• Reno need help, says Downswell

Reno need help, says Downswell <DIV class=KonaBody Ar6jv="true">

by Richard Bryan, <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 700; COLOR: blue! important; BORDER-BOTTOM: blue 1px solid; FONT-FAMILY: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent">Freelance </SPAN><SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 700; COLOR: blue! important; BORDER-BOTTOM: blue 1px solid; FONT-FAMILY: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent">Writer</SPAN>

Reno's coach Wendell Downswell - file

Wendel Downswell, who was nothing short of media shy during his 22 months stint as National Head Coach, was more than willing to speak to journalists following his team's 1-0 Premier League win over Tivoli at STETHS on Sunday.

"As soon as you are finished (asking about the Tivoli match), I need to talk to you especially about something extremely important," an unpretentious Downswell said.

Twenty minutes later after this reporter was through customary post <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: blue! important; FONT-FAMILY: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">match</SPAN> interviews with either team, the presence and patience of Downswell was unmistakable, as he waited outside the main <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: blue! important; FONT-FAMILY: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">changing </SPAN><SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: blue! important; FONT-FAMILY: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">room</SPAN> at STETHS, the newly adopted home ground of the Westmoreland side.

"It's about what is happening at Reno," Downswell said even before being asked a question. "The finance is a serious problem; it's really tough on us."

The meat of the matter came swift and clear.

"Right now, we looking at month end and cannot meet the salary bill; we need help from anybody."

Reno's salary bill he declared, hovered around $500,000, with match incentives extending it to $150,000 more.

With a team having its best season in almost ten years, third in the standings with a game in hand, and unbeaten in three months, one could hardly imagine not being able to attract help, but not so, claims Downsw

RE: Reno need help, says Downswell

Ah Bwoy how time a prove me right?

I remember I stood in the heat when the sponsorship deal went down and mi get call all kinda name.

Clubs like Reno will never been better until them can get good sponsorship.

prove you right bout what?

I hope you not referring to a company deciding to sponsor certain teams.

Perfect IRONY!!!

<U>Jamaica "can" afford US$1 million/year for 4 yearsfor a coach</U>.

This coach in turn will be using players from the cash strapped NPL clubs.

When one considers that Hurry Hurry gave the equivalent of a meagre US $750.00in support of support Reno FC--the government $1 million expenditure looks ridiculous.

Why?

Did someone said perpetual renewal?

I thought they were attracting fans like fly to ...honey at STETHS, the club president told me after the first two games they were able to pay off all their debts and have money for the next few away games....I wonder if they are over paying their players, like a lot of clubs do. Throw good money at bad or marginal players?

Then again the results have been good so I guess I cnat call them bad players..I am just happy I dont have that concern any more, trying to figure out ways of paying bills for a football club....

When one considers that Hurry Hurry gave the equivalent of a meagre US $750.00in support of support Reno FC--the government $1 million expenditure looks ridiculous.
            Farfar, membaa seh government is contributing to the TD's salary, not paying the entire thing. Don't distort the faks yute. Leave that to di eggspert like Sickko.
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran