot with the jff?