• JFF hails Sherwin Williams

JFF hails Sherwin Williams <DIV class=KonaBody Ar6jv="true">

Sherwin Williams managing director Ian Forbes (left) speaking with secretary/manager of Eclipse Club, Audrey Phillips (centre), and Jamaica Football Federation president Crenston Boxhill during a press launch of the Women's League in 2005. - file

President of the Jamaica Football Federation Crenston Boxhill, has heaped praise on Sherwin Williams for its sponsorship of the 2005-2006 season of the women's National Premier League, the women's National 'A' League and the Colourscape women's knockout tournaments.

In a letter to managing director of Sherwin Williams, Ian Forbes, Boxhill said the company is already aware of the JFF's appreciation of its support over the years.

"However, the JFF wanted to use this public means to express appreciation because the year 2006 saw the biggest leap in the growth of women's football in the country's football history. Indeed, as one of the most outstanding areas of progress for 2006, we thought it more than appropriate to highlight not only our appreciation but also some of the lessons," Boxhill said.

Both the National Under-20 and senior women's teams emerged Caribbean Champions and exited at the semi-final round of the qualifiers for the 2006 FIFA U-20 women's World Cup (January, Mexico) and the 2007 FIFA women's World Cup (November, USA).

According to Boxhill, Jamaica was also used as a major case study by the FIFA as the body sought to understand the reason for the growth of this area of the sport.

Boxhill said most of the members of national teams play in the Sherwin Williams-sponsored wo-men's leagues and they have been able to develop their skills, professionalism and work ethic.

"Your contribution to our local leagues has therefore provided the opportunity for the Federation to identify talent for the national programme. What else can we ask of a corporate entity with deep social conscience?"

The JFF president added that six national players had received football scholarships from universities in the United States. Boxhill said this has helped to lift the value of Sherwin Williams' sponsorship.

"We are sure that Jamaica will benefit from the services of the physical education specialists and the business administrators which are just two of the disciplines being pursued by the student/ footballers," Boxhill concluded. </DIV>

RE: JFF hails Sherwin Williams

Well gamma I say your cousin - gentleman with the glasses - is on the left!

yuh get it right dis time! i was nervous for you for a good few moments well!

All Hail Sherwin Williams!