Was Portsmouth's goal Davis' mistake?

• Was Portsmouth's goal Davis' mistake?

For those of you who saw the highlights of Sheffield United v. Portsmouth, who's fault was that Portsmouth goal? Warnock - the Sheffield manager blasted Davis for the error. In fairness, it was a pathetic goal that caused the Blades 2 points...if I was the manager and that was the crap let in, i'd be in serious vexation talks with the players.

RE: Was Portsmouth's goal Davis' mistake?

:yawn: where is that emoticon where the hand covers the mouth signalling the person dont want to say anything????

I saw the highlight but did not want to say anything lest I be called a hater (again) but one thing a central defender must be able to do and that is to think on his/her feet.

WhatI saw yesterday would not be acceptable in an Under 16 game and the defender had ample time to control the ball and do what he does best..big kick away.

well he must take the blame...i don't know what he said but it seems he was sheparding it for the goalie who seems to have hesitated. if the goalie had come he could have gotten the ball and kill some time. hoofing it no doubt would have been safer

Does Rabbits like carrots ?

one bad habit many Jamaican ballers have is spending their time directing traffic while on the ball. It look like he was telling other players something like "go wide" or telling the Keeper "to come" and a man just take him from the blindside.

Ball outa mi life help especially when you are one up.

Paul Marin (1/14/2007)For those of you who saw the highlights of Sheffield United v. Portsmouth, who's fault was that Portsmouth goal? Warnock - the Sheffield manager blasted Davis for the error. In fairness, it was a pathetic goal that caused the Blades 2 points...if I was the manager and that was the crap let in, i'd be in serious vexation talks with the players.
            Lapse in concentration by Claude. It is the man on the ball - in this case Claude - who controls the action. Claude's decision making cost his TEAM...and, that letting down of concentration occurs too frequently. He has to somehow give himself time to 'rest the brain' - no player can give full concentration/can be 100% focused on play throughout entire match -during matches when danger to hisTEAM, on or around his area of responsibility,is non-existent.

Not everyone can be a Tappa.

Navigate themselves with aplomb out of trouble in the 6 yard box.. against the Greatest Team in the World no less.

But we don't need those kinds of players around.. too much mental aspect COMBINED with skill... goes against the grain of yard ball.

Maudib (1/14/2007)Not everyone can be a Tappa.

Navigate themselves with aplomb out of trouble in the 6 yard box.. against the Greatest Team in the World no less.

But we don't need those kinds of players around.. too much mental aspect COMBINED with skill... goes against the grain of yard ball.
                Welcome back Ben Jammin. Look like they have you deep in the salt mines as we caan si yuh?

BTW, that dribble by Tappa inside his 6 yard box across his goal and doing it twice was just plain dumb. And it matters not which player does it, it could be Zidane, Ronaldinho etc, etc, I still maintain that that my friend is some retarded football.
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I am backing Davis to learn from this mistake and come back a much better player.

Sometimes our greatest dissapointments are our greatest lessons and Davis is no exception after all he too is human.

I like how the coach knowing that Claude is a natural leader with that Jamaican fighting spirit took it upon himself to not only blame Claude but to challenge him to step up his game as he sees in Claude the potential to be the best so he is using psychology to get it out.

I have no doubt that Davis will learn from this and come back stronger than before and by the end of the season will look back on this as a turning point in his Premiership experience.

Another thing I am sure of is the next time Claude plays outstanding his coach will be the first to say so and to congratulate him.

If you are going to blame them when they do bad or point out their wrongs then at least praise them when they do good or is that asking too much?(something we should do well to learn in Jamaica)

Frankly nuff of us around here should never ever ever have a negative word to say about our boyz as when dem win player's player and fans player of the years award wi no praise them so since when we earn the right to criticize them.

And since man nah hide and talk mi a talk all of us from Shatta to Karl to all of the Reggaeboyz supporters club if we can't praise the youths and exalt them when they do good who the hell are we to criticize them?

Yes I damn well said the above and if guy no like it tell guy fi dare challenge it and see. As far as mi concern Sickko no earn the right to be no damn journalist as mi no see him praise Claude or Damion Stewart when they won players player of the year award and so him no earn the right fi criticize them and like mi say mi nah hide and call guy name.

Mi say what mi mean and mean what mi say.

Man and man fi stop the bigging up of their player only(Jermaine Hue) and no have nothing positive fi say bout anyone else. New Year and guy fi go siddung with that!! Reggaeboyz is a TEAM!!

if guy no like the above mi ago tell unnu like how Biggs tell Teddy Bruckshut inna Top Shotta's "Say something, say &^%***** something!"

respect

if guy no like the above mi ago tell unnu like how Biggs tell Teddy Bruckshut inna Top Shotta's"Say something, say &^%***** something!"
                    Hey Shatta, we try to encourage discussion or debate on the site. Why are you threatening folks on here? Why put out a discussion then you dare someone to respond?

That is not the spirit of this forum. If a man feel you talking trash, he is free to do so and it nuh haffi be no war either.

Nevaknow seh man can be bad man inna cyberspace. (N)
                    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

It is clearly Claude's fault. No excuses.

I have not seen the game so I cannot make much comment. Players will make mistakes from time to time in games. Some mistakes will cost the teams games and that is a part of the game. Sorry to hear that Sheffield lost two points because of our boy's mistake.

Tilla are you saying that I am intimidating people?

Hell I am just talking out loud to myself just the same when "guy" say no one caan bad him up or jump inna him chest so why Shatta's post dem always get close scrutiny when I am the most harmless on here?

AS far as most people are concerned and as far as Mosiah will tell you he doesn't even read past the first paragraph of my "diatribes"

So Tilla the one Shatta stimulates discussions and if "guy" is foolish enough to catch feelings then guess what, guy is going to be mercilessly targetted until guy learns to get over it and move on like most other guys I have warred with on here.

You see Lazie, Balla, T.K. etc. pay mi no mind anymore? If guy sensitive then guy fi go play bridge and leave football alone. A wah do guy?

Huh? To tell the truth ... yuh post them too long and all of them have one of your two popular themes ... blackness or self praise.

Strangely enough, the lenght of this post was tolerable.

Ironic that Claude is being accused of not outta-mi-lifing the ball. Afterall, he does little else even on good days.