The bottom line ishim too slow and his defensiveability and intensity are almost nonexistent. His talent on the ballis unreal but those two wicked liabilities basically overcome all his assets put together as I have said time and again, hewill notmake it in leagues that have maximum respect for speed, workrate and ability to fit the team's defensive schemes, no team is going to give him time to show what he can do on the ball.
Hues isnt slow ! his problem is leaving the NPL at a late age , we all saw what he did in the qualifiers , in MLS , his problem is he fades in and out of games .Not knowing what to do when your team doesnt have the ball and how to counter attack when your team is pinned in your half are two important lesson that the NPL over looks and promotes as insignificant , hence the work rate of all of our ballas.
The question is will father time give him time to adjust his his game for the next campaign , seeing that Todd is using the tuff head J.J in central midfield and Championship clubs are begging to give J.J a bly toprove himself in thier clubs , probably the prem , will Hue get his 45 minutes for Jamaica again?
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Hue is about as fast as Goodison, I have seen in a few games where he has been a defensive liability, one of the advantages of speed is it allows you to be able to correct your mistake, he does not have that kind of speed.
When I talk about speed I believe all our Boyz should have G.Reid type speed and faster. For the type of ball we play we need every little advantage we can get, this is one area where we can be consistently superior in, I am not talking about no track team here, just a combination of the fastest, most skilled, brightest and courageous lads that we have, can we put that combintion together.
Stonigut (1/14/2007)Hue is about as fast as Goodison, I have seen in a few games where he has been a defensive liability, one of the advantages of speed is it allows you to be able to *correct your mistake, he does not have that kind of speed.
When I talk about speed I believe all our Boyz should have G.Reid type speed and faster. For the type of ball we play we need every little advantage we can get, this is one area where we can be consistently superior in, I am not talking about no track team here, just a combination of the fastest, most skilled, brightest and courageous lads that we have, can we put that combintion together.
Yup agree with you 100%. Among other things top speed across groundand topreaction time is vital in today's football.
*Correcting mistakes - Yeeeeeeees! - the player's own mistakes and mistakes of teammates.
Superior speed across ground also allows for winning 50-50 balls...getting into position early, to with more time on ball, increase probability of making 'good plays'.
Just had to comment on this part. G. Reid used to beat Asafa Powell in high school track. Yes, Asafa was not the world record holder then, but he was no tortoise. Kinda silly to expect all our players to be at least as fast as G. Reid. But then, there other statements in this thread that are far sillier.
Mosiah (1/14/2007)Just had to comment on this part. G. Reid used to beat Asafa Powell in high school track. Yes, Asafa was not the world record holder then, but he was no tortoise. Kinda silly to expect all our players to be at least as fast as G. Reid. But then, there other statements in this thread that are far sillier.
Are you correct in that satement - Kinda silly to expect all our players to be at least as fast as G. Reid?
Let us look at Arsenal - I think their slowest player, Fabregas, would be just a 'shade' slower than Reid. Fact is at the TOP OF THE WORLD your TEAM must have 'fast' players. The faster the better.
The job of our national TEAM coaches include finding 'out of all Jamaica' players that allow us to have entire national TEAMs - position for position - matching TOP OF THE WORLD teams. ...translate into, among other things,creating Jamaican TEAMs with players who have TOP OF THE WORLD speed - (football comparisions) - and all those players with this TOP OF THE WORLD speed must be able to perform at such speed...technically as do TOP OF THE WORLD teams. Iseriously think if that is not our - coaches, administrators, fans...etc. - aim, why bother!
...and, I do believe that the talent is there...across the island...for us to make those TEAMs. Hey...talent abounds!
Hue should hook up with a A-League team for next season, since he is unattached at the moment.
Continue to keep knocking a that door, and eventually an opportunity shall arise. Another opportunity should be one of the lower leagues in England, their so-called Div 1, which has given Goodison a lengthy career.
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=smalltxt vAlign=top><SPAN id=_ctl1_ctlTopic_ctlPanelBar_ctlTopicsRepeater__c tl3_lblFullMessage>Hues isnt slow ! his problem is leaving the NPL at a late age , we all saw what he did in the qualifiers , in MLS , his problem is he fades in and out of games .</SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
I actually thought the coach at the time when Hue was here in KC did not give him a fair shake. He was not playing to Hue's strengths and it basically took Hue out of games.
