RE: DAVID BECKHAM GIVES UP AT AGE 31

Zeppo (1/11/2007)Don't worry, guys.

Maybe in 10 years or so Landon Donovan will retire in the NPL and you will get to gawk at a foreign star in your own country!

I even bet that Red Stripe and a few jerk sauce companies would put together a lucrative sponsorship deal for him, too. You know, in order to supplement the part-timer NPL salary and cover the costs of his kidnapping insurance.

:P
    Pick another player Zeppo. We all know Donovan cannot play outside the USA.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

how a man who call himself "jawge" can laugh after any body (joke me a mek jawgy)Seriously, I would love to know how the Galaxy justified this move, but you have to think that they believe the risk is worth it. Anybody who thinks that they are paying for a player who is going to "wow" and "dazzle" on the pitch is clearly fooling themselves. As for Everton, I think that they, like every other European club, are quite astute to develop the emerging Asian market, so I don't know why anybody would laugh after that.

Mosiah (1/11/2007)By that definition, he is a mega-star. But my problem is the writer suggesting that other clubs should get a star of their own. In the real playing sense, Beckham is NOT a star! He was! MLS clubs can do better than get more Beckhams!
        mls can do better than get more beckhams... you forgot they tried that with jermaine hue and how many new season tickets did they sell... you dont have to answer that... the galaxy sold over 1000 season tickets upon the announcement of beckham's signing...

and of course beckham is a star - 'footballically' speaking and otherwise... he may not be your favorite player but tell that to the buying public... dont hate, appreciate...

Paul Marin (1/11/2007)how a man who call himself "jawge" can laugh after any body (joke me a mek jawgy)Seriously, I would love to know how the Galaxy justified this move, but you have to think that they believe the risk is worth it. Anybody who thinks that they are paying for a player who is going to "wow" and "dazzle" on the pitch is clearly fooling themselves. As for Everton, I think that they, like every other European club, are quite astute to develop the emerging Asian market, so I don't know why anybody would laugh after that.
          For starters - How many of the Beckham followers/groupies have already bought the new Beckham-Galaxy shirts?

<DIV>Yeah! Real Madrid made all sorts of money from Beckham too, but their trophy cupboard has been bare ever since.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Hey, not my fault that the MLS can't recognize the true talent in Maestro. Maybe when Maestro is old and grey, then he would meet the MLS requirements and he could sign again somewhere. We can only hope! </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV>

Mosiah (1/12/2007)<DIV>Yeah! Real Madrid made all sorts of money from Beckham too, but their trophy cupboard has been bare ever since.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Hey, not my fault that the MLS can't recognize the true talent in Maestro. Maybe when Maestro is old and grey, then he would meet the MLS requirements and he could sign again somewhere. We can only hope! </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV>
              Speaking of Maestro....Isee the new KC coach was talking that his team needs to find a creative playmaker. I could not help but chuckle when I think about what they did to Jermaine last season. - T.K.

Poor move on the part of the MLS.

Not because Beckham's deal might end up being a good business decision but because once again the MLS is showing their biasness in who they want as "fans".

They seem not to value the Latin fans and seek to underpay the Latin stars in respect to the American ones and that is why the Galaxy who used to average over 30,000 with Maricio Cienfuegos and Campos now don't draw as much hard core Latin fans as they tried to low ball the Latin players when it came to salary negotiations.

Is it so difficult to pay your top draw that put the hard core soccer fans in the stadium and then go after the Bekhams that will then put you over the top with the so called casual fans?

What is so wrong with building a solid foundation? Have they learnt nothing from the old league with Pele dem? Then again Bush and dem no learn from Vietnam so it seems like the much vaunted Americans don't pay attention to history.

USA have the talent around them to grow the league. Now that they get the Beckhams to draw attention to the league the next question should be are people going to like what they see and return?

respect

Excellent points, Shatta. Instead of building solid teams, sorry, TEAMS, with good players from Latin America and the Caribbean and the rest of the world, instead of throwing so much money at one degeh-degeh player whose only justification for so much money is his hair products.

