• Burrell bows - Vexed JFF boss gives in to Boyz’s pay demands

Burrell bows - Vexed JFF boss gives in to Boyz’s pay demands
    Overseas Boyz say action not about money
    Tuesday, November 30, 2010

SAINTE-LUCE, Martinique — Captain Horace Burrell could hardly mask the deep hurt he felt as he met with the Reggae Boyz contingent who had threatened not to take the field for last night's Digicel Caribbean Cup game against Guadeloupe in Martinique.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...l-bows_8201158

Just cannot understand why appearance money and bonuses cannot be hammered out before we leave to prevent these 'public disagreements'?

Maybe someone believes they should play on national pride , money is a non issue.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

If We Must Bow..

Burrell bows - Vexed JFF boss gives in to Boyz’s pay demands
        Overseas Boyz say action not about money
        Tuesday, November 30, 2010

SAINTE-LUCE, Martinique — Captain Horace Burrell could hardly mask the deep hurt he felt as he met with the Reggae Boyz contingent who had threatened not to take the field for last night's Digicel Caribbean Cup game against Guadeloupe in Martinique.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...l-bows_8201158

If we must Bow, let it not be like hogs
        Hunted and penned in an inglorious spot,
        While round us bark the mad and hungry dogs,
        Making their mock at our accursed lot.
        If we must Bow, O let us nobly Bow,
        So that our precious blood may not be shed
        In vain; then even the monsters we defy
        Shall be constrained to honor us though dead!
        O kinsmen we must meet the common foe!
        Though far outnumbered let us show us brave,
        And for their thousand blows deal one deathblow!
        What though before us lies the open grave?
        Like men we'll face the murderous, cowardly pack,
        Pressed to the wall, Bowing, but fighting back!

Bun dat! Badman neva bow!

could be because if they do it beforehand they just cite disciplinary issues and drop the players and call alternates...this way they have a little leverage.

would not be surprised if those guys (the "ringleaders") never wear a jamaica jersey again except as a spectator/supporter

So is wha happen, look like dem nuh withheld taxes prior to payment.

dat nah guh happen...

Mi did tink Burrell wuz a badman??? Im ah get soff inna im dotage ar wha?? LOL!

y yuh seh dat?

J Publik nah support nuh ban... JFF need J Publik fi stay alive

das y mi seh dat

J Publik nah support nuh ban... JFF need J Publik fi stay alive

das y mi seh dat
                        You seem to forget the long time Shavar Thomas was left in the wilderness. He is just getting back into the good graces of the JFF and he could be out again.
                        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Burrell's mentor, a certain Jack W. did much the same to the T&T side that came back from Germany, when they demanded a higher cut of the profits the TTFF garnered from the outing.

A bag of them never played for T&T again, including Shaka Hislop, who still leads the struggle of the "blacklisted" players.

Wouldn't surprise me if Burrell does something similar, but of course the incremental amount conceded to the players for the per diem is not of the same magnitude the TT players were/are looking for. He might acquiesce. $100US seems reasonable to me particularly if the JFF isn't buying all meals... which seems a bit unlikely though; wouldn't the players' diet be controlled?

or maybe because the players were not told until the night before they left

Not quite Gamma, this has happened a lot of times before, I recall one incident where Tegat led the protest and when he was called and given his money he abandoned the others.

If we recall it also happened in France as well and as recent as 2007 several officials did not go to an Olympic qualifying tournament in Haiti including the current trainer from Brazil as they did not get paid for a trip a few weeks earlier.