• The No to Marlon King campaign starts here

Western News
    On Marlon King, Captain Burrell and the fatheads
    ON THE SPORTING EDGE
    PAUL REID
    Thursday, September 09, 2010

Someone please tell me Captain Horace Burrell was misquoted when he was reported to have said that the Jamaica Football Federation will leave open the doors for convicted felon Marlon King to return as a player!
    I hope what Captain said was the door was firmly closed behind Mr King and the only Reggae Boyz game he will see again is either on television or after buying a ticket.

Captain Burrell

2/2

Certainly nobody should even be thinking of Marlon King's return to play for any Jamaican team after his disgraceful behavior.

Of course no one is perfect and we all will make mistakes and yes, we should all be given another chance to make good, but I am not buying Captain Burrell's argument which runs thus:
    "He has paid the penalty dearly and he has already served a hefty penalty for his actions and, therefore, we should try to rehabilitate him than to try and destroy him. We must help him to build back his life and this is what we believe in. Football is not only about senior players kicking the ball on the field, but we have to help them in every aspect and in every phase of their lives."

What I am hearing is "if he can score goals for us we will take him back, to hell with everything decent."

There is not enough space in this column to list King's misdemeanors on and off the field.

I believe that King has disrespected Jamaica and the JFF and that for that, he should never have been allowed to wear another Jamaica shirt.

Yet when Burrell regained the JFF office, he not only recalled King to the team but named him captain, a slap in the face of every decentJamaican.

This I suspect had more to do with getting back at Boxhill than anything else.

And how did Mr King repay Burrell's vote of confidence?

By cursing the coaching staff when he was substituted in a blow-out win against the Bahamas at the national stadium.

We must note that in 2006, the other two players who were out with him, Jamal Campbell Royce and Jason Ewell apologised...not King.

But Burrell is known to get his own way.

Ironically the same people who voted overwhelmingly in 2006 to ban King were the same people who without any further evidence to the contrary or even an apology, voted by the same margin to lift the ban.

Maybe Burrell is our own version of Julius Caesar, wanting to be surrounded by fat men who are so busy overeating, that they have no time to think for themselves.
    Last edited by Karl; September 9, 2010, 03:44 PM.

There goes your ticket to cover our next qualifiers!

damn....

I can tell you that without a doubt if Jermaine Defoe did the exact things that King did to Capello and his staff or the English FA he would never wear a three lions jersey again. In no other country would Marlon King get away with this.

Plus why even bother putting King into your future plans when he will be 34 at the next World Cup.

Sicko you might have to jump in the sea after this is read in New Kingston.

Nice piece boss.

Don't agree Scaly Spurs:

Each situation is unique.

The pool of professional players that Jamaica has is extremely limited.

Jamaica is not on the worlds' list (of countries) as far as moral standards are concerned.

There is millions of $$$$ to be made in football. The local NPL'ers cannot deliver world class football. Jamaican football success therefore lies in the overseas professional players. (More specifically--UB-40's).Marlon King is one of them.

Yes he 'eff-up' badly. But he paid for his wrongs. He went to prison and did his time. Should his payment to society be life-long!!??

What's the name of that Reggae BoyZ midfield English player who had major run-ins with the law? The GOOD Cap'n gave him a bly and he was a great addition to the succes of the squad (then).

So unusual that Sickko conveniently left his name out from his commentary.............................

Scaly Don, football is about making MONEY.

England have a trailer load of players ready to replace Defoe. So any issues of morality would be handled differently.

King can play a part in helping the team to get well needed victories in prep. for the next world cup. He may well become a tyiad-leg by that stage. But Jamaica need all the help it can get.

"That's all I have to say about that"
          --Forrest Gump:

The age you will be when the World Cup starts doesn't stop you from adding value during qualifiers. Cargill was finished by time the World Cup came around in 98, but he had a lot to offer during qualifiers.

If a man diss the program and not willing to apologize, then he needs to go. If a man admits his mistakes and has served his punishment, why shouldn't he be a part of the setup IF he is good enough?

Santino Quaranta carry on with all sorts of madness that the U.S. kept off the radar and he got recalled. Craig Bellamy assault people with golf club and still have a career. If crimeminister Joey Barton has a good run of form, England will recall him. not many are more disrepectful than Edmundo and Romario. We do not have to do the same as these nations, but it does happen elsewhere.

Don't agree Scaly Spurs:

Each situation is unique.

The pool of professional players that Jamaica has is extremely limited.

Jamaica is not on the worlds' list (of countries) as far as moral standards are concerned.

There is millions of $$$$ to be made in football. The local NPL'ers cannot deliver world class football. Jamaican football success therefore lies in the overseas professional players. (More specifically--UB-40's).Marlon King is one of them.

Yes he 'eff-up' badly. But he paid for his wrongs. He went to prison and did his time. Should his payment to society be life-long!!??

