• GLEANER: Cost Of Tonight's Game: J$17 Million

JFF looks to recover $17m, earns $3.4m for Peru clash

Published: Sunday | September 5, 2010 0 Comments and 0 Reactions

Reggae Boyz fans at the National Stadium. - File

The Football Federation (JFF) is looking to recoup the $17 million it spent to stage today's friendly international against Costa Rica inside the National Stadium.

The JFF hierarchy also revealed to The Gleaner that it will earn US$40,000 ($3.4 million) from the Peru encounter that takes place two days later at the Lockhart Stadium inFlorida.

Captain Horace Burrell and his team at the JFF have shelled out in excess of $17 million in match fees, air transportation, hotel color], ground transportation, meals and other expenses for both teams, and are hoping that the Jamaican public will come out in droves and help in the recovery of most of this sum.

JFF general secretary Horace Reid made the disclosure while stressing the enormous expense associated with staging the game and the importance of having a strong turnout at the venue.
    Break even

"We are looking to at least break even in the of $16-$17 million. When you look at all of the cost factors: security, operating cost for the game, advertising and promotion, it has been a pretty expensive undertaking," said Reid.

The administrator pointed to the breakdown of the main areas of expenditure for both teams, with airfare commanding the majority of the cost.

"We are hoping that we will have a good turnout on Sunday (today) because it's a pretty expensive exercise to stage the game," Reid lamented. "We are responsible for all of the expenses of the Costa Ricans - their air transportation, hotel accommodation, meals, ], match fees - and we are really hoping that we will be able to get that support to underwrite these numbers.

"Separate and apart from that are the expenses that we have to incur to prepare our players; find their airfare and bear in mind that a lot of them came in from as far as Europe, and so on," Reid continued.

The JFF is, however, set to earn US$40,000 (approximately $3.4 million) from the Peru game, which is being staged through a promotions company.
    The money will for the most part be used to pay off other expenses associated with that game and will not make any major dent in the federation's under-pressure balance sheet.

"For the Peru game, we have received a small match fee of US$40,000, and that will have to also take care of some of the expenses. So it's not necessarily a sizeable fee in terms of a gross figure, but we are expecting that it will cover the expenses that we are responsible for," said Reid.

Meanwhile, things are all set for the Peru game and, according to Reid, the excitement levels among the Caribbean and South Ame-rican communities are at a high point in anticipation of a mouth-watering contest.
    "All is set for both games, and from the reports we have received the Jamaican and Caribbean community are pretty excited about the game. We are hearing that the South American community is also charged up about the clash and so we are expecting a wide cross section of fans to turn out in support of the game," Reid pointed out.

So the JFF is no longer able to secure sponsorships to cover the cost of these matches? For the most part, that is what you would expect the national federation to be doing.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

If my math is correct, with an average price of $1500 a ticket, a crowd of 20,000 would bring a gate of J$30 million

Originally posted by Bruce View Post
        If my math is correct, with an average price of $1500 a ticket, a crowd of 20,000 would bring a gate of J$30 million
        20000 ppl nah go da match deh, mi can tell u dat.

Well, if they even get 15K people at $1500 that would be J$22.5 million from the gate.

Anyway, what is the price of admission?
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

dem not even a get 3000 people

Originally posted by Lionpaw View Post
              dem not even a get 3000 people
              Seems as if they have more than 3000 in the stadium.

$1,000 for bleachers and $2,500 and $3,000 for grandstand. There were twice as many people in the bleachers. I saw some people over there whom I would never expect to be bleaching it!

I think maybe 10,000 were in the stadium overall, but I could be out by 5,000 or so!

Did you count the comp tickets too?

ohh ... yuh come out SWINGING dis mawnin'!!!

this is really nothing new, I recall when we played Panama ranked about 500 on the FIFA list that time in MoBay and when the park was not filled from one end to the next Burrell told us point blank we getting no more games there and it was years until we got another senior team game there

He always seem to be threatening the fans about attending games and he did not even seem to think this was back to school weekend or that times are tough and paying $2500 to watch two bad teams might not be a priority right now.