Jack Warner has hit back at Sunderland boss Roy Keane
The war of words between Roy Keane and Jack Warner has intensified with the FIFA vice-president making a personal attack on the Sunderland manager, after the Irishman had called him 'a clown'.
Warner is special advisor to the Trinidad and Tobago FA and incurred Keane's wrath for criticising his decision to withdraw Dwight Yorke from international duty.
The Sunderland boss described Warner as "a clown" and said: "If he is vice-president of FIFA, then God help us", and suggested he wrote letters on FIFA-headed writing paper 'just to impress everybody'.
Now Warner has retaliated with a new letter attacking Keane - and making a dig about his own conduct in walking out on the Republic of Ireland before the 2002 World Cup.
Today's letter says: 'The disrespectful tone of your reported comments further demonstrates the total disrespect that you and others of your ilk have generally for players and officials from 'small' countries.
'It is obviously difficult for you to accept the fact that someone from a 'small' country could rise to become a vice-president of FIFA.
'I chose to respond on a FIFA letter-head because that is a privilege afforded me owing to my said status and the fact that your callousness showed utter disregard for FIFA's regulations re the release of players for international duty. Regrettably, but not surprisingly, you did not grasp the message.
'In closing may I remind you that a player's greatest honour is to represent his country in spite of the fact that you chose to walk away from yours during the 2002 Korea/Japan World Cup after publicly abusing your manager... indictment that you will no doubt be proud of up to today. Poor Sunderland.'
FIFA chief Jack Warner returns the £230 Mulberry bag given to him by the England 2018 bid team because it's full of derision, embarrassment and betrayal
Jack Warner is giving back the handbag he accepted for his wife from England's 2018 World Cup bid team last month - because he feels derided, betrayed and embarrassed in its presence.
The FIFA vice-president and chief of the CONCACAF vote that could decide if England gets the 2018 finals, received one of 24 designer Mulberry handbags - costing £230 - just after Warner had blasted England for not providing 'goody bags' at a Leader for Football conference in London and insisting their bid needed more 'stardust.'
Warner, whose apparent dislike of all things English is well-documented, took a bag for his wife Maureen.
Here's what I think of your Mulberry bag: Jack Warner lets Lord Triesman know his vote can never be bought
The bag was well within FIFA guidelines regarding the value of gifts for delegates but Warner has decided he can no longer be in the same house as it.
A Mulberry handbag earlier: But this one, costing £595, would not meet FIFA gift cost guidelines
Subsequent media comments regarding his decision to take the bag had 'resulted in the tainting of her character and mine,' according to Warner who added: 'I have faced and continue to face all kinds of indignities from all manner of persons.
'But when these insults touch my wife, it represents an all-time low.
'This malaise of my wife and I has been allowed to fester for too long much to our embarrassment and the embarrassment of the institutions which I represent.'
Warner also criticised the 'deafening silence' from England 2018 over the matter after he had written to FA chairman Lord Triesman and concluded: 'In this regard, therefore there is only one recourse: a return of this gift, which has become a symbol of derision, betrayal and embarrassment for me and my family.'
Warner's also told Triesman: 'There is nothing that your FA can offer me to get my vote. If England does get it, it is because CONCACAF and I sincerely believe that England is deserving.'
mi seh di writing on di wall long time! yuh nuh hear mi!!??? di newspaper sting ongle mek a bad situation worse
Wait!! What writing? You mean that England wouldn't get the WC? Okay, but what you have to seh about the behaviour of the corrupt self-serving denizens installed on the Exco at FIFA? You think the process wasn't fixed? LOL!!! One dege dege handbag cyan compare to nuff oil & gas dallaz an' shiny gold coins!!!!
Why should england and not qatar get the WC, Qatar has been hosting fifa tournaments and cricket tournaments not to mention other international sporting events for years , come on arent they hosting the fifa world club now , isnt blatter right when he says the arab or muslim world deserves a wc .
boss dem rich , dem ave di facilities and it strike di right political tone , england will not carry on running dem mouth much longer in di press for fear of an arab/muslim backlash...dem soon start spin it
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
of course it is. FIFA was created to operate as it does. bawling from the outside for it to change will not do a darn thing! FIFA is a law unto itself!
Infidelity does not consist in believing, or in disbelieving; it consists in professing to believe what he does not believe.Thomas Paine
of course it is. FIFA was created to operate as it does. bawling from the outside for it to change will not do a darn thing! FIFA is a law unto itself!
"FIFA is a law unto itself!"
This will have to change as they have been protected up to now by the Swiss who are under serious pressure to change their rules (as they have with financial secrecy under the guise of the fight against terrorism). However, they will be welcomed in Russia, so look for the new FIFA headquarters to be relocated and with it, an ability to continue their cronyism and criminal ways. Football is in deep trouble in the hands of these criminals, it's just not obvious to the average fan and won't become apparent for about another 20-25 years.
Why should england and not qatar get the WC, Qatar has been hosting fifa tournaments and cricket tournaments not to mention other international sporting events for years , come on arent they hosting the fifa world club now , isnt blatter right when he says the arab or muslim world deserves a wc .
boss dem rich , dem ave di facilities and it strike di right political tone , england will not carry on running dem mouth much longer in di press for fear of an arab/muslim backlash...dem soon start spin it
X - Qatar and/or Russia getting the winning bids is not the issue. It is the process and the corruption around the process that is the issue. There isn't a level playing field for all the bidders. Many of those principles advocating the games going to Russia or Qatar could be just as easily applied to Australia as well.
Again, the process is what is at issue. It is corrupt and not transparent enough for it not to be manipulated. For example, did you know that FIFA demanded that if the tournament was awarded to England it should grant FIFA exemptions from all of the UK's very stringent money laundering laws? Otherwise, there was every possibility of a spate of criminal actions being brought against FIFA officials in respect of crimes committed or in some way enjoyed within the jurisdiction of the UK. FIFA probably recognized that handing the tournament to England would put it and its corruption on a plate for all to see (and possibly prosecute). So the sensible thing to do is obviously to award the tournament two countries with no money laundering laws worth speaking of.
Our game is in deep trouble in the hands of these dogs. They are not worth spit. All of them have committed crimes that elsewhere would have resulted in jail time. If you ever get the chance to meet Jack Warner, ask him why the T&T players have still not been paid for WC2006. Ask him also why he still hasn't paid the $1M he was ordered to give to charity after the ticketing scandal in 2006. I'll give you the answers (it is the same for both) - because Jack pocketed their money.
is FIFA's constitution mi talking ..... that more protectionist than any swiss laws. and yes mi know bout di pressure..it stemmed from the UBS case in liectenstein a couple years ago
Infidelity does not consist in believing, or in disbelieving; it consists in professing to believe what he does not believe.Thomas Paine
is FIFA's constitution mi talking ..... that more protectionist than any swiss laws. and yes mi know bout di pressure..it stemmed from the UBS case in liectenstein a couple years ago
Gamma, their constitution cannot operate above or independently of local laws of the country in which they are headquartered. So they can write whatever they want, if the local authorities consider them part of their jurisdiction, then they have full authority to proceed however they choose. The reason that FIFA have been able to get away with this for so long is mind-blowing and in someways, reflective of Swiss culture. Now that's changing. Human nature being as it is, Blaater and his thugs will do whatever they can to hold on to power even if it means that the game suffers. Mark my words - if there is no change - there will be change.
You can't pull a tiger's tail expect him not to want to bite your head off. FIFA embarrassed the future King of England, England's Prime Minister, the President of the USA, the Presidents of Spain and Portugal, the President of South Korea and the Prime Minister of Australia with a bidding process that they all now know was fixed. The question now is whether they will all band together and do something about it. FIFA's executive committee is toast if these countries decide to act in unison, but I agree, the likelihood of that happening is very slim. It will take great leadership and persistence, but if a youth like Prince William decides to make it his cause, Blaater and his cronies will have a serious challenge on their hands.
None as I understand it under the current framework of Swiss law, but this is changing. The current laws in Switzerland exempt sports agencies from anti corruption legislation. Had FIFA been headquartered anywhere else in the western world, they would be breaking the most basic anti-corruption laws. All a dem tief, law or no law - TIEF!!! I doubt the Swiss will be able to turn a blind eye to the FIFA b.s. much longer, which is why I predict they'll end up elsewhere before long.