What's the name of that Reggae BoyZ midfield English player who had major run-ins with the law? The GOOD Cap'n gave him a bly and he was a great addition to the succes of the squad (then).

So unusual that Sickko conveniently left his name out from his commentary.............................

Scaly Don, football is about making MONEY.

England have a trailer load of players ready to replace Defoe. So any issues of morality would be handled differently.

King can play a part in helping the team to get well needed victories in prep. for the next world cup. He may well become a tyiad-leg by that stage. But Jamaica need all the help it can get.

"That's all I have to say about that"
              --Forrest Gump:
              the issue is NOT what he did in his personal life, we all have made LIFE mistakes, some more than some. The issue is the utter disrespect that he has REPEATEDLY shown for the country and team. He obviously, has no respect as he appears to think he is a prima donna, when he is playing for Jamaica.
              Unless, he shows utter remorse and ask for forgiveness then he must be excluded.

The HOD for that trip had made a recommendation that whenever we get players born or raised overseas they must be able to show some respect and knowledge of the country they are going to represent.

He said based on what he saw of King, he has absolutely no respect or regard for Jamaica or our customs

...no quarrel here Twan.

hmmmmm ......

Me, you know I find you are very knowledgeable about this game? My respects boss!

My position on King is this. I will put away all emotionalism and let the needs of the team and King's form be the deciding factors if he gets recalled. If he can make the team better (ie, becoming a part of the team and maintaining discipline and scoring regularly), I say being him on.

If he cannot contribute and will be indiscipline, I say cut him loose.

I am for the team first. I agree that King did wrong, but he has served time for it. We should let the man get on with life and a part of that life is playing football. I say thumbs up to the good Captain for having the guts to stand up and say the door is not closed to the man.

Anyway, like the Captain, I do not always blow with the wind. Sometimes you have to blow against it.
                      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Me, you know I find you are very knowledgeable about this game? My respects boss!

My position on King is this. I will put away all emotionalism and let the needs of the team and King's form be the deciding factors if he gets recalled. If he can make the team better (ie, becoming a part of the team and maintaining discipline and scoring regularly), I say being him on.

If he cannot contribute and will be indiscipline, I say cut him loose.

I am for the team first. I agree that King did wrong, but he has served time for it. We should let the man get on with life and a part of that life is playing football. I say thumbs up to the good Captain for having the guts to stand up and say the door is not closed to the man.

Anyway, like the Captain, I do not always blow with the wind. Sometimes you have to blow against it.
                        Well said Boss!!

I agree with ME !

I cannot understand our holier than thow complex ? England with its rumhead , batterers and sexual abusers, solicitors of prostitutes superstars are welcomed with open glorified arms by thier media but us with our player issues are to be escorted out of nation and flag when to represent Jamaica in any capacity, remember the above mentioned England superstars represent them globally off the field.

All in the name of discipline ? its an excuse to fail , it did not stop any other team with said issues from having a succesfull program.

Havent we learnt from the Onandi Lowe incident , how our ignorance cost us a campaign ? While we excluded Lowe ,Panama had a convicted gunman knocking us out of a WC campaign.

The thing about Burrell is , he is not Boxhill ! Siccko as Boxhill said to Lowe I will say to you go sort yourself out.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

"I cannot understand our holier than thow complex ? England with its rumhead , batterers and sexual abusers, solicitors of prostitutes superstars are welcomed with open glorified arms by thier media but us with our player issues are to be escorted out of nation and flag when to represent Jamaica in any capacity, remember the above mentioned England superstars represent them globally off the field."

There is a big difference when a professional player makes mistakes in his personal life and then is accepted within the national fold unlike King's case. King was utterly and repeatedly disrespectful to Jamaica's football officials. This was because of his arrogance and disregard for us as a footballing nation. Importing overseas players for the national team has always been a problem with every country because they are seen as mercenaries. Most of them do not take the time out to even learn something about the country they are representing. I heard the French coach demanded that every player must know their anthem and sing it out loudly before their last match. I will always have the highest respect for Fitzroy Simpson, Paul Hall and to a lesser extent Deon Burton. These guys were willing to lay down their blood for Jamaica. Can you say that for King?
                            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

King was utterly and repeatedly disrespectful to Jamaica's football officials. This was because of his arrogance and disregard for us as a footballing nation.

Who were these officials ? When you have answered that , then we can have proceed with a rational discussion on the KINGS (Lowe included).

Then answer did Boxhill treat Jamaicas football with any regard of professionalism ?

Yuh get what yuh put in , if yuh put in 3 towel yuh get back 3 with some bad wud inna it.

You must factor in the fact that a new regime has the freedom to try things a new route, and thats what makes Burrell special in Kings case.
                              Last edited by Sir X; September 10, 2010, 10:23 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.