• A midtable manager Speaks ....On Rafa pool

Roy Hodgson critical of Rafael Benitez' transfer policy at Liverpool
    (0)(0)

Posted By: Grey Johns
    Posted In:
    Football (soccer)
    3 days ago

Roy Hodgson critical of Rafael Benitez' transfer policy at Liverpool
    Liverpool manager Roy Hodgson has hit out at the signings made by former manager Rafael Benitez, saying that he intends to get value for money when he looks to strengthen his team in the January transfer window.
    In the summer of 2009, Liverpool spent around £17million each on Portsmouth right-back Glen Johnson and AS Roma midfielder Alberto Aquilani.
    Aquilani, who is now on loan to Juventus, failed to make an impact during his first season while Johnson made 25 appearances in the league during his first season, although he has been a regular contributor this season.
    "I think you can pay an awful lot of money for poor players and you can pay not very much money for very good ones — it is all to do with how good your scouting and your eye is," Hodgson told the club's official website. "There are a lot of things here that the club has got to get right. We have got a lot more expensive failures on our list than good players that we have brought in for next to nothing."
    Hodgson, whose side have crashed out of the Carling Cup and have only nine points from as many games in the league, said Liverpool's new owners, American businessmen John Henry and Tim Werner, understand the costs of attracting the best players in Europe to Anfield.
    "If we want the right quality, we have got to be prepared to pay the right price," the ex-Fulham boss said. The owners know that perfectly well. We have got to make certain that if we go out and spend £20m, we are getting a £20m player. We want to be attracting the players that Barcelona, Real Madrid and Inter are chasing. It would be nice to think that we can shop at a high level."
    Will make additions in January
    The 63-year-old brought in several players, including Juventus' Christian Poulsen and and Chelsea's Joe Cole, ahead of the current season, and said that he will be wary of making superfluous signings in January.
    "I'm like all managers in that I'm wary of the January transfer window. I think it can be dangerous as clubs try to correct mistakes. But, having said that, we are going to be very interested in trying to improve our squad in January. There is no question about that. I am sure we will sign players."

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Linked with transfers rumored out

Pepe Reina to Man U

Torres to Man City or Man U

Glen Johnson to Juventus

Daniel Agger to Juventus , AC milan and Real madrid

Lucas linked to inter milan

Kuyt Linked to inter milan

Aquaillani on Loan at Juventus

Are these the expensive failures ? all linked to European giants , who are the no names that the european giants dont know about that liverpool is going to buy to conquer the world ?

Gone already Alonso (Real ) , Maschi (Barca ).

Dis bredda more than delusional, he has set in motion the wheels to undermine a clubs players confidence.Then he says he wants to attract the best players that Real ,ManU & the Barca are after ...hint Real and Barca already have capped two from Liverpool , the rest are on the way out ....... If yuh nuh get it , dem want wi balla dem !
    Last edited by Sir X; November 1, 2010, 02:16 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

What are you implying about your current squad Roy??? sheesh!

Anyway, I hope the yanks have come with $$ and that Roy can in fact make some decent purchases and importantly, hang on to the quality That is still at Liverpool.

Gwaan live inna yuh Benitez bubble. The man is 1000% right. Rafa flush the man dem money down the tilet.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

how yu know? cah yu head in deh tuh? LOL

unuh love fi hate Rafa fi true... Rafa won some and lost SOME; which manager doesn't?

Linked with transfers rumored out

Pepe Reina to Man U

Torres to Man City or Man U

Glen Johnson to Juventus

Daniel Agger to Juventus , AC milan and Real madrid

Lucas linked to inter milan

Kuyt Linked to inter milan

Aquaillani on Loan at Juventus

Are these the expensive failures ? all linked to European giants , who are the no names that the european giants dont know about that liverpool is going to buy to conquer the world ?

Gone already Alonso (Real ) , Maschi (Barca ).