<DIV>And by the way, have we forgotten how Karl was predicting that Beckham would become a star at Real Madrid? Well, I haven't! </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Most of us were saying that the Real Madrid move was strictly a publicity stunt, but Karl, in his infinite wisdom saw some football connection somewhere, saying he would dun di place. Well, only his name saved him from being unceremoniously cut from the side yesterday. Instead, "they agreed" to allow him to step away from a contract extension. </DIV>

<DIV>snicker</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>He can hardly play inside the US! </DIV>

Mosiah (1/12/2007)<DIV>And by the way, have we forgotten how Karl was predicting that Beckham would become a star at Real Madrid? Well, I haven't! </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Most of us were saying that the Real Madrid move was strictly a publicity stunt, but Karl, in his infinite wisdom saw some football connection somewhere, saying he would dun di place. Well, only his name saved him from being unceremoniously cut from the side yesterday. Instead, "they agreed" to allow him to step away from a contract extension. </DIV>
                        I would say he did well his first year...

...and, your 'word' was he would look like crap -(on the technicallevel he would be far inferior) - playing alongside the Madrid players. Even you will have to admit that he did not appear any worse 'crap' than the current lot at Real! Right?

Mosiah (1/11/2007)He would be the most famous, not the best. Hell, Adu is better than Beckham!
                          Mosiah: Damn! ...i thought I was off for the next 3 4 hours, but I had to come back on - SkySports gave this Beckham story 10 straight minuteson openingits SkySportsreport carried on FSC at12.00 Eastern...and, damnBecks is back on right now!

BTW - The EPL managers interviewed claims Becks is still a TOP OF THE WORLD player!

Mosiah (1/12/2007)<DIV>Yeah! Real Madrid made all sorts of money from Beckham too, but their trophy cupboard has been bare ever since.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Hey, not my fault that the MLS can't recognize the true talent in Maestro. Maybe when Maestro is old and grey, then he would meet the MLS requirements and he could sign again somewhere. We can only hope! </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV>
                            made anarguement on jerry hue's behalfwith a formerh/v baller that mls and kc wizards didn't give hue a fair oppty... his reply is that although jerry has skillz, its his work rate that is his liability... he says its not that jerry doesn't make the effort because he has trained with him and knows that he is not lazy but he just doesn't have the pace... the mls is about running, tackling and off the ball movement, notstrengths of jerry... the same applies to the epl, la liga and the french league... jerry's pace lets him down... good skill but withpacy play he is prone to turnovers... you think his argument has merit...

Shatta Cleve (1/12/2007)Poor move on the part of the MLS.

Not because Beckham's deal might end up being a good business decision but because once again the MLS is showing their biasness in who they want as "fans".

They seem not to value the Latin fans and seek to underpay the Latin stars in respect to the American ones and that is why the Galaxy who used to average over 30,000 with Maricio Cienfuegos and Campos now don't draw as much hard core Latin fans as they tried to low ball the Latin players when it came to salary negotiations.

Same ol' Shatta, blowing hot air as usual.

Seems you forget that Chivas is the Latino-oriented team in L.A. these days (even though the Galaxy has some Latino players, too).

They also happen to have Mexican nationals like Ramon Ramirez, Paco Palencia and Claudio Suarez on their books. And if you think they're getting lowballed you need to check out their salaries.

Besides, what makes you think that Latinos wouldn't want to see Beckham, too?

Check out the following excerpt from this article:

"They know we Latinos are filling the soccer stadiums. That's why they want to bring stars here," said Juan Munguia, a 30-year-old Mexican hotel cook. "I will go just to see Beckham."

I suggest doing a bit more research before posting next time, amigo.

Hello from Los Angeles. I amthe Forum's official ambassador to the Republic of LA LA Land. To calm down the hysteria I give you a quote from a LA Times sports columnist, who is surprisingly well informed:

"Here's hoping Beckham at least does better than in his last two jobs; he was cut by England's national team and benched by Real Madrid.

Right now, at best, it's a bad news-good news deal.

The bad news is, at age 31, Beckham is not among the world's elite players anymore.

The good news is, neither is anybody else in MLS."

:Laff: