DAVID BECKHAM GIVES UP AT AGE 31

RE: DAVID BECKHAM GIVES UP AT AGE 31

By that definition, he is a mega-star. But my problem is the writer suggesting that other clubs should get a star of their own. In the real playing sense, Beckham is NOT a star! He was! MLS clubs can do better than get more Beckhams!

Mosiah (1/11/2007)By that definition, he is a mega-star. But my problem is the writer suggesting that other clubs should get a star of their own. In the real playing sense, Beckham is NOT a star! He was! MLS clubs can do better than get more Beckhams!
      Ah I gotchya. Well Red Bull are throwing the kicthen sink at Ronaldo right now so we'll see if he decides to take their money and run. I see it is reported that Beckham will get $250 million for5 years. Talk about a **** killing. - T.K.

TK/Mosiah - what you are not realising is that this is NOT about football on the pitch. The MLS and the Galaxyare businesses. When Beckham joined Real Madrid, it can be argued that he was signed more for his media power (read: he sells a lot of shirts in Asia) than his football.

The same will be true if he joins minnows LA Galaxy. The amount of revenue that he will generate just by joining the club will be immense. If the Galaxy can develop a strategy to convert fans attracted momentarily bythe gravitational pull of Beckham's star powerintolong term fansof the sport and the club, then they wouldbe wholly justified in their acquisition.

How ironic, a "star" joining the "galaxy".

clash of the titals...adu vs beckham...and this this time....it's personal!!!

Exacty correct. It is ridiculous to say that he has quit. This is a mutually beneificial business decision. Beckham will get himself into the biggest market in the world and will generate much interest in the sport in America. His wife is not to be ignored either. People don't seem to realise how important the 18-30 y.o. demographic is to football's success in America...and the Beckham's are the perfect pair to help crack that group and generate some loyalty to the sport.

Instead of fighting for a place in top flight football he gave up.

Beckham is now takin' on ah new enterprise......makin' soccer truly global.Will he do it ? We'll wait & see.

Pele did that with Santos 30 years ago. What?!?

Bricktop - when you have won what Beckham has won and achieved what he has achieved, it is highly likely that he has moved on to a new challenge. I can hardly call that "giving up". He has simply decided to exercise his right to pursue other interestsso to characterise it as him "giving up" is at best unfair at worst ridiculous as none of us know the details behind this highly personal decision.

He's taking on another challenge but it certainly is not football. I would have respected his decision more if he just simply retired or. He is essentially retiring but framing it as if MLS will be some sort of challenge which is rubbish.

Bricktop - how can you say that his characterisation of moving to the MLS as a challenge is "rubbish". How do you know what the man is thinking and what motivates him? From my point of view, he has nothing more to prove. So why is it rubbish that he decides to go to America austensibly to try to build the sport here? I don't understand why we feel the need to cry the man down...but then again, my mind-reading machine bruck.

I wrote here a few years ago that Everton increased their value by signing a Chinese player and also accepting shirt sponsorship from a chinese Brewery and poeple like Jawge laughed me to scorn, called me all kinds of names.

I guess they just dont get the business side of this great sport at all.

Can he still fight for a place in the English team while playing in the US? What next after three years in US, move to Bahrain or Qatar for more money?

Mosiah (1/11/2007)David Beckham is a star? In what sense? Footballically speaking? Is that what this person wants for the MLS? Should teams be looking to sweep up has-been players or look for real talent, current stars? Isn't it time they use their money and step up?
                              jah know mosiah... mi lose affa yuh... mi think you had the ability to see the big picture o'er yonder...

and btw, yes beckham is a star in every sense of the word... on and off the football field... you might not like him but thats a fact...

Don't worry, guys.

Maybe in 10 years or so Landon Donovan will retire in the NPL and you will get to gawk at a foreign star in your own country!

I even bet that Red Stripe and a few jerk sauce companies would put together a lucrative sponsorship deal for him, too. You know, in order to supplement the part-timer NPL salary and cover the costs of his kidnapping insurance.

:P