• The JFF needs to soften its touch

Western News

The JFF needs to soften its touch
    ON THE SPORTING EDGE
    PAUL REID
    Thursday, November 18, 2010

Maybe I am a bit slow but some thing about the recent release from the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) regarding the action to be taken against the St James High duo of Allan Ottey and Ricardo Morris makes no sense to me.

The talented footballers were among a number of Under-20 players invited to join the senior national team in a week-long training camp but they have said 'no thanks' as they have more important things to do, specifically catching up on schoolwork.

The JFF had responded in a heavy-handed manner, suggesting that neither player be allowed to take part in any organised football including daCosta Cup.

The national team was preparing for a Friendly International against Costa Rica in Florida which was played yesterday as well as the Digicel Caribbean Championships later this month.

The St James High's headmaster wrote to the JFF requesting that both Morris and Ottey be excluded from the camp as they were falling behind in schoolwork and had missed considerable time from school. He claimed that it could also prevent the two students from taking part in graduation, a rite of passage for any high school student.

On the surface there seems nothing wrong with the request from St James High since the players had missed time from school to train and travel with the National Under-20 team to a Caribbean Football Union (CFU) event in Guyana recently.

The JFF's reaction is unfortunate, vindictive and bordering on being vulgar as it comes across as trying to punish the players for looking out for their own good.

Being invited to represent your country in any sport at any level is an honour but the invitee does have the right to say "no thank you". It is not like conscription to serve in the armed forces in some countries where the citizens have no choice.

In the past, schoolboys have been known to say "no thank you" to the JFF. As recently as 2007, Cornwall College schoolboy Edward Campbell turned down a call to travel with the Olympic football team for a CFU Olympic qualifying tournament in Haiti.

Then, Campbell was an important player on the team and would have made a big difference. Now, it is unlikely that either of these was being seriously considered for the national team and their absence, to me, is neither here nor there.

Then again this is the same JFF that had pulled another Cornwall College schoolboy, Dane Richards out of school for a meaningless two-match series against India in London a few years ago.

Even if the JFF does not believe the St James High principal that the reasons he gave were the real ones, the boys should be allowed to represent their school in crucial Inter-zone games.

The team made the sacrifice and allowed them to travel to Guyana earlier in the season. They missed three daCosta Cup Zone A games at that time. But given their worth to the team, they are needed at this crucial juncture.

The JFF needs to understand the situation and be less heavy handed.
    Last edited by Karl; November 20, 2010, 07:22 AM.

Good one!

There is also the matter of the JFF eating humble pie as it has no means of enforcing the directive...It appears it was worded, to at a later date, claim it was mere suggestion...that the boys be withdrawn from representing their schools.

What a day it would be if every Tom, Dick an Harry could prevent schoolchildren from representing their schools?

The heavy handed action is puzzling?

What if all the schools pull their best players?

The fact is there has to be some compromise from both school and JFF.

There has to be policies that govern these thing. There are some prinicpals who believe kids shouldn't represent any national team while in school. While St. James maybe doing the best thing in the interest of the players involved, others may just not like sport.

While it should be deal with better, I think there is a thin line.

What if all the schools pull their best players?

The fact is there has to be some compromise from both school and JFF.

There has to be policies that govern these thing. There are some prinicpals who believe kids shouldn't represent any national team while in school. While St. James maybe doing the best thing in the interest of the players involved, others may just not like sport.

While it should be deal with better, I think there is a thin line.
        Sass...do not over work this?
        The teacher's (the principal's) job is simple - The kids first!
        The JFF needs to respect that...respect in every way the 'charter' given the teacher..and leave the foolishness behind.

ah bwoy......

there was a good prinicipal at Titchfield who abondon sports all
            together. He stop entering DCup, made us drop to the bottom 3 in eastern champs and was no longer a headley cup semi or finalist, no longer a rural TT powerhouse. The sad thing about it is during his tenure while he preach that it is best for the kids to learn, academics never improved it got worst.

Right now you know how many players enter community college over here? Not because they have A's but because they have education and sports background. The teacher have his job, the JFF has theirs and as community we need to make sure each one do their job and work together.

Sass can you provide evidence (even one factual one) of your assertions that there are principals who dont like sports and dont want students to represent national teams for no other reason that being bad minded?

Just one factual one please...

I just provided one evidence of a former Titchfield principal who single handedly killed sports at that institution.

No boss thats did not answer my question you said there are principals who prevented students from playing for national teams and that was the evidence I was asking for

If they don't want students to represent their schools, what you think their opinon is on representing the national team while in school?

there was a good prinicipal at Titchfield who abondon sports all
                      together. He stop entering DCup, made us drop to the bottom 3 in eastern champs and was no longer a headley cup semi or finalist, no longer a rural TT powerhouse. The sad thing about it is during his tenure while he preach that it is best for the kids to learn, academics never improved it got worst.

Right now you know how many players enter community college over here? Not because they have A's but because they have education and sports background. The teacher have his job, the JFF has theirs and as community we need to make sure each one do their job and work together.
                      Clearly a guy/lady who by actions FAILED!

Do not confuse good intentions only with good intentions and excellent management (skills)?

The teacher's job...only job is to do what is in each student's best interest. Everything he/she does must be beholden to that cause. Concentration on such a task allows every other thing at that institution to fall in place. JFF must respect that. ...and the JFF's administrators must react to the teacher's action with that foremost in their minds.

While the JFF can be given a pass for saying, 'respectfully we disagree with the principal as we could together find a solution'...it is crass and disrespectful to issue orders.

Shows, to me three things, lack of appreciation for the role of the teacher (school) and on the other side the JFF's own role and...here I make no apologies - No 'brought-upsy'!

There is no way the JFF administrators could have reacted the way they did if they took into account the role and aims of the teacher.

There were only two questions for me:
                      i) why would the JFF assume the teacher was acting against the interest of the students?

ii) why would the JFF leaders have faith in the teacher's actions being, for whatever reason, deliberately harmful to the students?

My answers give above, in my opinion, are charitable to the JFF. The only way I could be more charitable would to be assume the JFF leaders acted in a manner that was inadvertent due to ignorance.
                      Last edited by Karl; November 20, 2010, 12:09 PM.

Show me the nexus to that argument or just stop chatting foolishness. There are many schools that have no one who cna make any national teams

Sass can you provide evidence (even one factual one) of your assertions that there are principals who dont like sports and dont want students to represent national teams for no other reason that being bad minded?

Just one factual one please...
                          There you go.
                          One has to assume that the JFF's actions were taken as a result of that thinking..."bad-minded" teacher.

...or "fool-fool" teacher.

Again the questyon: why would the JFF administrators go down that path??????????

that is not the point. They may have noone at the moment. Who would think that St.Mary Tech could have had 2 national reps?

I am not saying that. The fact is people will represent their interest if there are no guidelines.