JFF offering Reggae Boyz contracts

• JFF offering Reggae Boyz contracts

Senior national footballers have until December 30 to sign contracts by the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF).
    The contracts are being issued to guard against recurrence of the player disturbance in Martinique when out of contract Reggae Boyz competing in the 2010 Digicel Caribbean Cup Championships threatened not to take further part in the competition unless they received per diem of US$100 and 80% of the prize money.
    Their wish was granted, and Captain Horace Burrell, JFF President, later admitted it was a mistake not to get contracts in place before the Caribbean Cup.
    With this new measure, the JFF is bracing for the fallouts.
    "We wouldn't want to be engaged in any other competition or friendly game and have a standoff by players, so we have decided to have the players sign contracts. We are not a rich Federation and we're not able to pay huge sums as some players expect, so it is possible that we might lose some of our players," Burrell said.
    The JFF reprimanded the Reggae Boyz for their action at the Dogocel Caribbean Cup, warning that they will be ineligible for national selection for at least two years should a similar offence occur.
    In a signed letter last week, the Boyz have apologised to Jamaica and the JFF for what they called "misguided actions".

if all the senior players in a sign of solidarity decide not to sign the contract, what happens then... the jff might be tough but the players have just as much leverage, if they remain united... it could get nasty...

Good job JFF!!

Incidents like this must be prevented in the interest of the organization.

The ReggaeBoyZ is more important than the individual.

Excellent job Cap'n Burrell!!

The individual being whom Burrell? contract is worth sh$^t , hasnt european tranfers taught them that ? JFF treading on thin ice.

The card of playing on national pride is becoming a joke.Ask Burrel how that fi feed my family and where is yours to take care of me and my family when yu discard me after using me ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

burrell dem disingenious

The individual being whom Burrell? contract is worth sh$^t , hasnt european tranfers taught them that ? JFF treading on thin ice.

The card of playing on national pride is becoming a joke.Ask Burrel how that fi feed my family and where is yours to take care of me and my family when yu discard me after using me ?
            X, this has to be one of your weakest argument I have ever seen. If a man a depend on playing for JA fi eat a food, he is worse than an idiaat. Our professional ballas get paid by thier clubs even when dem a play fi yard. Playing for yard is a showcase for a few of our local ballas fi pick up a gig so that them can eat food. That being said, it should not give the JFF licenses fi treat big man like bwoy.

HL,

This is an indictment of Burrell et al... they took the players for granted when they sent them overseas and they )JFF) should never have sent them off to Martinique without first having these contracts in place... Burell and the JFF don't deserve praise for doing what is the basics of their job.

And who are "senior" players? Just asking? and why a deadline? Is it a retainer contract? or just an agreement saying whatever? Why not have a standard agreement drawn up and fill in the blanks whenever a team is called up and assembled. If a "senior" player misses the deadline what happens?

We could be looking at an all 'local' team...as those who are less secure financially may sign...

...as usual most (all) contracts are as strong as the commitment of the parties to honour same. ...and that is often tied to penalties if the contract is broken.

What happens if the JFF fails to live up their contract obligations? ...and if a player does same?

Was the situation in Guadeloupe a result of repeated failure by past JFF regimes to honour verbal contracts?

hmmm what is the term of the contract? per match, per tournament? 2 years, 1 year? jff should not rush into this..they have a little time to think it through.

The players may be going into this thing as blind as a bat. They need a players' association. Without a lawyer on their side to understand and explain to them what they are getting into, it could be worse once they put pen to paper.

I agree with that, but, once the players say "association" watch trouble...Jack never liked it and as Jack does/does not, so do/do not his disciples.

i have said that for a long time now. Are they looking at stuff like world cup? What will the payment be for that kind of competition as oppose to the caribbean cup?

But who really has the power here? Provided, of course, there is unity.

You think that move by the jff was meant for over seas professionals or the locals .......yuh see why it cant work.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

All in all it may not be a bad move and could lead to some stability. The question is, What is in that kantract.