MLS Draft

• MLS Draft

<TABLE class=bg3 cellSpacing=1 cellPadding=2 width=625><TBODY><TR height=30><TD class=bg0>19</TD><TD class=bg0 align=middle></TD><TD class=bg0>Dane Richards</TD><TD class=bg0>Clemson</TD><TD class=bg0>F-M</TD><TD class=bg0>23</TD><TD class=bg0>5'7</TD><TD class=bg0>153</TD><TD class=bg0>Montego Bay</TD><TD class=bg0></TD><TD class=bg0>Jamaica</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

I guess they will give him $11,500/ year now? Bwoy, life unfair!
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

RE: MLS Draft

Let us know if and when Omar Cummings (the other Jamaican) gets drafted.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

For Iraq or the MLS? These days, yuh have to ask!

I really don't like the way things have gone for Jamaican players in the MLS to date.

It's hard to turn down money when you are just coming out of college but I think MLS powers that be cater more to US national teamers and Central American players then everybody else is disposable.

I really hope that ISSA starts to recognize that football is a viable profession for players in Jamaica and start educating them more on the opportunities available to them world wide after they leave school. Look at people like JJ Okocha that went to Germany on their own tried out for clubs and got contracts.

Right now I get more joy out of hearing that a Jamaican youth got a scholarship to a US college than I get when I hear that one of our youngsters got picked up by MLS. In college the degree is a good back up plan plus you get good technical training even if the competition sometimes is not too great. BUT MLS!! dem almost bound fi burywi balla dempon dem roster in favor of US players of the same age and when our players pass the youth international stage they are unceremoniously dumped with their careers not having advanced in the MLS one bit.

They have no respect for Caribbean ballers. Dwight Yorke could make it at ManU but I doubt he would stand much of a chance in the MLS. Or maybe mi jus vex since dem screw over Fanna...
        SA 2010: Reggae Boyz coming home!

Omar Cummings acquired by the Colorado Rapids (#31 pick)

<TABLE class=bg3 cellSpacing=1 cellPadding=2 width=625><TBODY><TR height=30><TD class=bg0>31</TD><TD class=bg0 align=middle></TD><TD class=bg0>Omar Cummings</TD><TD class=bg0>Cincinnati</TD><TD class=bg0>F</TD><TD class=bg0>24</TD><TD class=bg0>5'10</TD><TD class=bg0>165</TD><TD class=bg0>Old Harbour</TD><TD class=bg0></TD><TD class=bg0>Jamaica</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

(Clap)yes.. mi balla get an oppty... congratulations... mi just nuh like de slave wages weh de mls a dole out to de bulk of de players dem...

Siya one of the big draw back is the Green Card.

I remember Ricardo Josephs a trini from St.John did great things at the draft and they said he would use up an international spot on a team.

They usually cut players from the region to give the spots to some washup European or South American balla who them think can draw crowd.

Anthony Curtis was another and other players suffer because of the International rule. You have to be willing to take peanuts or go to A league.

i have to agree with you 100%... that is why its remarkable that andy has lasted that long in the league... i think coming through the us college system helps though... not a guarantee but will be an influencer...

Who drafted him? I am not familiar with the MLS logos. Also is he obligated to play for this team, cant his agent seek a contract elsewhere?

Siya (1/12/2007)I really don't like the way things have gone for Jamaican players in the MLS to date.

It's hard to turn down money when you are just coming out of college but I think MLS powers that be cater more to US national teamers and Central American players then everybody else is disposable.

I really hope that ISSA starts to recognize that football is a viable profession for players in Jamaica and start educating them more on the opportunities available to them world wide after they leave school. Look at people like JJ Okocha that went to Germany on their own tried out for clubs and got contracts.

Right now I get more joy out of hearing that a Jamaican youth got a scholarship to a US college than I get when I hear that one of our youngsters got picked up by MLS. In college the degree is a good back up plan plus you get good technical training even if the competition sometimes is not too great. BUT MLS!! dem almost bound fi burywi balla dempon dem roster in favor of US players of the same age and when our players pass the youth international stage they are unceremoniously dumped with their careers not having advanced in the MLS one bit.

They have no respect for Caribbean ballers. Dwight Yorke could make it at ManU but I doubt he would stand much of a chance in the MLS. Or maybe mi jus vex since dem screw over Fanna...

Sorry, but it's pure nonsense to say there's some kind of anti-Caribbean bias in MLS.

Name me a league in the region that signs more Caribbean players than MLS. The Mexicans sure ain't doing it.

And for every Jamaican player that feels he was slighted by the league there are at least 10 Americans who could claim the same thing.

At the end of the day it comes down to who can do the business on the field. Look at Stern John and Damani Ralph, for example. They are two Caribbeans who made the most of their chances and ended up securing contracts in Europe.

They really need to relax that rule. I could understand if this was a country that needed a soccer industry to provide jobs for its youth,when they keep US bornfringe playerson their rosters, but most US soccer players have good educational backgrounds they can go get jobs you don't need to 'help' them out with 11k - 30k per yr jobs.

In other words Its nice to be patriotic butMLS wont kill the US economyif itgets rid of the native bores and find some youth from around the regionwho with a little patience will raise the overall talent level and entertainment value of the MLS product.

The love forCentral Americanplayers is a style issue and MLS people will like what they like who am I to tell them other wise - Central America is more known for football than the Caribbean. But the problem with those players and why they aren't impacting or improvingthe league much is that you arebringing in generally smaller,touch players who like to keep the ball on the ground into a very hard-running, crossing, tactical and physical league.

Remember one thing too Siya. American sports is also about the $$$.

The caribbean spectator don't really go out and support the MLS team while teams like NY Bulls make sure they have a few South American players to get the crowd. Metro stars use to put on Caribbean day with Jamekya production and try to get the crowd out, they even had Beenie Man headlining a concert after a game.

We have to find more ways of working with MLS as I think they will listen to worthwhile proposal to do partnership with them, so the caribbean crew will go out now and then and support.

MLS is the only pro sport in America that you can take you family and eat fi the rest of the week.

It doesn't matter who else is or isn't signing caribbean footballers. I live in the same country you do and have watched the MLS from it's inception so I know you are no authority to correct my opinion on the MLS.

Look at what Khari Stephenson did for Kansas City in the playoffs a couple of years back the very next year he wasn't playing and was soon out. Winston Griffiths almost single handedly kept New England looking like they belonged inone MLS CUP final against the Galaxy but that was the last game he ever played for them - If Clint Mathis ever played a game like that in a final they would probably give him Beckham money. Robert Scarlett was arguably the best player for Utahfrom day one buthe was just cut. Who were they going to cut Jason Kreiss?

What I have seen in watching the MLS is that some players who add nothing in aesthetics or quality to the leaguewont get dumped as easily as caribbean players do. If an american or central american player does the job 'on the field' they will be in MLS for many seasons not so for caribbean players.

I acknowledge that as a problem but they will get armando Guevara from Honduras it's highly unlikely that Whitmore would be brought in. Fabian Taylor was unlucky with his injuries but still you could see he and Cornell Glenn were much more likely to be benched after a so-so game than the American kid Eddie Gaven. That's the impression that the league has given to me as a Jamaican fan I think they buck up on our talent rather than make a concerted effort to recruit it.

Sickko (1/12/2007)Who drafted him? I am not familiar with the MLS logos. Also is he obligated to play for this team, cant his agent seek a contract elsewhere?
                              He is now with New York Red Bulls. His agent can certainly look work for him yes, if he is not prepared to accept the minimum wage MLS is going to pay him.