Di ballah tek di action weh dem deem fit, an now JFF ah countah wid fiddem reaction. A jus suh life guh, Newton again "For ebry action dere is a equal an opposite reaction". Tit fi tat buttah fi fish.
JFF offering Reggae Boyz contracts
i don't remember sterling saying that? was it when he was at portmore?
anyway, i did not expect the captain to be embarassed so publicly and then go gently into the good night ...... mek wi si ...
Ultimately IMO, the JFF, but that power would be mitigated by what product they (and importantly the fans) are willing to accept on the field. I suspect tehrefore that an association will have a positive impact for the players with a healthy dose of negatives.
I just read the post that X put up on Jack Warner. Jack lost in arbritration against the players' association but up til now not a penny received by the players... so who really has the power? for true..Peter R
Originally posted by X View PostYou think that move by the jff was meant for over seas professionals or the locals .......yuh see why it cant work.
Until we see the paperwork everything is fiction.
Originally posted by Karl View PostWe could be looking at an all 'local' team...as those who are less secure financially may sign...
...as usual most (all) contracts are as strong as the commitment of the parties to honour same. ...and that is often tied to penalties if the contract is broken.
What happens if the JFF fails to live up their contract obligations? ...and if a player does same?
Was the situation in Guadeloupe a result of repeated failure by past JFF regimes to honour verbal contracts?
Can your sources get a copy of the contract so that can review?
Originally posted by TheDread View PostKarl, in this case, where there is smoke there is fire. Both sides are at fault, but it seems that the JFF does not want to accept their part of the blame.
Can your sources get a copy of the contract so that can review?"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
terms of contracts , no dollar amount given but it must be singed by dec 30 and its a 4 year contract if not the jff is prepared to build from scratch.
idiots.....source observer....1st all contracts is an offer to negotiate , nothing is must.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Take it or leave it!
JFF gives Boyz ultimatum to sign new contract or be left out
BY SEAN A WILLIAMS Assistant Sport Editor
Saturday, December 18, 2010
THE Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) has issued the senior Reggae Boyz with its own ultimatum -- sign up or ship out.
Following a unanimous 'thumbs up' from JFF board of directors at a meeting in Montego Bay on Wednesday, Jamaica's senior footballers began receiving new contracts that require their signatures if they hope to continue wearing the national colours.
Horace Reid
Horace Reid
The speed in crafting and issuing the new four-year contract, which must be signed and returned by December 30, was a direct response to the players' own ultimatum issued to the JFF for better wages at the recently concluded Digicel Caribbean Cup in Martinique.
"The board is clear that it is not necessary to be entering into fights with players... the board has agreed to extend the time for the players to be able to review and peruse the contract, so we can move on to next year which is an important year for Jamaica's football as we have important competitions, namely the Gold Cup tournament and World Cup qualification," said general secretary Horace Reid.
A seasoned football administrator and close ally of JFF president Captain Horace Burrell, Reid told the Observer that he expects swift responses from the players "because the programme will not wait on anyone, as there is a greater responsibility of the JFF to press on with its obligations.
"The process (of getting contracts to players) continues and there are players that the team manager is trying to locate as you will appreciate some of them have gone on holidays based on the competitions they play... except in a situation where players can't be found for that and other plausible reasons, those we have been able to locate would have had sufficient time to review the contract and make their decision," Reid said in a no-nonsense mood.
"We will expect that decision and if they are with the programme we will be happy for that so we can move on together, if the players decide that they want to go in a different direction, we would say 'thank you very much'," he noted.
Should some players refuse to comform, Reid said the federation is prepared to go through a rebuilding process with those who are hungry to represent their country.
"If therefore we have to rebuild come January, then the federation is prepared to do that," he said.
All players, from the current pool of more than 40, must accept the contract which outlines the terms of their employment and remuneration, plus the JFF Code of Conduct, but there is one exception.
"Any player being called to the senior team will be offered a contract, except of course players who have indicated formally that they would not want to jeopardise their scholarship eligibility by signing the contract... those players will be given a waiver once that comes in writing," Reid explained.
He said last year the players were offered short-term contracts, but this time around they will be obligated for four years.
"Last year we offered the players contracts, but we couldn't offer them contracts beyond the life of the administration, so we are now in a new administration hence we have put forward a contract that will cover the life of this administration," said Reid.
Following the first match against Antigua and Barbuda, the up-in-arms Boyz threatened not to "lace up" for their second group game against Guadeloupe unless the JFF yielded to their demands of US$100 (J$8,700) per diem for the 12-day tournament, plus an 80 per cent cut of the winning prize money of US$120,000 (J$10.2 million). They eventually won the tournament 5-4 on penalties after defeating Guadeloupe in the final.
JFF president Captain Horace Burrell, in an effort to deflect further embarrassment to the country, bowed to the players' "unreasonable" demands, and he went further to pluck from his pocket US$14,000 (J$1.2 million) to offset the shortfall of the agreed sum.
The JFF had offered the players US$500 (J$44,000) in total per diem, but their spokesmen -- led by team captain Shavar Thomas -- refused the offer. Others who appeared on the front line for the players' cause were senior campaigners Luton Shelton, Rodolph Austin and Jermaine Taylor.
After returning to Jamaica, the players in a signed letter apologised for their conduct which they deemed as "bad judgement" and conceded it caused the country great embarrassment.
The players are due to be strongly reprimanded by the local governing body of the sport.
Meanwhile, Reid sought to clear up a misconception that players' per diems are used to cover meals and other expenses associated with their travels.
"When we pay per diem to the players and the staff, this money is not expected to cover meals and other incidentals as that is the responsibility of the JFF... the JFF will always be responsible for meals, accommodations and all of the basic provisions that we have to take care to ensure that our players and staff can perform to the best of their abilities," he noted.
i guess we will see our U23 team at the GC , their goes our Fifa rankings and meager sponsorship dollars.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
even after you sign it , it can be broken , of course with consequences , the trick is to do it if its beneficial to your interest .
such is football..i mean bizniz...thats where u come in (lawyers)THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
agreed.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"Obviously the established overseas ballas couldn't give a flying muck about the contact as they are getting paid; most would probably represent yard for free"
You think so? Bwoy unnu give them too much credit.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.