Improved chances for JA to qualify for u-17 World Cup

• Improved chances for JA to qualify for u-17 World Cup

Jamaica's chances of qualifying for next year's International Federation of Association Football (FIFA) under-17 World Cup may have increased with the news that five teamsinstead of the usual four will qualify from the CONCACAF region for the tournament. Having been selected to host the youth world cup, Mexico has gained an automatic spot for the tournament leaving the space for four other CONCACAF teams to qualify.
    This has left Captain Horace Burrell, President of the Jamaica Football Federation, hopeful of Jamaica's chances of qualifying.
    "CONCACAF is going to have five places which is unprecedented and speaking as host, Jamaica has an outstanding chance in making our mark in this qualifying tournament," he said.
    Twelve teams including Jamaica are down to participate in next February's final round of the CONCACAF under-17 world cup qualifiers here in Jamaica.
    All must be in place for the qualifier
    While praising Jamaica for the efforts being put in place to host the tournament, Ted Howard, CONCACAF Deputy General Secretary, says the work is far from over.
    "The improvements that we talked about and went over at length while we were (in Jamaica) are getting done because one of the things we can't afford to do is not have this event be absolutely perfect from the stand point of facilities, local transportation and all the other things that make an event like this happen. With this being the first time that we're doing a tournament of this size, we have to make sure that we do it right because it's going to be the precursor for all the others that come after it," Howard said.
    The CONCACAF under-17 world cup qualifying tournament will be held from February 17 to 28, 2011 in Montego Bay, St. James.

time wi start to focus on doing well once we qualify! yes, wi haffi qualify first but it look like dat is all wi waan fi do.

not even start talk bout doing well. Me we qualify first.FULLSTOP.

A just this evening a friend of my telling me of the talent we had for the last under 20 tournament. Ah Bwoy.