Daley on the move to Bradford

• Daley on the move to Bradford

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>Reggae Boy Daley on the move to Bradford</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>KAYON RAYNOR, Observer staff reporter
    Tuesday, January 09, 2007
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=213 align=left border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>Jamaica's Omar Daley (left) battles USA's Chris Albright during the second half of a friendly international in Cary, North Carolina, USA last year. (Photo: AP)</SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>JAMAICA international Omar Daley is in line to become the third Reggae Boy to ply his trade with English League One club Bradford City, pending a work permit from the British Home Office this week.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"Omar should be going off the Bradford... his application has been submitted to the Home Office for his work permit in England. We are expecting that (it) will be approved (because) he qualifies. I think by Thursday or Friday of this week he should be leaving for Bradford," said Portmore United's technical director, Horace Reid.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The former general secretary of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) revealed that Daley will be joining Bradford on a free transfer from English Premiership strugglers Charlton Athletics, to which the player currently has a contract.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"Omar has a two-year contract that he had signed with Charlton (in March 2006). At the end of that period he was supposed to return to us (Portmore), but he is now leaving in the middle of that period," Reid said.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"What has been agreed is that Charlton will release him to Bradford and we will both benefit equally once something is in the pipeline should he progress beyond Bradford to another club."<P class=StoryText align=justify>Daley, a product of National Premier League campaigners Portmore United, who has had stints in England before with Preston North End and Reading respectively, said he intends to make the best of this most recent opportunity.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"I've been there before and I know what they expect - always an 'A' game. Everyday you have to be at your best," he said. "Even though I've signed a contract with them, it's always a trial for me and it is just for me to go there and make life."<P class=StoryText align=justify>As for his detractors who may be thinking that this is another story of the youthful Daley who has made career mistakes in the past, the 25-year-old was quick to warn that he is older and wiser.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"Now I'm much older and I've realised, I've learned and now I have to just look forward to the opportunity and grasp it with both hands," he said.<P class=StoryText align=justify>National goal keeper Donovan Ricketts and midfielder Jermaine Johnson currently represent Bradford City.<P class=StoryText align=justify>- raynork@jamaicaobserver.com

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

RE: Daley on the move to Bradford

The former general secretary of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) revealed that Daley will be joining Bradford on a free transfer from English Premiership strugglers Charlton Athletics, to which the player currently has a contract.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"Omar has a two-year contract that he had signed with Charlton (in March 2006). At the end of that period he was supposed to return to us (Portmore), but he is now leaving in the middle of that period," Reid said.
    Omar has a contract with Charlton Athletic, or Charleston Battery? Missa reporter, get it right? Charlton Athletic is an English Premire League team and Charleston BAttery is an A League team in the USA.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Um....yeah....that was pretty bad Tilla. Sometimes I have to wonder about the Jamaican press to rhatid.Appleseed you are on notice! - T.K.

The standards are just horrible right now. All sorts of people getting columns now a days.

Sickko have to go talk to the big man Butch fi up the standard.

Him can't talk bout the gleaner again

Me (1/9/2007)The standards are just horrible right now. All sorts of people getting columns now a days.
            Me....yu too rhatid miserable. You and Sickko need to shake hands and easy. Unno too cantankerous. Long time you guys fi hol' a red stripe and done. - T.K.

Notice seh when any English catch one ah we bwoys. Dem seem to want to capture ah net full of dem after. Preston, Bradford FC,Bolton Wanderers....these clubs deserve ah worthy praise.....respect due.

Btw X I am thrilled for Daley. He really came into the A-league and from jump street mashed it up. I saw in a Charleston Paper (cannot for the life of me remember the name but it is online)that the coach said that they would need to find someone capable of replacing Daley and the T&amp;T player Glinton as they were losing their attacking prowess.

Maybe we have a striker and outside mid/def in the NPL that could hook up with Charleston?

Daley will be aGREAT addition to Bradford. They will have two very good attacking players on the right side who can cover alot of ground during a match. Daley and Johnson attacking down the right side will be sick.

Now if Mo would onlyget Jermaine Hueand Khari Stephenson to linkup with Bradfordwe would haveFC Jamaica fi real.See you guys were sleeping on JB and all along he was the smartest poster on the forum. Colin Todd fi life! - T.K.

Princess seh fi call har when he start tear up the Championship.

Daley will be aGREAT addition to Bradford. They will have two very good attacking players on the right side who can cover alot of ground during a match. Daley and Johnson attacking down the right side will be sick.
                  I thought JJ was on his way out to some Championship team? It seems as if a few Championship sides are interested in him. . .
                  "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

T.K. (1/9/2007)
                    Me (1/9/2007)The standards are just horrible right now. All sorts of people getting columns now a days.
                    Me....yu too rhatid miserable. You and Sickko need to shake hands and easy. Unno too cantankerous. Long time you guys fi hol' a red stripe and done. - T.K.
                    actually I was referring to Audley's Angle and another fellow who has a column. Haven't seen much wrong with sickko's column.

Princess seh fi call har when he start tear up the Championship.

I thought JJ was on his way out to some Championship team? It seems as if a few Championship sides are interested in him. . .
                      Well Todd has been quoted as saying there is interest. Whether an offer is forthcoming we'll wait and see. In a way it would probably be a good thing if JJ leaves as it will give two open positions on the field for Daley to contest for increasing his playing opportunities. As well JJ's departure could open up the possibility for another Jamaican player to come in down the road.

If JJ was still there Daley would be battling for just one spot at the outside wingback. Not that I think Bradford has any one at right wingback to keep Daley off the field but it is always nice to be have options open for pt.

As for Princess she is just upset that Daley never use him english pound andfly her out to England fi catch a game when he first played for Preston. - T.K.

actually I was referring to Audley's Angle and another fellow who has a column. Haven't seen much wrong with sickko's column.
                        Ah...I stand corrected sir. If you and Sickko can be cordial there is hope in the middle east afterall. - T.K.

Daley also playson the left, Bradford really has captured two gems.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

T.K. (1/9/2007)

Maybe we have a striker and outside mid/def in the NPL that could hook up with Charleston?
                            Charleston Battery fan here. Yes, we are going to miss Omar bigtime. We've always had a number of Caribbean players on our roster (starting with the great Paul Young) so send us some more!!

BTW, anyone know if American/Battery playerLawrence Smith is still on trial with Harbour View?Don't notice him mentioned on their website anymore......

Well done yout, keep di flag ah fly. Bradfod love wi ehh. A chree a wi deh deh now.