Jamaican goalie wins award in Sweden

• Jamaican goalie wins award in Sweden

Marvellous Miller... Reggae Boyz keeper attracts German clubs, wins award in Sweden

Andre Lowe, Senior Staff Reporter

Dwayne Miller - file

Twenty-three-year-old Reggae Boyz goalkeeper Dwayne Miller is making a lot of noise in Europe these days after recently gloving the best goalkeeper award in Sweden's second highest league, and attracting the attention of a number of unnamed German Bundesliga clubs, according to his agent Romel Wallen.

Wallen, whose Pro-Goals Sports Management agency secured a two-year deal for the former Harbour View net-minder in March of this year, told Star Sports in an exclusive interview that he has already been contacted by some of Germany's best clubs and believes that there is a solid chance that his client will make the switch pretty soon.

Miller, who was signed after he played through injury in Jamaica's 2-1 defeat to Argentina, started 21 of Syrianska's 30 league games and impressed consistently, helping his team to 14 clean sheets and conceding only 13 goals.

A return that has seen him rise in meteoric fashion from a hopeful tryout to one of the best goalkeepers in the Scandinavian nation.

"He went to this club on a free transfer and has now improved his value immensely," said Wallen. "In eight months, he has become the number-one ranked goalkeeper in the Swedish second Division and is now being tracked in Germany. Obviously, I don't want to call any names yet but there are a couple Bundesliga clubs tracking him."

"To be honest it's still quite early but several agents and clubs have been calling me and asking about his availability. I told them that I wanted to wait until his final game of the season before we started talking about anything but it is quite likely that something solid will come out of this," he added.

youngest Jamaican

While obviously looking out for the best interest of his client, Wallen was quick to underline the gratitude towards the Swedish club, who took a chance on the youngster, who became the youngest Jamaican custodian to play in Europe, signing on the dotted line just three months before his 23rd birthday.

"We are definitely keen in showing our appreciation to Syrianska for taking a chance on him in any event because as you know it's unprecedented because no Jamaican goalkeeper has gone to Europe so early in their career. So this was also a risk on their part and it obviously paid off," Wallen said. "He has one year left on his deal but we are keeping our options open because of the interest that he is attracting."

In any event, the agent believes that the St Thomas native, who is already guaranteed a bumper wage increase as per the terms of his current deal with the Swedish outfit, is in a great position to further advance his career.

"He is in an excellent position in terms of bargaining and that's all down to what he has done on the field," said Wallen.

Wi ah get wickedah (is a wud dat? Mi gwaan inna mi head. Jawge soon come talk to mi bout di link wid slavery an patios) inna di goal keeping ting. Ah how dem seh wi keepah dem nuh good. Big up yout, an 23 at dat.

Remember how Lazie and some next man cuss the youth after the Argentina game??? A different man dis??? or a over so him go learn fi play?

I will say this again, we fi call back Paul Campbell, the man work with a lot of youths all over the island.

is there talent in jamaica? if yes..is it there in abundance? if no .... well if no ... i don't know what to say!

you have fi wait fi reach Champions league and the one the Americans play against the Mexicans nuh count .

den a georges yute nuh play inna dat long time?

Marvellous Miller... Reggae Boyz keeper attracts German clubs, wins award in Sweden

Andre Lowe, Senior Staff Reporter

Dwayne Miller - file

Twenty-three-year-old Reggae Boyz goalkeeper Dwayne Miller is making a lot of noise in Europe these days after recently gloving the best goalkeeper award in Sweden's second highest league, and attracting the attention of a number of unnamed German Bundesliga clubs, according to his agent Romel Wallen.

Wallen, whose Pro-Goals Sports Management agency secured a two-year deal for the former Harbour View net-minder in March of this year, told Star Sports in an exclusive interview that he has already been contacted by some of Germany's best clubs and believes that there is a solid chance that his client will make the switch pretty soon.

Miller, who was signed after he played through injury in Jamaica's 2-1 defeat to Argentina, started 21 of Syrianska's 30 league games and impressed consistently, helping his team to 14 clean sheets and conceding only 13 goals.

A return that has seen him rise in meteoric fashion from a hopeful tryout to one of the best goalkeepers in the Scandinavian nation.

"He went to this club on a free transfer and has now improved his value immensely," said Wallen. "In eight months, he has become the number-one ranked goalkeeper in the Swedish second Division and is now being tracked in Germany. Obviously, I don't want to call any names yet but there are a couple Bundesliga clubs tracking him."

"To be honest it's still quite early but several agents and clubs have been calling me and asking about his availability. I told them that I wanted to wait until his final game of the season before we started talking about anything but it is quite likely that something solid will come out of this," he added.

youngest Jamaican

While obviously looking out for the best interest of his client, Wallen was quick to underline the gratitude towards the Swedish club, who took a chance on the youngster, who became the youngest Jamaican custodian to play in Europe, signing on the dotted line just three months before his 23rd birthday.

"We are definitely keen in showing our appreciation to Syrianska for taking a chance on him in any event because as you know it's unprecedented because no Jamaican goalkeeper has gone to Europe so early in their career. So this was also a risk on their part and it obviously paid off," Wallen said. "He has one year left on his deal but we are keeping our options open because of the interest that he is attracting."

In any event, the agent believes that the St Thomas native, who is already guaranteed a bumper wage increase as per the terms of his current deal with the Swedish outfit, is in a great position to further advance his career.

"He is in an excellent position in terms of bargaining and that's all down to what he has done on the field," said Wallen.
              Congrats to him!

Remember how Lazie and some next man cuss the youth after the Argentina game??? A different man dis??? or a over so him go learn fi play?

I will say this again, we fi call back Paul Campbell, the man work with a lot of youths all over the island.
                Well if you think he was amazing against Argentina, fine! I stand by my comments for the Argentina game. That said, I will extending congrats to him on winning the award.

Well you write of the kid as been not good. Next time unnu fi realise that even Van de Sar have bad games too.

As Mosiah said then you can't use one game and judge the youth. I hope now you will see that.

congrats .
                    Jamaica you mite get a Petroleum well with
                    United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
                    happens then I don't know.A Petrol Well is
                    Probably forthcoming...

Well you write of the kid as been not good. Next time unnu fi realise that even Van de Sar have bad games too.

As Mosiah said then you can't use one game and judge the youth. I hope now you will see that.
                      You only get one chance to make a first impression.

I can assure you he didn't reach where he is on the impression in the Argentina game but on his ablitiy and talent.

Some time unnu too hard on unnu own.

only applies to certain situations or professions. not true for many things in life.

I can assure you he didn't reach where he is on the impression in the Argentina game but on his ablitiy and talent.

Some time unnu too hard on unnu own.
                            Cut out the foolishness Sass. The youth had a poor game against Argentina. Whats wrong in admitting that?

Where did I never admit that??? Show me. You and others weren't saying the kid is no good and "if that is the best we have".

Now him not looking so bad eeehh. He had a bad game but unnu choose fi use it fi judge the youth talent and write him off. Now a time fi you fi fess up and stop flying over the top everytime you see a young Jamaican player have a bad game.

You said he was not good, what other game did you use to judge that? or him still not good?