Dis bredda more than delusional, he has set in motion the wheels to undermine a clubs players confidence.Then he says he wants to attract the best players that Real ,ManU & the Barca are after ...hint Real and Barca already have capped two from Liverpool , the rest are on the way out ....... If yuh nuh get it , dem want wi balla dem !
            Wait, was it Hodgson's fault that Xavi went to Real Madrid? I could have sworn he was playing for Real MAdrid from last season. Secondly, wasn't Hodgson trying to keep Jefe? How much time has Jefe wasted at Liverpool? When he look at the fact that both he and Tevez went to England the same time, yet Tevez won 2 EPL titles, 1 CC, 1 UCL and 1 WCC, of course he would want to leave that talent killing entity.

how you mean what the man think of his current squad?

The position they have been all season says it all..

Not like they were world beater under Rafa last year.

Ok...from a morale-boosting perspective, IMO, it would not be the most prudent opinion to put on the airwaves... so you telling your existing squad exactly as i posted above... unuh nuh wurt nutten... do you see a hint of self-fullfilling preohecy with an attitude like that? if he had cojones he would shet his mouth and work with the cards he was dealt...

and oh yeah I forgot, Liverpool barely missed relegation last year...

Well them nah give the man all the blame. We all know all the big failure at Liverpool. It is not hard to see. It can also be a catalyst for them to prove the manger wrong. It is sad when an outer form Torres a the leading scorer with 2 goals.

Blame is part of the game... I guess; I think Ngog is the leading scorer btw...

for the season yes but I don't think in the EPL.

Rafa schools the delusional ones

Roy Hodgson just doesn't get it at Liverpool, says angry former manager Rafa Benitez
                        By LAURA WILLIAMSON
                        Last updated at 12:39 AM on 2nd November 2010
                        Comments (0)
                        Add to My Stories
                        Rafa Benitez has launched a sensational attack on his successor, Roy Hodgson, accusing the Liverpool boss of being clueless and rejecting criticism he left the club with a sub-standard squad.
                        Speaking ahead of Inter Milan's Champions League clash at Tottenham on Tuesday night - Benitez's first match in England since he left Liverpool this summer - the Spaniard let rip at his Anfield successor.

Pointing the finger: Rafa Benitez has slammed his Liverpool successor Roy Hodgson
                        Benitez said: 'I feel that Mr Hodgson doesn't understand. Every single press conference is worse than the last one. He's talking about things he doesn't know.
                        'Some people cannot see a priest on a mountain of sugar. He doesn't understand, maybe he has been in the job for not so long.
                        'Instead of talking about the flips and the flops, he has to concentrate on his players and do his best. He has a good (big) job to do.'

Facing up to reality: Hodgson has endured a tough start to life at Anfield
                        Benitez's latest cryptic statement comes after the Inter Milan boss announced, 'White liquid in a bottle has to be milk' before Tottenham lost 4-3 at the San Siro a fortnight ago.
                        The 'priest on a mountain of sugar' means a person who cannot see the blindingly obvious. A priest traditionally wears black and would therefore stand out on top of a mountain of white sugar.
                        Benitez's astonishing, yet calm, outburst echoed the infamous 'Rafa rant' in which he attacked Sir Alex Ferguson in January 2009.
                        Last month Hodgson said Benitez had left him with an 'unbelievably overstaffed' squad with too many players who were 'not serving any purpose', but the former boss defended his Anfield legacy.
                        Benitez said: 'He (Hodgson) signed nine players. I left that squad with £10million net spending. I left that squad with £300m value.
                        'He (Hodgson) has to concentrate on the job, try to do his best and not talk about the level of his players.
                        'Let the new players come in and concentrate, try to do their best, because it will be the best for the club and the best for the fans.'

Raf in town: Benitez back on English soil, with Inter Milan at White Hart Lane on Monday night
                        Hodgson, who has won just three of his 10 Barclays Premier League matches in charge, also suggested Benitez had frozen out Kop legend Kenny Dalglish, who now has an ambassadorial role.
                        But Benitez, who won the Champions League and FA Cup in his six years at Anfield, said: '(Managing director) Christian Purslow gave him (Dalglish) another role.
                        'We fought for the fans, we fought for the club and we fight for our players. Maybe he (Hodgson) cannot understand this.'

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz145MicY1t

Rafa lap him tail and a trace like him a ooman. He needs to concentrate on the Serie A and left EPL bizniz alone.
                          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015