The JFF doesn't need to bother MLS

• The JFF doesn't need to bother MLS

about Ricketts. We have (as I pointed out the other day) enough options available. That takes me to tonight's LA Galaxy vs Chicago Fire match. The Fire is presently leading LA 3-1 in the 61st minute.

Take a look at the Chicago Fire keeper, 6'4" Sean Johnson. Though he appeared in a CONCACAF U20 match for the USA, he is still eligible to play for Jamaica. He tried out for the Jamaican U17 team in 2005 but was cut. He then tried out for the U20 team in 2008 but was again cut. Strangely he was able to make the USA U20 team.

We don't have a large pool of players so I don't know why we keep rejecting players. We need to cap them and then go from there. As can be seen from tonight's matchup between LA and The Fire, Johnson is a quality keeper. Yet, somehow I think he will still have a difficult time making a Jamaican team just because of our inferior view of players within the USA's system.
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Even more interesting is that no forumite see this post or Sean Johnson important enough to make a comment! Wow!!! And then we wonder where our football is heading.
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

No feel nuh way a MLS ball you talk bout, nuff a just MLS hater.

Sean Johnson looked good and is one for the future. JFF have a chance to produce a very good team if they don't mess up for the next world cup qualifiers. We have a lot of potential player in every position including goalies. WE have Ricketts, Sean Johnson, Ryan Thompson and they youth Miller formerly of HV plus other local ones we can look at. In all at least 6 or 7 should get a good look.

Seeitdeh Sass! A dat mi a talk bout. And when yuh add Dwayne Kerr, McCallum, Murray and Sawyers we really have a good core of young keepers to push Ricketts to the limit. BTW, if is one ting di MLS can do is to bring out di best in keepers. So, Sean Johnson right yah now has a lot going for him.

High Court backs payments for Soca Warriors: ...TTFF

High Court backs payments for Soca Warriors: ...TTFF ordered to honour 2006 W/Cup agreement

By Lasana Liburd

Story Created: Aug 1, 2010 at 1:12 AM ECT
          Story Updated: Aug 2, 2010 at 2:58 AM ECT

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) was accused of time-wasting and ordered by Acting Justice Devindra Rampersad to honour its agreement to pay bonuses to the 2006 World Cup football team, dubbed the "Soca Warriors", and legal costs, which are expected to be in excess of $3 million.
          On November 19, 2008, the TTFF filed a stay of proceedings in the High Court that prevented the 16 players—since reduced to 14—from enforcing the judgment of the London-based Sport Dispute Resolution Panel (SDRP), on the grounds a supposed breach of confidentiality by the claimants "severely undermined" the defendants' faith in the SDRP and, as a result, "they no longer agree to be bound by the agreement".
          The SDRP ruled on May 19, 2008, due to a contract made by United National Congress (UNC) chairman and TTFF Special Adviser Jack Warner with the players, the Warriors were owed 50 per cent of all 2006 World Cup commercial revenue and declared an immediate independent audit of the local football body's financial books for that period.
          On Thursday afternoon, Justice Rampersad dismissed the TTFF's appeal and ruled in favour of the players.
          "This court, therefore, finds that the breaches complained of by the defendants," stated Justice Rampersad, "did not go to the root of the arbitration agreement, and in those circumstances, the agreement remains irrevocable in accordance with Section 3 of the Trinidad and Tobago Arbitration Act 1950, which states that, 'an arbitration agreement, unless a contrary intention is expressed therein, shall be irrevocable except by leave of the court and shall have the same effect in all respects as if it had been made an order of the Court'."
          The World Cup players who initially filed suit against the TTFF are Marvin Andrews, Shaka Hislop, Kelvin Jack, Atiba Charles, Cyd Gray, Ian Cox, Avery John, Brent Sancho, Chris Birchall, Aurtis Whitley, Collin Samuel, Evans Wise, Anthony Wolfe, Cornell Glen, Kenwyne Jones and Stern John. However, Andrews and Birchall are understood to have subsequently settled privately.
          The remaining footballers will request an interim payment of roughly $1.8 million each—their share of the $88 million the T&TFF claimed to receive as World Cup commercial revenue—when the High Court reopens in September before auditors decide the complete figure due.
          A Freedom of Information Act request in 2007 suggested the TTFF's earnings are closer to $180 million, exclusive of gate receipts and broadcast and television rights. In October 2006, the TTFF had offered the World Cup players just $5,644 each.
          The SDRP ruled in favour of the players while Justice Rampersad dismissed the TTFF's case as frivolous and described the TTFF's conduct in the matter as "troubling".
          "It is difficult for this court to understand the defendants' submission," stated Rampersad "…Indeed, as the claimants rightly submit, even in light of their admitted breach, the defendants have failed to advance any proof to the Court in this regard … The post-award disclosures of the award itself would not raise the mischief against which the confidentiality provisions were directed… The surrounding circumstances of the confidentiality obligation very strongly indicate just how otiose the defendants' claim to confidentiality is at this point."
          The TTFF was represented in the High Court by Om Lalla, instructed by Kelvin Ramkissoon, while George Hislop—father of World Cup player and ESPN commentator Shaka Hislop—appeared for the players and was instructed by Dave De Peiza.
          The players' London-based solicitor Michael Townley was elated.
          "I knew we should win, but the length of time it was taking to get the judgment made it all a bit uncertain and nerve-racking," said Townley. "In the end, it was worth the wait …Now, getting paid is the next step, and we recognise that we are dealing with a party who seems determined to carry on regardless of any amount of evidence.
          "Nobody forced their hand to enter in an agreement, so at what point will they seek to recognise it?"
          Warner could not be reached for comment by telephone yesterday while TTFF president Oliver Camps said he would follow his lawyer's advice and make no comment on the case.

