Bora's way

• Bora's way

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>Bora's way</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline>TD briefs coaches on philosophy, expectations</SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>Livingston Scott, Observer staff reporter
    Thursday, January 11, 2007
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=358 align=center border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>Technical director Bora Milutinovic (3rd left) talks with KSAFA Confederation coaches following a meeting in New Kingston yesterday. From left are Ludlow Bernard, Keith Nichols, Patrick Walters, Carlton Dennis and Howard Bell. (Photo: Joseph Wellington)</SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>Technical director Bora Milutinovic yesterday outlined his philosophy and expectations to Jamaican coaches as he positioned himself to select his first national team.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The much-travelled Serbian-born coach met with coaches from the Kingston &amp; St Andrew Football Association (KSAFA) Confederation at the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) office in New Kingston.

Milutinovic briefed the Jamaicans on his intentions and expectations, and how best they can assist in the effort to assemble Jamaica's best players for the national programme.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Meanwhile, KSAFA will be staging inter-squad games for non-Premier League players, Under-23s and senior players at the Harbour View Mini Stadium this afternoon, starting at 5:00.<P class=StoryText align=justify>According to national team manager Howard Bell, yesterday's meeting was to brief the local coaches on Milutinovic's criteria for selecting players and to share some of his ideas on football.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"The trials this afternoon is for players he would not normally see and the coaches selected are the ones more familiar with the players at this level," Bell explained.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Bell said Milutinovic intends to visit all five Confederations in the island. However, only the KSAFA trials this week and the Eastern Confed trials next Tuesday have so far been confirmed.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Meanwhile, Santos coach Carlton 'Spanner' Dennis said the local coaches had a fruitful discussion and the technical director made it clear what he was expecting from them as coaches.<P class=StoryText align=justify>According to Dennis, Milutinovic wanted to look at prospective Under-23 players that will travel to Hong Kong for an invitational tournament next month as those selected will come mainly from the aforementioned Confederations.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"The Under-23s are supposed to go to Hong Kong, but for now he (Bora) is just going to go to the Eastern Confed and KSAFA and pick his squad for that tournament.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"Also, he'll be picking his own staff, so although he has been working with us, we don't know who he'll be working with...," Dennis added.<P class=StoryText align=justify>According to St Andrew Technical and Cooreville coach Keith Nichols, "basically the coach invited us to share his philosophy on how he'd like us to prepare players so as to make it much easier for him to select them for the country.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"... It's basically getting us to understand more of his philosophy and how to prepare the players to fit into his programme. He also shared his experiences as a coach over the years.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"We have an understanding of what he wants... and we're all willing to work with him and see how much we can help," Nichols further stated.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Meanwhile Ludlow Bernard, Harbour View's junior team coach, said Milutinovic identified deficiencies in their tactical and mental discipline.<P class=StoryText al

RE: Bora's way

<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">Technical Director Velibor ‘Bora’ Milutinovic met with U-23 Coaches and Senior Team Coaches from the KSAFA on Wednesday, January 10 at 12pm at the Jamaica Football Federation. <P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%; TEXT-ALIGN: justify"><?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-comfficeffice" /><o></o><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">In a classroom style presentation format, the Director focused mainly on the direction in which our local coaches should guide their teams. He stressed that a uniformed coaching format ensures an easy transition for players into the National Programme.<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%; TEXT-ALIGN: justify"><o></o><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">The Technical Director charged the coaches to focus on improving the techniques and tactical ability of their players, increasing their mental and physical strength. He emphasised the importance of having educated and intelligent players who are able to interpret the game well and also represent their teams in the public sphere. His final area of emphasis was on building team chemistry instead of depending on the individual skill of the more talented members in a squad.<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%"><o></o><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%">Ten (10) members were in attendance.<TABLE class=MsoTableGrid style="BORDER-RIGHT: medium none; BORDER-TOP: medium none; BORDER-LEFT: medium none; BORDER-BOTTOM: medium none; BORDER-COLLAPSE: collapse; mso-border-alt: solid windowtext .5pt; mso-yfti-tbllook: 480; mso-padding-alt: 0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt; mso-border-insideh: .5pt solid windowtext; mso-border-insidev: .5pt solid windowtext" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 border=1><TBODY><TR style="mso-yfti-irow: 0; mso-yfti-firstrow: yes"><TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-RIGHT: 5.4pt; BORDER-TOP: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-LEFT: 5.4pt; PADDING-BOTTOM: 0in; BORDER-LEFT: windowtext 1pt solid; WIDTH: 1.45in; PADDING-TOP: 0in; BORDER-BOTTOM: windowtext 1pt solid; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent; mso-border-alt: solid windowtext .5pt" vAlign=top width=139><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; TEXT-ALIGN: center" align=center><B style="mso-bidi-font-weight: normal"><U>Name<o></o></U>[/B]</TD><TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-RIGHT: 5.4pt; BORDER-TOP: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-LEFT: 5.4pt; PADDING-BOTTOM: 0in; BORDER-LEFT: #ece9d8; WIDTH: 135pt; PADDING-TOP: 0in; BORDER-BOTTOM: windowtext 1pt solid; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent; mso-border-alt: solid windowtext .5pt; mso-border-left-alt: solid windowtext .5pt" vAlign=top width=180><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; TEXT-ALIGN: center" align=center><B style="mso-bidi-font-weight: normal"><U>Team<o></o></U>[/B]</TD></TR><TR style="mso-yfti-irow: 1"><TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: windowtext 1pt solid; PADDING-RIGHT: 5.4pt; BORDER-TOP: #ece9d8; PADDING-LEFT: 5.4pt; PADDING-BOTTOM: 0in; BORDER-LEFT: windowtext 1pt solid; WIDTH: 1.45in; PADDING-TOP: 0in; BORDER-BOTTOM: windowtext 1pt solid; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent; mso-border-alt: solid windowtext .5pt; mso-border-top-alt: solid windowtext .5pt" vAlign=top width=139><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt

Mosiah (1/11/2007)<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">He emphasised the importance of having educated and intelligent players who are able to interpret the game well and also represent their teams in the public sphere.
      <P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">Well we can strike Onandi Lowe from the list:hehe::hehe::hehe::hehe:

Once we get thru striking players from the list, are we going to have a team?

Bricktop (1/11/2007)
          Mosiah (1/11/2007)<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">He emphasised the importance of having educated and intelligent players who are able to interpret the game well and also represent their teams in the public sphere.
          <P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt; LINE-HEIGHT: 150%; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">Well we can strike Onandi Lowe from the list:hehe::hehe::hehe::hehe:
          The inequality is becoming too obvious.......:Laff: - T.K.

The much-travelled Serbian-born coach
            Sickko, is who have the copyright on this phrase again? I thought it was you but now I see every Tom, Dick and Harry using it. I hope you are making some money off it.
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Tilla (1/11/2007)
              The much-travelled Serbian-born coach
              Sickko, is who have the copyright on this phrase again? I thought it was you but now I see every Tom, Dick and Harry using it. I hope you are making some money off it.
              Hehe.....Don't forget either that it was Sickko who coined the name "Velibor"......I wonder if Gamma can help him patent it? - T.K.

Question: Is "<?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-comffice:smarttags" /><st1lace w:st="on"><st1:country-region w:st="on">Jamaica</st1:country-region></st1lace> Ambassadors" one of the former JFF Chaplin's Churches' League teams?

------------------------

...and, why would Bora's session have so few coaches? ...the JFF never invited their CONFEDs, Parish Associations and other affiliatescoaches?

...or,is it the JFF affiliates and or their coaches believe they know it all - 'Bora cyaan teach mi nutten'?

...or, is it this was a JFF planned KSAFA thing and Bora is following a JFF plan and will be visiting the other affiliates at later dates? -

Oooops! - all explained in the report! :w00t:Tant):blush:

Karl (1/11/2007)Question: Is "<?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-comffice:smarttags" /><st1lace w:st="on"><st1:country-region w:st="on">Jamaica</st1:country-region></st1lace> Ambassadors" one of the former JFF Chaplin's Churches' League teams?

...and, why would Bora's session have so few coaches? ...the JFF never invited their CONFEDs, Parish Associations and other affiliatescoaches?

...or,is it the JFF affiliates and or their coaches believe they know it all - 'Bora cyaan teach mi nutten'?
                  Dude...I wouldn't read all that into it. I think one Bora to ten coaches is a good number if we really want them to learn something. I can tell you when Bruce Arena held his seminar before the US Olympic qualifier a few years back there were onlyfifteen coaches or sodue to bad weather and I tell you what.....it was way more worthwhile with the small numbers then if they all had showed. We got alot done during that session that I know we would have never completed had there been a full contingent. - T.K.