I agree with Oral Tracey

• I agree with Oral Tracey

I dont often agree with Oral but on this occasion, he gets my 100% backing.

Whoever it was the came up with the idea to market the Jamaica vs T&T game as Tappa vs Lattapy should be fired as well as whoever gave it the green light.

That was stupid, moronic, imbecelic (sic) whatever negative connotation you want to add here..

I also watched as Lattapy told the press conference that this game was not the latest in a line of massive must win encounters, no matter what the T&T Sports minister and the JFF would like us to believe.

Lattapy said this was just another game and in the context of the Digicel series to come, was a good warm up and nothing more than that.

The JFF's marketing people would love for us to think this is the biggest clash since France 1998 and no fan should miss this game...

Come Monday morning we are going to hear another story of the JFF not making what they hoped to make and we will hear how much they lost.

Marketing's job is to make you thing every game is big and has a lot on the line. Would you like them to say it is just another game?

You are right on the money Me. I thought too that was what marketing was about, to peak the interest of the customer/potential buyer. It is a meaningless game, but the marketing arm of the JFF must be allowed to put their spin on it. You can't wrong them for trying.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I have no problem with them hyping the game, that is their job but they could find another angle..maybe they could say this is a pre amble to the Digicel Competitioin but to puit Whitmore against Lattapy is rubbish..

Well, maybe they cannot fine any other interesting angle. I see what you are saying though.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

What is the problem with "pitting" the two coaches against each other? as long as it is done without suggesting there is animosity or "bad blood" between the two... isn't there a rivalry among coaches too? just asking.

Your response Tilla is the root of the matter, they have no ideas

Mourinho vs Rafa , Rafa vs Fergie, Mourinho vs Wenger, Fergie vs any forgein coach .Andro Colliti vs Mancini , Mancini vs Fergie.

Jamaica has a long way to go , in the footballing culture of hype , it nuh stop or start with players.Yuh nuh hear english man defend dem coach and clubs vs a next coach and club, yuh think it stays at the club level or it transcends onto the international arena? esp when they meet their club colleagues in the international arena?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

What idea do you think they should have gone with?

I agree! I find it ridiculous. Perhaps the players are that dull and listless, but the Latapy vs Tappa spin just doesn't cut it! It's not like they were even rivals in their playing days.

Yeah like Rafa and Fergie were rivals from their playing days , anyone that cannot see the hype in two young (by coaching standards) past WC players rivaling to make their team the best in the carribbean must be disingenious or just lost.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Those coaches you named are well established in their fields and have won many things, Tappa and Lattapy are rookie coaches still searching for their own identities.

Could Tappa or lattapy coach anywhere else other than in their own countries?

was latapy a coach or assistant coach in scotland

He was already an assistant coach in Scotland.

and so? many former players are given a chance to be part of a coaching staff as a sort of aprenticeship, can you tell me what his responsibilities were in Scotland?

We saw one famous poster here who got a job with a then top flight Premier League club and parlayed it to a job as an assistant coach of a Jamaican national team and even to a club in England but when he was forced to admit he said his resume was 'faked' as the college assistant job he spoke about was not that real.