Jamaican Cjinese Footballers

• Jamaican Cjinese Footballers

Sorry to interrup you current ballers, please allow for this ancient baller to drop history.

http://www.jamaicansrus.com/a2z.asp?...p;sidemenu=yes

RE: Jamaican Cjinese Footballers

I did a brief scan and saw some names thatI had heard about from Cornwall but they omitted one that might have been the best ever Chinese player from Cornwall...Junior Chin.

I heard he was a a star from about 14 years old and scored some wonderful powerhouses at the DCup level even at that young age.

Pity none of his sons carried on the legacy...Lincoln Hew's son was in my class in first form and he kept Under 14 before migrating to canada as did a lot of the Chinese students in the mid -70s.

I did not mention Junior Chin this time, hoping to see if someone would recall my postings on him, he was relentless with a hellofa shot, there are currently no ReggaeBoyz with that shot, those were the days outside the box shooting was the norm. I was wondering if Bobby Chin was his dad, If I can recall he use to deliver patty in a van.

There are also Chinese that played for Rusea's, Hanover Parish, Mostly the Ah Young family, there was Shrimpy (Ah) Young also Ho Sang for Sandy Bay/Hopewell.

BIM Williams of St. Georges was from Grange Hill, he also played for Westmoreland.

I recall that their was a place called the Chinese Athletic Club onNorth St close to Duke St., there could have been a basketball court there too.

Do you notice how these guys were multisport and for the most part crack the book.

BTW Thanks for the response.

What a piece of bull****, this article! How in the name of anything worthy can you have an article about Chinese Jamaican footballers and omit the name of one Jermaine Hue?!?! This belongs in the dump, and I will let the writer know.

<DIV>The only thing that saves this wretched article is this:</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>"The Olivier Shield Final of 1943 between Manning Champions, Calabar, and his team, Munro, was the most exciting comeback in Jamaican football history. At halftime, Munro was trailing by 4 goals to 1. <?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-comfficeffice" /><o></o></DIV><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 7.5pt 0pt"><o></o><DIV><SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 12pt; FONT-FAMILY: 'Times New Roman'; mso-fareast-font-family: 'Times New Roman'; mso-ansi-language: EN-US; mso-fareast-language: EN-US; mso-bidi-language: AR-SA">On the resumption, Bobby combined with his team mate, the legendary Lindy Delapenha (<?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-comffice:smarttags" /><st1:country-region w:st="on">Jamaica</st1:country-region>'s first professional player in <st1:country-region w:st="on"><st1lace w:st="on">England</st1lace></st1:country-region>) who got 2 goals in the dying minutes of the game. Bobby got the equalizing goal with a scorching shot from outside the box. Minutes later he was brought down by a defender. The resulting penalty wasconverted and Munro won by 5 goals to 4 at the final whistle."</SPAN></DIV><DIV><SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 12pt; FONT-FAMILY: 'Times New Roman'; mso-fareast-font-family: 'Times New Roman'; mso-ansi-language: EN-US; mso-fareast-language: EN-US; mso-bidi-language: AR-SA"></SPAN></DIV><DIV><SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 12pt; FONT-FAMILY: 'Times New Roman'; mso-fareast-font-family: 'Times New Roman'; mso-ansi-language: EN-US; mso-fareast-language: EN-US; mso-bidi-language: AR-SA">No wonder I support Liverpool. Munro and Liverpool make finals legendary, and they both haven't won anything in a while! </SPAN></DIV>

<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0px 10px" align=center><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0px 10px">This record has not been surpassed. The St. George's Old Boys Winners of the Senior League. Senior Knockout and Morin Cup competitions. Front row seated l-r: Denzip Lue, Anthony Hill, Maurice "Bobby" Williams, Karl Largie(Captain), Ken East, Aubrey Lowe. Standing l-r: Noel Hall (Coach), Robert Miret, Marsden Chen, Frank Watkins, Tino Barovier (Vice-Captain), Paul Chevannes (Club Captain), Ronnie Nasralla, Frank Lewis, Bill Gentles, Roy Lee, Cecil Knight (Club Secretary).<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0px 10px"><P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0px 10px">Nuff-nuff past Jamaica players in the above group. The original Anthony Hill (Did he also play for Ruseas?), Karl "Digger" Largie (The first "Digger" Largie - His son was also a terror...Think the youngerKarl "Digger" Largieended his playing dayswith August Town?), Maurice "Bobby" Williams (Andy Williams' father), Ken East and others.

Thanks, T Dowl!

Wasn't that club secretary Cecil Knight a track star? I seem to remember that name from the Boys Champs history book that was printed.

Me (1/9/2007)Wasn't that club secretary Cecil Knight a track star? I seem to remember that name from the Boys Champs history book that was printed.
                I think so! - C'bar?

TDowl (1/8/2007)I did not mention Junior Chin this time, hoping to see if someone would recall my postings on him, he was relentless with a hellofa shot, there are currently no ReggaeBoyz with that shot, those were the days outside the box shooting was the norm. I was wondering if Bobby Chin was his dad, If I can recall he use to deliver patty in a van.

There are also Chinese that played for Rusea's, Hanover Parish, Mostly the Ah Young family, there was Shrimpy (Ah) Young also Ho Sang for Sandy Bay/Hopewell.

BIM Williams of St. Georges was from Grange Hill, he also played for Westmoreland.

I recall that their was a place called the Chinese Athletic Club onNorth St close to Duke St., there could have been a basketball court there too.

Do you notice how these guys were multisport and for the most part crack the book.

BTW Thanks for the response.
                  Bim - Started Stylo! ...that later became Reno. I understand he is living somewhere in South Florida and still owns or is majority owner of Reno?

"This belongs in the dump, and I will let the writer know" I just want to let you know that I am not the author. Obviously only current football news makes you comfortable, I am surprised somewhat, I guess in a couple of years Tappa's namewill be out of your memory bank.

Did you also notice he left off Junior Chin too, or that is too far back, sorry I can't agree with you that Jamaica football began with Reggaeboyz(N). The JFF should have this chronological history on their site.

I wont mind reading the writers respones to you of his historic article.:Laff:

No, there was a Anthony Hill that played outside Right for Rusea's in the 50's, Peter Massey, Karl Marsh(Dr Marsh son) goalie, Lloyd Jackson, Frank Brown, McKitty, Mickey Ralston..

Ronnie also represented Jamaica in

Ken East was a ball artist, back in Penna days there was some sort of friction between him and the coach, so he got drop from the team, I last saw him in Brooklyn.

Bim owns 97% of Reno and Palla Wilson, Downswell and Boysie each owns 1% but all that is just paper as it means nothing, Bim has not put a dime in the club in years.

There was this Chinese guy who is now a Nuclear physicist in Texas who was also a Jamaican governmnet scholar in the 1950s and also a Rhodes scholar who played four seasons of DCup for Cornwall and rumour has it that he was never injured once all that time.

Mosiah...see how spoiled you are...we won the FA Cup las' year and because you are accustomed to doubles and trebles for years and years, you feel seh we haven't won anything "in a while". Bwoy...how you tek silverware fe granted.

Well, him really mean Munro. Munro has not won anything since either theearly 50s. Just imagine a few generations of Munronians not knowing the thrill of winning daCosta Cup? Damn!!! :w00t:
                              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran