Bora taking U23 to Kong Kong Tourney

• Bora taking U23 to Kong Kong Tourney

... but Olympic team invited to Hong Kong tourney[/B]<P class=StoryText align=justify>By Ian Burnett
    Sport Editor<P class=StoryText align=justify>THE ravenous Jamaican supporters will have to wait a while yet to see Velibor 'Bora' Milutinovic's stamp on the Reggae Boyz, as the Serbian coach has declined an offer to face Costa Rica in a friendly international at the Office on January 31 or February 4.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"No, we don't play, we don't play," Bora told the Observer in an exclusive interview on Monday. "I need to observe players, identify them and begin to work with them and then we can begin to play games," he added.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The new technical director, who returned to the island Friday from his Christmas holidays, admitted he doesn't like to "talk too much" to the media, and that he would prefer the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) to divulge details on games.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The match in Kingston was announced on December 19 by Costa Rican football federation vice-president Victor Alfaro in a media release.
    The match was expected to be preparation for the Ticos, who play in the Central American Nations Cup in El Salvador between February 8-18.
    Hernan Medford assumed the reins on October 31, replacing Alexandre Guimaraes, who resigned following the World Cup in Germany.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The game was never confirmed by the JFF and on Monday, JFF president Crenston Boxhill sought to clear the air.
    "It's not that we called it off, it was never confirmed," Boxhill told the Observer. "They wanted to play us, but the coach (Bora) wanted some time with his players first.<P class=StoryText align=justify>". We were in discussions with the promoters. but they wanted to play the game some time in January, or the very first weekend in February, which was not fitting into the coach's plans because the coach wants to travel the island, see some players, select them and have at least a couple sessions with them before embarking on any game, and as such the game against Costa Rica would not fit into his plans, so that game is on hold for the time being. It was never confirmed and it still has not been confirmed," Boxhill explained.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Meanwhile, the 62-year-old Milutinovic has used his contacts to get Jamaica's Olympic team (Under-23) invited to a tournament in Hong Kong.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"The coach has been in discussion with Hong Kong for us to attend a tournament, mainly the Olympic team with a few players outside of that age-group, for some time in February. That tournament will include Australia, China, Hong Kong and ourselves," Boxhill revealed.
    "We have accepted the invitation and Bora sat down and explained the importance of. a tournament like this, even though it is not a revenue earner for us, but sometimes money can't pay for the experience you get. We have accepted the invitation and are now awaiting words from them," he reiterated.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Milutinovic is currently travelling the island watching football at the various levels to try and identify players at both Senior and Under-23 levels. He has already visited St James, Portland and Kingston &amp; St Andrew.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"He has been travelling the island. he has gone to St James, he has gone to Portland, not to mention various clubs and schoolboy competitions, and I can assure you every single game that he has attended, he has come back with at least a short list of players that have impressed him. That's how he has been working, even before he took the Christmas break," Boxhill noted.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The JFF boss said there are still proposals for the Reggae Boyz, but he wants the coach to identify his pool of players before accepting these games.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"I guess after that squad is put together, and this should take the better part of January, and then he has a few training sessions with them, wh
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

RE: Bora taking U23 to Kong Kong Tourney

Is this the same as when the T&amp;T coach chickened out from the Panama (?) game? Not really. Rijsberger has been with the T&amp;T team for a while, even though he was an assistant. Bora just come.

Remember how this board nearly kill the Trini coach for doing pretty much same thing? call of game with Mexico?

My brethren MyYout show you self. you and other guilty party mi want hear unnu take on this.

shhh he could have pick ah NPL team the have most of the top players

Assasin (1/10/2007)Remember how this board nearly kill the Trini coach for doing pretty much same thing? call of game with Mexico?

My brethren MyYout show you self. you and other guilty party mi want hear unnu take on this.
          <DIV></DIV><DIV>I, too, was one of them! </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Sass, how long was the T&amp;T coach there? How long has Bora been here?</DIV>

<DIV>What trini crap! He don't even know the NPL players!!!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Yuh have sense?!?!</DIV>

if you remember he had just taken over after the world cup. He was there for 2 months at most.

He was an assistant for the world cup but he needed to revamp his squad since too many grandfathers were on the world cup side.

He need to take a look for himself much the same as Bora did.

Bora is not going on anybody's word saying "this is the best we have".

Unlike Lazaroni and like Rene he is looking for TALENTnot necessarily the best we have now.

Assasin (1/10/2007)if you remember he had just taken over after the world cup. He was there for 2 months at most.

He was an assistant for the world cup but he needed to revamp his squad since too many grandfathers were on the world cup side.

He need to take a look for himself much the same as Bora did.

Bora is not going on anybody's word saying "this is the best we have".

Unlike Lazaroni and like Rene he is looking for TALENTnot necessarily the best we have now.
                <DIV></DIV><DIV>Obviously, your facts are all screwy, Sass. Rijsberger had been the assistant for several months, and then took over the job for a few months before that Panama game! Was it just water he was carrying while he was an assistant?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>The other thing is, he wanted the grandfathers on the team, not the other way around. He did not want to play the match unless the veterans came.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Getthe facts right, Sass! </DIV>

ok he was assistant for months but when you are assist you follow orders and leading up the work cup it is not time for widescale recruiting.

He was not please with the quality he saw in his current squad. I don't know if I would blame him. He wanted a chance to work his magic so we can judge him six months from now.

This is the way mi want Carl Brown and Downswell fi act. If we nuh ready we nuh ready not because JFF say do A or B. You have to buck head sometimes and do whatever it takes to make your squad better.

Assasin (1/10/2007)ok he was assistant for months but when you are assist you follow orders and leading up the work cup it is not time for widescale recruiting.

He was not please with the quality he saw in his current squad. I don't know if I would blame him. He wanted a chance to work his magic so we can judge him six months from now.

This is the way mi want Carl Brown and Downswell fi act. If we nuh ready we nuh ready not because JFF say do A or B. You have to buck head sometimes and do whatever it takes to make your squad better.
                    <DIV></DIV><DIV>Then he and his boss failed! If after all that time they did not build a good local squad, then what was there purpose? As we speak, Bora is moving right along to build a solid core of local players. I can assure you that Bora will not be turning away games 10 months into the job!</DIV>

Mosiah preparing for World Cup with 8 months in hand is very different than preparing with 4 years in hand and the man is looking for the long term benefit not just to make money Jingle fi the Trinidad FA.

I support the man 1000% and I wish our coaches had the background and vision to realise that sometimes intense prepartion is needed and not just a training session.

how long him they watching games btw ... nuh since theperu game poor excuse

<DIV>
                          Naminirt (1/10/2007)how long him they watching games btw ... nuh since theperu game poor excuse
                          </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>One game?!?! Again I ask, yuh have sense?!??!</DIV>

Bora has beenwatching themNPL games since/before jamaicaVS peru.In addtion to that he has even taken in training sessions MET WITH COACHES ETC. So again poor excuse ... yuh playing you wanted to fight down the warriors coach some months back.. now yuh back tracking trying to defend borat (N)

This is a different situation. The TT coach said it was a waste of time to play with the local players. Here Bora is saying there is no point playing for the sake of playing allow me to see some players and then go from there. I am feeling good about him now as he seems he has a plan.