Boys' Town get two-match ban

• Boys' Town get two-match ban

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>Boys' Town get two-match ban</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>Observer Reporter
    Tuesday, January 09, 2007
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <P class=StoryText align=justify>Wray &amp; Nephew National Premier League campaigners Boys' Town FC has had their home ground banned for two games by the Competitions Committee of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) following the disruption of their game against Reno FC at Collie Drive last Wednesday.
    According to a statement issued by the JFF yesterday, "the club venue has been suspended for the next two home games".
    <P class=StoryText align=justify>The ban of the Collie Smith Drive venue comes as a result of shots that were fired in the vicinity of the venue two minutes into the second half of Boys' Town's NPL game against Reno, forcing officials to halt proceedings with the scores locked at 0-0.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The blue, white and black-clad Reno and red-outfitted Boys' Town players fell face-down in the grassy field, as no one seemed sure from where the shots were coming.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The ambulance on duty departed a few minutes later, while several spectators started vacating both the stands and the premises when a second round of shots rang out within five minutes of the first at approximately 4:15 pm.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The JFF's Competitions Committee also ruled that: "The aborted game should be replayed at a neutral venue for the remaining 43 minutes."<P class=StoryText align=justify>The committee, which considered the reports of the Match Commissary in addition to a verbal report given by Stephen Bell, administrator and Cedric Robinson of Boys' Town Football Club also recommended that the club, "advise that spectators should be sensitised about the negative repercussions that could affect the club for any act that disrupts a game".

RE: Boys' Town get two-match ban

The JFF's Competitions Committee also ruled that: "The aborted game should be replayed at a neutral venue for the remaining 43 minutes."

mmmm????

Should it be 43 minutes or entire game? ...are abandoned games replayed or only the time left replayed?

and the

Lazie (1/9/2007)and the
        ...ban was a good decision!

Really? Then again, your perception of what is a good decision is completely different from mine.

Now what should happen, if shooting happen outside the neutral venue? Let me guess ... ban that venue too?

Lazie (1/9/2007)Really? Then again, your perception of what is a good decision is completely different from mine.

Now what should happen, if shooting happen outside the neutral venue? Let me guess ... ban that venue too?
            There is some method to your madness.

...and, the method?

Persistence in madness!

OK! Back to the matter of security in and around football venues. Have you ever heard about such a responsibility? ...e.g. parking lots?

...and, your madness would suggest that the football entities...JFF and affiliates...clubs, schools, minor affiliates e.g. minor cup authorities, etc. should not be held to accounts if disciplinedeclines in the immediate adjoining areas to football fields...and, the properties and livesof fanz and 'football persons' are endangered?

Massa iffen di place nuh safe yuh suspend until assurances are given thatdi people dem weh a guh match...involved inna di match...safe!

...and iffen hit nuh reasonable to assume dat hit (di place) get safe...BAN!

Cho yuh nuh si responsibility to the stakeholders? A wah duh yuh?

mi a guh pray fi yuh si di lite!(Pray)

The shooting did not take place within the grounds ... it is NOT a football issue. Whats so hard in that to understand? When the gunman walked on the field and killed the coach, all you hypocrites were quick to point out it wasn't a football issue when Timeasked ifFIFA should ban us.

OK! Back to the matter of security in and around football venues.
              Unuh seem to think football stakeholders live in a different Jamaica from everybody else. Gun crimes are rampant in Jamaica, suh why all of a sudden gang warfare is now a football issue?

I support the ban 100%. Price fi come off a di foolish comments dem...I hope this don't develop into a conflict of interest....Who cares not if a different decision was made for another venue..is this decsion right? I definitely think so.

Let me ask you guys....what's important here? the life of the players or the Boys Town fans being entertained? Bottomline is if gunshots make their way onto the playing field then the field should be banned. If players/admim/coachs have a valid reason to feel threatened playing at Boys town the field should be banned...and any other such field like this. I thought the home team is also responsible for the security of the visitors...If shots are ringing out in the community and getting on the field...can Boys Town guarantee that safety?

If the Bus carrying the visiting team was shotup outside the stadium but inside the community...I guess we would say it's a non field issue because the incident happened outside of the stadium...

Protection of players..dat mi a talk bout...Visiting teams must feel comfortable travelling to and playing at any stadium period.

...all you hypocrites were quick to point out it wasn't a football issue when Timeasked ifFIFA should ban us.
                  "all you hypocrites"? You are including me in that "all"...right? If so, I suggest you rethink?!(I am asking you and I am telling you that you rethink!)

It is a football issue and in that case I do not think we should have been banned.

The Boys Town issue...in my mind...echo's weight of the the saying of the fan interviewed who said something to the effect that "unnuh a guh mek dem ban wi". In my mind, the fan was saying what we all know - communities love and want 'their football'.They react sostrongly to loss of 'their football' that 'good doers' and 'wrong doers' combine to supress anything and anyone who may causeloss of 'their football'.

I am sure that in Boys Townpressure is being exerted even as we 'speak' to get the gunmen (...and women) to cool it!

Does this mean there may never be such a situation again in Boys Town? Ofcourse not! ...but, the authoritiesmust do all in their power to make the venue and its environs safe for all who would attend and take part in these games.

Yup! The JFF acted as best they could. Now it needs to add its voice...as has the RBSC...to those who call on the authorities to rid the society of the criminal guns and gunmen/gunwomen!

Suh like the others you only concerned about the footballers. What about law abiding citizens that wasn't at the game? Dem nuh need protection to?

Unuh all remind of the gay activists that cry out when a gay person is murdered, not realizing what is happening in the country.

How when the gunman did walk inna the church and shot a woman inna the congregation, unuh never say the church should be banned?

Auughh boy.

Oh ... suh thats what unuh want? The gunman dem fi cool it? Freaking funny. I'm not blaming the JFF here,dem simply react because they want to please unthinking people like the masses round here. It wasn't an issue for the JFF to address. Since when providing security and safety for the citizens become an issue for the JFF?

Read what you wrote Lazie...Aren't you giving more reasons why the field should be banned...taking the spectators and the players in consideration.

Mi never know seh a church a hold competition an a charge people...u reaally a compare Boys Town with a church mi bredda

Plush (1/9/2007)Read what you wrote Lazie...Aren't you giving more reasons why the field should be banned...taking the spectators and the players in consideration.

Mi never know seh a church a hold competition an a charge people...u reaally a compare Boys Town with a church mi bredda
                          :hehe: Bredren, the point I'm making is ... its not a football problem ... its a problem throughout our society. Like the rest you only concerned about the footballers and the fans. I'm looking at the law abiding citizens that not at the game. Aren't they in as much or even more danger than the footballers?

Throwing a hissy fit because it happen too close to a football game is hypocritical as far as I'm concerned. As Super Cat said, "Nuff man a dead!" suh banning a football field nuh mek no sense. What would you recommend if the same think happened at Tony Spaulings, <STRIKE>Eddie Seaga</STRIKE> scratch that cause unuh ago miss the point, Harbour View, Jarrett Park, Drax Hall etc? Ban dem tuh?

Yes..Ban them to. If the same thing happen at TG, Arnett..Ban them to..what's wrong with that.

I get your point. But aren't we talking about football here.

I'm worried about the fans, the players and the admin because most of them wouldn't be there if Boys town wasn't having a football game. The law abiding citizens live there and that's a problem for the government and the security forces that we discuss on other threads.

If Dem shoot a man out side Jamworld while attendout ing Sting...If Dem tief a couple of cars outside..would u say that Sting promoters have no responsibility? Would those people be there if the show wasn't happening.

I get your point...get mine. We are talking about football..If players, fans and admin are not safe, no games shouldn't be playing at that location...

Oh .... forgive me. Suh because this is a football forum, we only show concern fi footballers and the fans? Ah get it. Almost 40 ppl get murdah ... not a word, but because some shots fiyah outside a football field, everybody up in arms? Friggin hilarious.