From seeing some of the Wizards' games on TV and at Arrowhead, the then coach wanted an outside left midfielder who would be a strong runner to play wide and support attack and defense. We would always see Davy Arnaud play this position as this guy would run non-stop the entire game.
Hue would have done better if he were brought inside the middle of link and made the play maker. It so happens however that this was not what the coach wanted from him, so Hue would spend most of his time riding the bench of coming on so late in games that he could not settle to influence the game.
"Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
Mosiah (1/14/2007)As usual, yuh don't have a clue! Spend some time a yard and then see how slow Garfield Reid is.
Wonder what you mean? -
He is really - slow...or, I am underrating his speed?
Just a reminder - I have always given him props for 'speed across ground'. ...and, have said, potentially he is our best 'full back'.
...I am saying now that a Reid at full speed appears to me to be just a 'shade' faster than Fabregas, whoon my observation appears to be the GUNNERS slowest on-the-field player.
This line of thought brings to mind visit of a Brazilian team with their slowest player...their centre-back Oscar. Our commentators frequently mentioned his speed across ground during 'calling' the World Cup...yet when he came to play a Santos (..or, was it a Santos Invitation X1) ...Howard "Jucie" Bell who was one of our faster players, ...and indeed our other playersincluding our so-called quick players...where constantly being 'out-speeded' by this 'slowpoke'.
Mosiah (1/14/2007)As usual, yuh don't have a clue! Spend some time a yard and then see how slow Garfield Reid is.
Wonder what you mean? -
He is really - slow...or, I am underrating his speed?
Just a reminder - I have always given him props for 'speed across ground'. ...and, have said, potentially he is our best 'full back'.
...I am saying now that a Reid at full speed appears to me to be just a 'shade' faster than Fabregas, whoon my observation appears to be the GUNNERS slowest on-the-field player.
This line of thought brings to mind visit of a Brazilian team with their slowest player...their centre-back Oscar. Our commentators frequently mentioned his speed across ground during 'calling' the World Cup...yet when he came to play a Santos (..or, was it a Santos Invitation X1) ...Howard "Jucie" Bell who was one of our faster players, ...and indeed our other playersincluding our so-called quick players...where constantly being 'out-speeded' by this 'slowpoke'.
Just checked my scrap-book - match was "Sao Paulo vs Caribbean All Stars" - played March 16, 1987.
I had a 'close-up' view of the happenings. I was on one touch-line as 'linesman'! Albert Allman was in the middle and Errol Moodie was on the other line....with Newton morgan as the reserve referee. Trust me, among other things, that ref team commented on that 'slow' Oscar.That matter of Oscar's speed across ground has stayed with me.
<DIV>You covered yourself nicely - "potentially he is our best 'full back'. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Let me be unequivocal - Garfield Reid is not our best fullback nor is he potentially our best. Archive that!</DIV>
Reid and Scarlett are really two of a very few LB's that I have seen in a long time out of Ja that consistently run off the ball and also make our opponents literally look like they are walking. I don't have the stopwatch times, butI know speed when I see it. the difference between Reid and Scarlett is that Reid seem to have KI! yes Killer instinct, Scarlett disappears to me the closer he gets to goal while Reid seems to be always dangerous.
I do not see how anybody can say that Fabgregas is fast, I have not seen any kind of separation in terms of pace from him, he is skilled and has a wonderful touch and vision but I do not see speed. Truthfully I cannot say I have seen him more than 4-5 times.
Now Et'o (sp) I see speed, I have seen that guy mesmerize defenders on the flank, he is incredible.
The one I always remember though is Hall on the right flank tearing up that Argentine defender who had no clue where he was or where Hall was, that is what I love to see, that is pure advantage, that just puts you in a position to obtain greater opportunity and that's what we need.
Now if Reid was beating Asafa back in the day in class 1 age group then he must be capable of close to 10.5 on a 100 or 4.4 on a 40yd, I don't see many football players especially on the Arsenal side that can run that type of time.