• Uefa president Platini opposed to goal-line technology

Uefa president Platini opposed to goal-line technology

Michel Platini took over as Uefa president in 2006

Uefa president Michel Platini believes goal-line technology would lead to "Playstation football". Fifa has reopened discussions on the subject but Platini said an assistant behind each goal and greater respect for referees were the solutions.
    "The referee has to be helped by clubs, fans, players, media and authorities," he told the Scottish Football Association's website.
    "It is why we have added two assistants for Champions League games."
    Last week the International Football Association Board (IFAB), Fifa's rulemaking division, asked technology companies to present ideas by the end of November.
    Systems would then be tested in advance of the IFAB meeting in March, when the next stages of the process of implementation would be discussed.
    606: DEBATE

Can you realistically take out all of the flaws in a game without taking away the controversy that makes it unique?

TFF

But Platini said on a visit to Glasgow that an extra pair of eyes behind each goal, as is the case in this season's Champions League, is the logical answer.
    "One referee is not enough, not in the modern era where you have 20 cameras," stated Platini, who became Uefa president in 2006.
    "It is unfair - the cameras can see everything but the referee only has one pair of eyes. Every time he makes a mistake, those cameras are there to focus on it.
    "It is why for the past 10 years I have asked to change the job of the referee, to help improve the situation and to give the referees better support.
    "These people are going to make mistakes and to be a referee I think you have to be a masochist. The system is bad and I have known this for 40 years.
    "It is a logical step with so many cameras that can pick up incidents: the more eyes there to assist the referee, the better the chance of spotting those incidents."
    Fifa scrapped goal-line technology experiments in 2008 after deciding systems that worked in other sports - such as the Hawk-Eye innovation used in tennis and cricket - were unsuitable for football.
    Fifa also tested a system using a microchip in the ball but decided it was too complicated and also lacked sufficient accuracy.
    But after recent incidents, such as the Frank Lampard strike that was not given as a goal in England's 4-1 World Cup loss to Germany in June, despite clearly crossing the line, Fifa decided to take another look at possible solutions.
    Fifa president Sepp Blatter said it would be "a nonsense not to reopen the file" on technology and referred the matter to the IFAB.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/9124497.stm

Platini fi go suk ... ....

Huh?

and here I was thinking Platini had sense...

if twenty cameras ( and they will not go away) pick up mistakes why not let THEM assist the ref? seems a no-brainer to me Michel.

i think i know what he is trying to do...BUT.... i have to agree...go with the technology...if it makes him feel any better...a human being will be reviewing the replays in order to make the decision.

I am opposed to cameras and instant replays. Bad calls are part of the game just like the refusal of the Ref to give Gary Neville a second yellow card on Sunday. An additional assistant to help the Ref is OK.

The National Hockey League has been using video replays to review disputed goals, and disputed non-goals, and the system works fine.

The video replay official must review EVERY goal, which can be 1) confirmed immediately; 2) signal the referee to hold the faceoff for a few seconds to take another look, or 3) launch a video review.

Originally posted by Bruce View Post
              The National Hockey League has been using video replays to review disputed goals, and disputed non-goals, and the system works fine...
              Agreed, but this is FIFA. How else are they going to tief if the play calling is accurate?

What are you saying Paul?
                The games...or at least some FIFA tournament games are fixed?
                Are you implying there is sometimes collusion being various groups to create certain results?

Would those groups include gamblers, other underworld figures, FIFA officials, FIFA referees and players?

I am saying...just asking!

Why do you accept that "bad calls are part of the game"?.. we don't accept human error in many spheres of activity (let's see, airline industry, the medical profession just to name two) and so we equip them with as much technology available to minimise same. Just my take.

your point is well taken Peter R...but you have to admit ... human error in those 2 spheres have far more dire and immediate consequences than missing a call in a football match.

i agree though, if errors can be eliminated why not?

What are you saying Paul?
                      The games...or at least some FIFA tournament games are fixed?
                      Are you implying there is sometimes collusion being various groups to create certain results?

Would those groups include gamblers, other underworld figures, FIFA officials, FIFA referees and players?

I am saying...just asking!
                      I am just asking too..."how else are they going to tief if play calling is accurate"? While I have no proof that FIFA fixes matches, there is ample proof that the organization is corrupt - taking bribes, diverting ticket allocations etc. So it is a bit of an extrapolation, but not without merit.

My son asked me the other day what I would do if I had Bill Gates' money. Without missing a beat, my response was "Spend every penny of it to get every tiefin' FIFA official on the planet thrown in jail, disband the organization, and start from scratch"...to which he replied..."No, really, what would you do?" I then reiterated my earlier answer.

If anyone believes that FIFA isn't as rotten to the core as the mafia, I can hook you up with some nice beachfront property in Nicaragua for a song. The list of FIFA's transgressions are there for everyone to see, the fact that they continue business as usual - swindling without consequence - is one of the greatest social transgressions of modern times.

I am just asking too..."how else are they going to tief if play calling is accurate"? While I have no proof that FIFA fixes matches, there is ample proof that the organization is corrupt - taking bribes, diverting ticket allocations etc. So it is a bit of an extrapolation, but not without merit.

My son asked me the other day what I would do if I had Bill Gates' money. Without missing a beat, my response was "Spend every penny of it to get every tiefin' FIFA official on the planet thrown in jail, disband the organization, and start from scratch"...to which he replied..."No, really, what would you do?" I then reiterated my earlier answer.

If anyone believes that FIFA isn't as rotten to the core as the mafia, I can hook you up with some nice beachfront property in Nicaragua for a song. The list of FIFA's transgressions are there for everyone to see, the fact that they continue business as usual - swindling without consequence - is one of the greatest social transgressions of modern times.
                        Bwoy...yuh passionate bout dis!

I just love the game too much to see it be mismanaged by these self-serving and unscrupulous crooks. The foundations on which the game was established are enduring, but these muppets are abrogating their responsibility to a level which puts its future in danger. Under their guidance, the game may well go the way of "chariot racing" if they're not careful. Yes, mi vex.

is true...BRING BACK CHARIOT RACING!!!