your comments in the English press. Check the comments below. X yuh nuh easy t'all.
Manchester United on song... but they're still behind Blackpool! Golden oldies Paul Scholes and Ryan Giggs inspire yet another win over Newcastle
By Colin Young at Old Trafford
Last updated at 11:52 AM on 17th August 2010
Dimitar Berbatov got Manchester United started before Paul Scholes took centre stage with a display described by Sir Alex Ferguson as a 'masterclass'.
Former England midfielder Scholes, 35, was dominant and, after creating Berbatov's opener, he went on to make the third for Ryan Giggs as Newcastle were swept aside 3-0.
With Wayne Rooney substituted after 62 minutes - he has now failed to score for club or country in 1,076 minutes - United looked to Scholes to open up their newly-promoted visitors.
Threesy-peasy: Dimitar Berbatov celebrates the first goal at Old Trafford
And boss Ferguson said: 'Paul proved he is just a master of his trade. His vision and passing range and willingness to play is marvellous.
Deadly duo: Paul Scholes and Ryan Giggs celebrate their side's comfortable opening to the season
'He showed, at his age, you don't lose what he's got and he still has the appetite to play. That's the most important thing. Anyone who gets to that age and retains that, as him and Ryan Giggs have, means you have two players who are something special.
'Paul looks after himself and another important thing is that last year was his first season without injury for a long time and that is key to Paul; stay fit and he can play on.'
And, like his manager, Scholes is refusing to set a retirement date. But the United midfielder admitted quitting the international scene helped prolong his career.
He said: 'You get your little breaks, which is what you need, and that keeps you fresh and raring to go.
'I have not said anything about this being my last season and I have not set any limits.'
Newcastle boss Chris Hughton paid tribute to Scholes and Giggs, 36, saying: 'I left Spurs in 1989 and Giggs made his debut in 1991 so I just missed out on playing against him. The major thing with both of them is they have always played in a team challenging for honours which helps.'
Meanwhile, Ferguson used his programme notes to beg fans not to allow their protests to affect the side.
He said: 'I have no problem with the green and gold campaign. Fans are entitled to protest, but not, I suggest, to the team's detriment.'
More...
Newcastle boss Chris Hughton paid tribute to Scholes and Giggs, 36, saying: 'I left Spurs in 1989 and Giggs made his debut in 1991 so I just missed out on playing against him. The major thing with both of them is they have always played in a team challenging for honours which helps.'
Meanwhile, Ferguson used his programme notes to beg fans not to allow their protests to affect the side.
He said: 'I have no problem with the green and gold campaign. Fans are entitled to protest, but not, I suggest, to the team's detriment.'
Print this article
Read later
Email to a friend
Share this article:
Facebook
Twitter
DM.has('socialLinks', 'omniture', {value: 'share 1303699'});DM.has("reader-comments", "readerComments", {mode: 'W'});Add your comments Comments (10)
Here's what readers have had to say so far. Why not add your thoughts below, or debate this issue live on our message boards.
The comments below have been moderated in advance.
You myt be ryt 4United fans to get in a frenzy just yet...but they played more exciting football than LFC and AFC combined. It was only CFC that really played with conviction to get goals...and even aftr last night's dominant display by UTD, one can clearly say that N'castle is a much classier team than WBA who got a 6 ths wkend...at least they played. So big up to UTD...get your hopes up supporters...because if this season is anything to go by 1 wkend of games, it seems to be the usual 2 horse race again...while the othr scrap for 3 and 4th...
- Emlyn Evans, South Africa, Johannesburg, 17/8/2010 12:17
Click to rate Rating 4
Report abuse
Man U play their first game of the season at home, against a newly promoted side ( as usual ), and surprise surprise, the media go into a frenzy when they win ! Sorry to burst your bubble, but you are not as goos as you think you are. Mark my words, you'll be lucky to finish in the top four ! And que the red arrows, sorry but the true hurts my deluded friends .
- Jed Ambrose, Liverpool, 17/8/2010 10:58
It will be interesting (as it has been for the past 20 years) to see if your, and your fellow L.pool supporters, comments at the end of the season. Oh by the way Jed, is this (as with the past 20years) your season to regain the premiership. Oh I forgot you've never won the premiership have you (and you call Man fans deluded!) In Rafa (or should that be Woy) we trust LOL
PS didn't see your comments on Chealsea's win over a new promoted side!
- R. Hunt, Manchester UK, 17/8/2010 12:10
Click to rate Rating 8
Report abuse
Man U play their first game of the season at home, against a newly promoted side ( as usual ), and surprise surprise, the media go into a frenzy when they win ! Sorry to burst your bubble, but you are not as goos as you think you are. Mark my words, you'll be lucky to finish in the top four ! And que the red arrows, sorry but the true hurts my deluded friends .
- Jed Ambrose, Liverpool
Suprised you are not saying this is Liverpool's year,i see liverpool played at home and were ,out played same old same old we were playing a better team. last year you lost to the top four teams.
- Malcolm Bowman, Liverpool England (ex Salford), 17/8/2010 11:55
Click to rate Rating 6
Report abuse
"Every one of us (midfielders) is just trying to become as good as him. Everyone can learn from Paul Scholes."
Edgar Davids
"There isn't a player of his mould anywhere else in the world."
Glenn Hoddle
"My toughest opponent? Scholes of Manchester United. He is the complete midfielder. Scholes is undoubtedly the best midfielder of his generation."
