• Watch man get Flat Gunfire ends match

Gunfire ends match
    published: Thursday | January 4, 2007
    <DIV class=KonaBody>

Anthony Foster, Freelance Writer

Reno's bench players and staff, as well as players from both their team and Boys' Town, lie face down on the field, while gun- shots were being fired close to the grounds during yesterday's Wray and Nephew National Premier League football match at Collie Smith Drive. The match was abondoned. - Ian Allen/Staff Photographer

Gunfire among warring factions outside the playground but within the Boys' Town community, forced a premature end to the Wray and Nephew National Premier League football match between the homesters and Reno, at Collie Smith Drive yesterday.

War has been going on in the area for some time. No one was injured in the sports complex as a result of the gunfire and police report that nobody was hurt in the area at the time.

The incident took place inside the third minute added for stoppages in the first half.

The match was being carried live on television.

No fewer than 10 shots were fired from the northern side of the ground, which forced players, officials and two police officers who were behind the goal at the western end to get flat, lying face down.

Former national technical director, Wendell Downswell, who is the coach at Reno and his assistant, former national goalkeeper Aaron Lawrence, as well as many other players, spent almost 10 minutes on the ground with chairs guarding their head.

"I heard a shot flew past me and hit into the wall (at the western end)," said Lawrence with a scary look on his face.

An ambulance, which was parked at the northern end, left the ground even before the game was officially called off. The medical staff is a medical prerequisite for all NPL matches.

Members of the visiting team were not willing to continue the game and the officials supported them.

Pressure from parents

Downswell said they did not feel safe to continue and he came under pressure from parents.

"Parents who were watching the game on TV started calling me to say 'get their sons out of there' and I don't want to take responsibility if anything happens," he said.

"The game was going nicely, and it's just unfortunate it ended like this," he added.

Referee Kevin Thomas supported Reno's refusal to continue.

"We decided to abort the game because of the safety of the visiting team and we don't feel safe either," said Thomas.

Manager of Boys' Town, Frederick Robinson, described the incident as unfortunate while explaining what really happened.

"It's just an internal war between gang and gang, so Boys' Town itself is under no th

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

RE: Watch man get Flat Gunfire ends match

Mi nuh understand you X! Is the life of a footballer more precious than that of other Jamaicans? Same way there is outrage throughout society when police get killed, but when a likkle an ordinary citizen get murdered people have an attitute of "cho, a nuh nutthin, just anedda
    ni gga."

I didnt say that ,I hope my post didnt imply that .On the contrary I would hope that the forumites look at the fact that the citizens live in fear ,play in fear and entertain themselves in fear.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I like the Boys Town Manager explanation like bullets have eyes.

The team should be banned or their team play without supporters for a while, not just the field.

With what just happen with Waterhouse and now Boys Town JFF better take a deep look at the NPL.

Why punish the fans? Didn't the report state the shots were fired outside the grounds?

It nuh matter cause the shot them came in the grounds right?

Drastic actions have to be taken to protect the league, players and fans.

You not just making it hard for the fans but taking away the earnings from the club. Lazie security have to be looked into as well.

Can you imagine if Aron Lawerence was injured or killed what it would look like for our image on the international scene?

What unuh fail to realize is that its not a football issue, it just happened close to a football game. Gun crimes seems to be the norm in Jamaica. Banning the fans or moving the games to a different venue will not solve the issue.

Remember, 13 people got killed in 3 days.

X (1/4/2007)<DIV class=KonaBody>

Manager of Boys' Town, Frederick Robinson, described the incident as unfortunate while explaining what really happened.

"It's just an internal war between gang and gang, so Boys' Town itself is under no threat, but whenever these things happen it will affect Boys' Town in some adverse way and this is what happened.

"So hopefully next time we will have some police in the area, patrolling the streets," he said.

Boys' Town spectators were sympathetic towards Reno and chastised the gun-firing persons.

One man said: "Mi caan believe di man dem do dat!"

"A ban dem want mi field get ban," another queried.

That is how bad it has become. The incident is "unfortunate".

And a fan is worried that his team could be banned.

I wonder if I should just stay in NY. Maybe not, 50 bullets from a cops gun is not very comforting either.

you have to send a message to the community that if them can't control their kids, sisters, brothers and neigbours then they are not worthy of any games.

Reducing crimes involve cleaning up the entertainment and sport wooligans who sometimes support teams. What should we do? send Adams or JFJ down there?

Bwoy Mo them just shot my wife hairdresser execution style on New Years eve in Middletown NY inna the hills.

The only good thing is within a day the cops held her ex-boyfriend and the person he hired to do it.

It ruff even inna the hills. violent crimes are going up in American cities as well.

Assasin (1/4/2007)you have to send a message to the community that if them can't control their kids, sisters, brothers and neigbours then they are not worthy of any games.

Reducing crimes involve cleaning up the entertainment and sport wooligans who sometimes support teams. What should we do? send Adams or JFJ down there?

Whats the mission of the JFJ? It appears you have them confused with the JCF. Why Adams? You think its okay fi him murder more people?

Sending messages don't work with these thugs Assasin. Nuh same way they tried sending message in Spanish Town and all they did was round up innocent people, while the badman dem stand and watch.

Lazie, I'm with assasin on this. If the community cannot control their fans or residents, then no football for them. This is not anything new, Lazie. Whether you are in the "stadium" or not, if the players and everybody else can't feel safe, then NO FOOTBALL!

The JFF needs to make this clear to Boys Town and all the teams in the league. But I suspect they won't. And you probably know why.

I don't see that solving the problem. Playing games without the fans not gonna stop the shooting outside of the grounds and moving it to another venue .... how long dem gonna do that for? If it work, I'll be the first to apologies ... just don't see that solving the problem.

Bwoy Mo them just shot my wife hairdresser execution style on New Years eve in Middletown NY inna the hills.

The only good thing is within a day the cops held her ex-boyfriend and the person he hired to do it.

It ruff even inna the hills. violent crimes are going up in American cities as well.