Observer EDITORIAL: A technical director's influence

• Observer EDITORIAL: A technical director's influence

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>A technical director's influence</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>
    Saturday, January 13, 2007
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <P class=StoryText align=justify>Any attempt by a nation, or for that matter, a group to achieve a single goal requires co-operation and cohesion - an attempt to 'sing from the same hymn book'.<P class=StoryText align=justify>It's in that light that we note with approval, the recent meeting between new technical director for football Mr Bora Milutinovic and coaches of the Kingston and St Andrew Football Association (KSAFA) to outline his philosophy and expectations.<P class=StoryText align=justify>We are told that Mr Milutinovic, who plans to hold similar meetings islandwide, attempted to share with coaches his approach to football and what he expects from them as they prepare players, a few of whom will graduate to national level.<P class=StoryText align=justify>In the words of one coach, Mr Keith Nichols ".It's basically (Mr Milutinovic) getting us to understand more of his philosophy and how to prepare players to fit into his programme."<P class=StoryText align=justify>Mr Milutinovic's aim, of course, is to qualify the Reggae Boyz for the 2010 World Cup in South Africa and to make sure that once they get there, they compete effectively.<P class=StoryText align=justify>For the greater and national good, coaches must be prepared to take on board the technical director's tactical approach to football, so that there is a seamless flow for the players from the club level to the Reggae Boyz squad.<P class=StoryText align=justify>In this respect, Mr Milutinovic is asking of local coaches - perhaps with a quieter, less flamboyant approach - pretty much the same kind of tactical obedience that was asked of them by Brazilian Mr Rene Simoes in Jamaica's build-up to its historic qualification for the World Cup in 1998.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Football followers will recall that central to Mr Simoes' approach was a 5-3-2 formation, key elements of which were a sweeper behind two stoppers and an ultra-defensive midfielder. That 5-3-2 formation, now described in many quarters as too defensive and outdated, took hold at all levels in Jamaica's football.<P class=StoryText align=justify>As yet, the general public is unaware of the kind of tactics that Mr Milutinovic will bring as he takes the reins. What we know is that he is a coach of vast experience, having gone to the World Cup finals with various teams on five occasions.<P class=StoryText align=justify>We note that in addition to demanding of local coaches that they seek to enforce more tactical discipline, Mr Milutinovic is urging that a special effort be made to get a higher standard of competition for young players.<P class=StoryText align=justify>We would also urge the technical director to use his influence at every level to improve playing surfaces. For the technical deficiencies that he will have noticed affecting many of our talented young players have much to do with the inadequate fields on which they learnt football.<P class=StoryText align=justify>We would be dishonest if we were to suggest that there has been no movement for the better, in terms of playing surfaces. Certainly we are better off than we were when a shocked Mr Simoes first attempted to control a football on what was then a notoriously hard and bumpy National Stadium field.<P class=StoryText align=justify>There are a few surfaces around now that are better than the National Stadium was, back in the mid-1990s. But we still have a very, very long way to go. Please use your influence, Mr Milutinovic.

RE: Observer EDITORIAL: A technical director's influence

Now everybody a see the difference between Bora, Rene and the rest of the pack. Man a go talk bout a support them get and that Rene a fraud.

I am yet to see a local coach make these approaches. As VP say them miles a ahead.

Assasin (1/14/2007)Now everybody a see the difference between Bora, Rene and the rest of the pack. Man a go talk bout a support them get and that Rene a fraud.

I am yet to see a local coach make these approaches. As VP say them miles a ahead.
      Assasin: Lately you have been getting too many facts wrong.

Check this site carefully!

Thank you!

tell me what I said that is wrong

Assasin (1/14/2007)tell me what I said that is wrong
          Did you suggest no local coach had done what Bora just did?

It's in that light that we note with approval, the recent meeting between new technical director for football Mr Bora Milutinovic
            It is so refreshing to see someone can reffer to the man as Mr Bora Milutinovic, and we all know who he is talking about. I hope the rest of Jamaican journalists take note.

Good likkle read.
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Speak for yourself, Tilla. Is this the same person as Velibor?

Yes is the same summady! BTW, email FIFA website and ask them if the person they interviewed under that name is the same Velibor?
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

None of them has upon introduction meet the coaches in large scale and convey to them tatics, strategy and and what they are looking for. If you read the article and the coaches comment this is not what they are used to and as time go on you will see the difference.

Please! Some of them probably wouldn't show up if a Carl Brown called them into a meeting. Dem frighten fi di white fariner. Unnu dun know seh dem tings gwaan.

Assasin (1/14/2007)None of them has upon introduction meet the coaches in large scale and convey to them tatics, strategy and and what they are looking for. If you read the article and the coaches comment this is not what they are used to and as time go on you will see the difference.
                      Sass: If you had the same knowledge as Bora and you stepped forth to do as Bora did you most likely wouldhave Bora reaping greater attention.

Cho man, nuh run fram ow yaard guh! (N)