• Silly JFF!

Withdrawal could affect St James High players' future - Burrell

Published: Thursday | November 4, 2010

Burrell

Adrian Frater, News Editor Western Bureau:
    A request by St James High School that footballers Allan Ottey and Ricardo Morris be exempted from national senior team duties at this time so that they can focus on their academics has not gone down well with Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) boss, Captain Horace Burrell.

"While we understand the position of the school, we believe we could have come to an amicable understanding through discussion," said Captain Burrell. "To just withdraw the players like that could affect their future involvement with the national programme."

However, when contacted yesterday, Joseph Williams, principal of St James High, denied that the school had withdrawn the players.

According to him, after raising concerns with national team manager, Roy Simpson, about the impact the regular absence from school was having on the two boys, it was his (Simpson's) recommendations that the concerns be put in writing.

"Roy Simpson, the manager of the national team, called me and enquired about the boys and I outlined some concerns we were having re the boys' academic situation," said Williams. "It was Mr Simpson who asked that the concerns be put in writing and sent to the JFF."

Falling behind

In his letter to the JFF, William stated that because the players were falling behind in their schoolwork, the institution was making arrangements for them to get extra classes with a view of having them properly prepared for CSEC examinations next year and as a result he was asking that they not be considered for the national team at this time.

"In the case of Ottey, we explained that we wanted him to do a few CXCs, so he was required to complete his school-based assessment to qualify," said Williams. "We have nothing against our players representing Jamaica. In fact, we consider it an honour for them to do so."

Looking at the possibility of the players bypassing the national programme but still representing the school in the daCosta Cup, Captain Burrell suggested that since the boys' academic situation was in the state outlined, the school should also consider withdrawing them from that competition as well.

However, in explaining how schoolboys invited to the national programme are treated, national senior team head coach, Theodore 'Tappa' Whitmore, who incidentally is a past student of St James High, said provisions are usually made to address the academic situation.

"We encourage the schools to prepare work for them (schoolboys) coming into the national training camp," said Whitmore. "We have people in the programme to help them with their academic needs and if needs be, we try to maintain close contact with the schools."

In regards to schools releasing players for either academic reasons or for them to represent their school in football, Whitmore said he has never had a problem.
    "I just got a request from Clarebdon College requesting the release of a player and there was no problem," said Whitmore. "Maybe, the problem with the St James High situation was the way the request was handled."

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...s/sports6.html

Gamma is being proven correct on his position...

....that tensions would arise.

It appears the JFF, even as there is not yet the granting of full affiliate member status to ISSA is a mere thought, is not willing to allow the school administrative body to go about the business of managing entire the student population.

What rot is the JFF on about?

Sure we can understand the disappointment of the JFF bosses on the possibility of the absence of players leading to a weakened squad...but to intrude on the right of the schools to do what they see as in their pupils best interests and for the JFF to go as far as the issuing of threats is to be charitable ignorance of roles.

The JFF should back away from the position taken and should issue an apology not just to the particular schools, but the players and their parents or guardians, ISSA and the people of Jamaica.

the primary issue is that the JFF and ISSA have different mandates which can, will and has, come into conflict with each other.

If we are dealing with this properly we can work around it. We need to look at the elite athlete and how they are developed. We have elite programs here for athletes that takes in consideration such athletes and their academics requirements..

the elite athletes will have to dealt with separately than under the ISSA umbrella. the most logical would be private academies.

Well it has been a long time this has been going on. Not only that but the rich bright kids are kept from the national sides.

It is time they come together and work something out.

Rich bright kids nuh need ball at all, suh dem nevah inna dat deh situation.

What is the difference between an 'invite' and a 'command'?

depends on who is doing the "inviting".

No a lot of Bright kids give up the game just to go and study.

You remember Derrick Miller (the runner), I say him years after and he said he didn't run class 1 as he decided to stick to his subjects. It work out for him, while he wasn't rich but you get the drift.

Some talented upper class youth parent actually tell them fi drop the ball and stick to the book even when them get call for JA. It goes both ways as the ones who falling behind are sometimes forced to choose as well. It doesn't have to be that way.

True but there are so many instances when schoolboys have turned down invites to stay in school and we have not heard anything like this vulgar behavior from he JFF

yes ... but that was because ISSA was solely responsible for them....now that ISSA is "falling in line" with the JFF

Some talented upper class youth parent actually tell them fi drop the ball and stick to the book even when them get call for JA. It goes both ways as the ones who falling behind are sometimes forced to choose as well. It doesn't have to be that way.

Very true. Quite often you see some rich baller who are good at the Under 14 level etc and then few years later them nah play any form of ball. When you ask what happen to them, them parents tell them nuh ball game because them A grade turn into A and some B. LOL

So now the Academy deh uppa UWI, with a little planning in place we not suppose to have those problems again. JFF must can play a few tutors to cover schoolwork with these players for the duration of camps.

That is one good thing about the American colleges, the sports department provides tutor and will pay for summer school etc

So now the Academy deh uppa UWI, with a little planning in place we not suppose to have those problems again. JFF must can play a few tutors to cover schoolwork with these players for the duration of camps.

That is one good thing about the American colleges, the sports department provides tutor and will pay for summer school etc
                              What academy? when last you hear anybody refer to it as an "academy"?