Boyz get boost from MLS

• Boyz get boost from MLS

Reggae Boyz head coach, Theodore Whitmore, believes the steady improvement of the United States Major Soccer League (MLS) has been a huge benefit to the national programme in recent years.

When Whitmore wove his magic for Jamaica well before and leading up to the 1998 campaign, only two players, Andy Williams and Wolde Harris, featured prominently for the national team from the US league. However, heading into the upcoming Digicel Caribbean Cup, the squad should feature six players. Ryan Johnson, (San Jose Earthquakes) Lovel Palmer (Houston Dynamos), Shaun Francis (Columbus Crew), Shavar Thomas (Kansas City Wizards), Dane Richards (New York Red Bulls) and Omar Cummings (Colorado Rapids) who recently won the MLS Cup.

"Yes it's (MLS) development has been a plus for the national programme in terms of the quality of players we have. Ryan (Johnson), Shaun (Francis), Dane (Richards) and Omar (Cummings) have all been in good form. It gives us a wider talent base and that augurs well for us," Whitmore told STAR Sports.

The inclusion of the MLS players, who will have been playing at a level above most in the region, will make Jamaica, the defending champions, arguably the strongest team in the competition and favourites to retain the title. However, Whitmore insists both himself and his staff will be guarding against overconfidence and complacency.

"It (overconfidence) is something that we have talked to the players about and the training staff is mindful of it, but we know that whenever any of these Caribbean teams play Jamaica it will always be a tough game," Whitmore said.

challenge

"We prepared for that and looking forward to the challenge."

Whitmore also admitted to being pleased with preparations so far and the effort of the players, despite the team having to train on an overgrassed and uneven pitch at the Stadium East facility.

"Their attitude in training so far has been unbelievable, sometimes we have had to take the pace down a notch. That is unusual heading into a tournament like this but they are really ready to go," the coach said, following a training session yesterday.

Forwards Luton Shelton and Omar Cummings have both joined the team but neither were able to take part due to minor injuries. They are, however, expected to ready for the tournament, which kicks off in Martinique in a week's time.

why football coaches love the word "augur" so much?!! anyone?

no must be inside trade language.

is that what they say? i hear "argue".

yuh looking "augurment", nuh true? back whey!!

a carl brown dem getti from

Originally posted by Twan View Post
              "Yes it's (MLS) development has been a plus for the national programme in terms of the quality of players we have. Ryan (Johnson), Shaun (Francis), Dane (Richards) and Omar (Cummings) have all been in good form. It gives us a wider talent base and that augurs well for us," Whitmore told STAR Sports.
              Careful, Tappa!

Those statements are going to have you treading on thin ice with many forumites here!!