Zinedine Zidane
"He is the one whose level I aspire to. He is the best player in the Premier League."
Cesc Fabregas
You can keep Gerrard and Fat Frank thankyou very much.
- James, Salford, UK, 17/8/2010 11:52
Click to rate Rating 9
Report abuse
Bill, Brighton
LOL hold your horses there fella, theres nothing to learn from you lot. So on paper you have a better teamn than Chelsea? Thats a big laugh.......just UTD fans getting their hopes up thats all.
- Genjuro, Denmark, 17/8/2010 11:01
Click to rate Rating 40
Report abuse
Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/art...#ixzz0wru6b0r7
Manchester United on song... but they're still behind Blackpool! Golden oldies Paul Scholes and Ryan Giggs inspire yet another win over Newcastle
By Colin Young at Old Trafford
Last updated at 11:52 AM on 17th August 2010
Dimitar Berbatov got Manchester United started before Paul Scholes took centre stage with a display described by Sir Alex Ferguson as a 'masterclass'.
Former England midfielder Scholes, 35, was dominant and, after creating Berbatov's opener, he went on to make the third for Ryan Giggs as Newcastle were swept aside 3-0.
With Wayne Rooney substituted after 62 minutes - he has now failed to score for club or country in 1,076 minutes - United looked to Scholes to open up their newly-promoted visitors.
Threesy-peasy: Dimitar Berbatov celebrates the first goal at Old Trafford
And boss Ferguson said: 'Paul proved he is just a master of his trade. His vision and passing range and willingness to play is marvellous.
Deadly duo: Paul Scholes and Ryan Giggs celebrate their side's comfortable opening to the season
'He showed, at his age, you don't lose what he's got and he still has the appetite to play. That's the most important thing. Anyone who gets to that age and retains that, as him and Ryan Giggs have, means you have two players who are something special.
'Paul looks after himself and another important thing is that last year was his first season without injury for a long time and that is key to Paul; stay fit and he can play on.'
And, like his manager, Scholes is refusing to set a retirement date. But the United midfielder admitted quitting the international scene helped prolong his career.
He said: 'You get your little breaks, which is what you need, and that keeps you fresh and raring to go.
'I have not said anything about this being my last season and I have not set any limits.'
More...
- Manchester United 3 Newcastle 0: Paul Scholes rolls back the years to orchestrate easy win for Red Devils
- Martin Samuel: Andy Carroll had his chance and blew it at Old Trafford
- Premier League podcast: Tune in for the latest show on the weekend's action
- Sign up to our FREE Fantasy Football game - with £40,000 in prize money up for grabs
Print this article
Read later
Email to a friend
Share this article:
DM.has('socialLinks', 'omniture', {value: 'share 1303699'});DM.has("reader-comments", "readerComments", {mode: 'W'});Add your comments Comments (10)
Here's what readers have had to say so far. Why not add your thoughts below, or debate this issue live on our message boards.
The comments below have been moderated in advance.
You myt be ryt 4United fans to get in a frenzy just yet...but they played more exciting football than LFC and AFC combined. It was only CFC that really played with conviction to get goals...and even aftr last night's dominant display by UTD, one can clearly say that N'castle is a much classier team than WBA who got a 6 ths wkend...at least they played. So big up to UTD...get your hopes up supporters...because if this season is anything to go by 1 wkend of games, it seems to be the usual 2 horse race again...while the othr scrap for 3 and 4th...
- Emlyn Evans, South Africa, Johannesburg, 17/8/2010 12:17
Click to rate Rating 4
Report abuse
It will be interesting (as it has been for the past 20 years) to see if your, and your fellow L.pool supporters, comments at the end of the season. Oh by the way Jed, is this (as with the past 20years) your season to regain the premiership. Oh I forgot you've never won the premiership have you (and you call Man fans deluded!) In Rafa (or should that be Woy) we trust LOL
PS didn't see your comments on Chealsea's win over a new promoted side!
- R. Hunt, Manchester UK, 17/8/2010 12:10
Click to rate Rating 8
Report abuse
- Jed Ambrose, Liverpool
Suprised you are not saying this is Liverpool's year,i see liverpool played at home and were ,out played same old same old we were playing a better team. last year you lost to the top four teams.
- Malcolm Bowman, Liverpool England (ex Salford), 17/8/2010 11:55
Click to rate Rating 6
Report abuse
"Every one of us (midfielders) is just trying to become as good as him. Everyone can learn from Paul Scholes."
Edgar Davids
"There isn't a player of his mould anywhere else in the world."
Glenn Hoddle
"My toughest opponent? Scholes of Manchester United. He is the complete midfielder. Scholes is undoubtedly the best midfielder of his generation."
Zinedine Zidane
"He is the one whose level I aspire to. He is the best player in the Premier League."
Cesc Fabregas
You can keep Gerrard and Fat Frank thankyou very much.
- James, Salford, UK, 17/8/2010 11:52
Click to rate Rating 9
Report abuse
Bill, Brighton
LOL hold your horses there fella, theres nothing to learn from you lot. So on paper you have a better teamn than Chelsea? Thats a big laugh.......just UTD fans getting their hopes up thats all.
- Genjuro, Denmark, 17/8/2010 11:01
Click to rate Rating 40
Report abuse
Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/art...#ixzz0wru6b0r7