• Donovan Ricketts named MLS Goalkeeper of the Year

Ricketts: Top 'keeper award good enough for now

Donovan Ricketts did his part to help the LA Galaxy win the Supporters’ Shield, and he has earned his due reward.

Ricketts was named the MLS Goalkeeper of the Year on Wednesday, the culmination of an impressive second season in the league when he posted 11 shutouts and anchored the Galaxy’s back line en route to the league's best regular-season record.

Ricketts – who beat out Real Salt Lake’s Nick Rimando and FC Dallas veteran Kevin Hartman – said the award was the top honor of his career, unless something better comes along soon.

(continue)

The thank-kews from your forum pals will be coming shortly Zeppo.

You keep them current on happenings.

Great reward for Ricketts.
      CONGRATS!

Congrats to him. Well deserved. The MLS has helped to improve his game significantly.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

The thank-kews from your forum pals will be coming shortly Zeppo.

You keep them current on happenings.
          Dis nuh fool mi...di breddah come in lika one mouse pon ah $2 bread...strait

mek im guhwhey... who need dat fi news?

the word sycophant comes to mind....the name uriah heep, of david copperfield fame, also comes to mind.

Congrats to him. Well deserved. The MLS has helped to improve his game significantly.
              The MLS and US goalkeeper coaching. Congrats to him.
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Bradford City or wherever him did deh a Englant neva have nutten fi do wid it?

No, when he played in the 4th division Bradford City, he played crap for Jamaica. I do not think he was challenged enough there to make a difference to his game. His game has improved night and day since he has joined the MLS.

Give credit where it is due Mosiah.
                  "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

No really true Tilla.

Ricketts have been a star the day he walked into LA.

Remember Premier League side Bolton took him there too, so he got nothing there either?

No really true Tilla.

Ricketts have been a star the day he walked into LA.

Remember Premier League side Bolton took him there too, so he got nothing there either?
                      Did he ever play a game for Bolton in the EPL or any other major competition? He was farmed out to the lower leagues where he stayed for about 4 seasons before he was denied entry back into the UK because he did not have a work permit.

Truth be told Sass, no ball was really being played at Bradford. That is why Ricketts' form was crap whenever he came back to the Reggae Boyz.

He has performed well since landing at LA. If you noticed, his game has also changed. No more is he known for big booting the ball up the field all the time. He is now conscious holding the ball, starting plays with his distribution and overall being a better GK than we have seen in all his career. He had the potential, but LA and Bruce Arena's coaching team put his game back on the right track.

I understand he was always able to start the game decently from the goal, but if you don't have faith in your players, you resort to big kicks upfield. Maybe it was his teammates that was the problem.

Surely, the MLS must have helped, but I don't want us to think generally that our players were no good when they joined the MLS. I already start hearing how Lovel Palmer can now kick the ball!

Tilla, I think you have a point. I never saw Ricketts play in England, but when he signed for LA I remember a couple of Bradford fans describing his game on BigSoccer, and it wasn't the most shining endorsement: good shot-stopper but doesn't command his area well, poor on crosses, takes unnecessary risks, etc.

Read here:
                          http://www.bigsoccer.com/forum/showp...3&postcount=10
                          http://www.bigsoccer.com/forum/showp...3&postcount=11

And whenever I would see him playing for Jamaica back then I was never really impressed either; the goal he let in vs. the USA in the friendly from 2006 immediately comes to mind.

However, no one can deny that his club form has been stellar ever since he's been with the Galaxy. Would you say that his form with Jamaica over the same time period has been equally the same?

The fact is Bruce Arena took him because he had faith in Ricketts. Where did he see that talent? I still see he makes that big throw over the top but it doesn't trouble anyone now.

The fact is Paul Campbell did a very good job with our goalies and it is now showing as we now have 3 goalies playing professionally come next season and 2 got Goalie of the year in their respective leagues.

Ricketts was a decent keeper. He did a few stupid things at Bradford but remember Bradford was not always in D2 either and wasn't Ricketts going to Championship side when he had his Visa problem? If was so bad a Bradford then how comes he wanted by at least one better club?

The stupid things he did including dribbling and trying to beat player, he was alway a good goalie. He is better now but he was always good.

he makes better...more mature...decisions. he was always a good goalie/shot stopper he has added more dimension to his game.

is not like seh arenas pick up smaddy offa di street who was a street mime and turned him overnight into this fantastic goalie.....