The money received from W/C appearances are just to great for Jamaica to pass up in the future. If it this great it's not that difficult to get a stronger program in place for 2014 or 2018. It's certainly worth the effort to put the structure in place to do this. All very very possible for the country we love............

PBanta

The MLS have done a lot for our player. Name another league with 12 Jamaican players especially those who JFF would have never seen and were not at the top of the pile for they youth game.

The MLS a give them exposure against team like Manu and Real Madrid and it is getting bigger with more teams and that mean more chances for players. My only thing is the payment some a the players get but hopefully it will improve.

Where else outside of Jamaica you can see two Jamaican keeper playing against each other?

Originally posted by Farmah View Post
              about Ricketts. We have (as I pointed out the other day) enough options available. That takes me to tonight's LA Galaxy vs Chicago Fire match. The Fire is presently leading LA 3-1 in the 61st minute.

Take a look at the Chicago Fire keeper, 6'4" Sean Johnson. Though he appeared in a CONCACAF U20 match for the USA, he is still eligible to play for Jamaica. He tried out for the Jamaican U17 team in 2005 but was cut. He then tried out for the U20 team in 2008 but was again cut. Strangely he was able to make the USA U20 team.

We don't have a large pool of players so I don't know why we keep rejecting players. We need to cap them and then go from there. As can be seen from tonight's matchup between LA and The Fire, Johnson is a quality keeper. Yet, somehow I think he will still have a difficult time making a Jamaican team just because of our inferior view of players within the USA's system.
              ...and if it one area the US has expertise it is 'keeping! The develop good 'keepers and they know good 'keepers!
              Suh how cum

can yall frig off with this. we don't need anymore fake Jamaicans who switched because they couldn't make the US senior team and not because of their allegiance to their Jamaican roots

Lionpaw, I hope you can understand that Jamaicans living throughout the diaspora feel as much Jamaican as you who live on the island. One thing I can say for the vast majority of JNLIJ who I have have met, is that we all feel very much a part of what happens there. In extension of that sentiment, our offspring (even those born overseas) are/and want to be part of who we are as a nation/cultural group.

Your statement "can yall frig off with this," is shocking to me! Basically because over the time you have been on this forum I have always enjoyed reading your posts and I gave you plenty credit for the sensible posts you have made over the years. However, your recent outburst "can yall frig off" either belies your inner intelligence or just exposes your latent lack of understanding of who we are as Jamaicans.

To call a young man whose parents are Jamaicans a "fake Jamaican" displays an ignorance of what the Jamaican Constitution states and who qualifies to be a Jamaican. I expect better from you Lionpaw, simply because I think you are more cerebral than your post displays!

Sean Johnson tried twice! He tried to make the U17 team and again the U20 team but was cut. He then, on the prompting of coaches, tried out for the USA U20 team and made it. Not his fault that we are shortsighted. Even so, from all indications and word coming from people close to him he wants to try out for the Senior Reggaeboyz team. As a Jamaican (YES HE IS), he deserves the chance without someone shouting out that he is a "fake." As I opined before, we do not have that many players in our pool so much so that we can afford to ignore his talents. The MLS is one of the best leagues for developing goal keepers, and Sean Johnson is part of the MLS system. Give the youth a chance. Having not born on the island should not preclude his path to the national team.

Paw, some strange things have happened when it comes to being selected to the national team. For instance, when Nick Addlery is told that, in order to be considered for the upcoming matches against T&T and Costa Rica, he would have to join up with the squad currently in training...that's nonsense!

The man is probably 10 times as fit as any player in the squad right now as PR Islanders are in the middle of their season and he has been producing the goods. Why would he have to spend weeks out of his club to make this team? Have they asked Ricketts to do that too?

Or is Nick one of those fake Jamaicans?!?

Originally posted by Lionpaw View Post
                      can yall frig off with this. we don't need anymore fake Jamaicans who switched because they couldn't make the US senior team and not because of their allegiance to their Jamaican roots
                      Amazing, other countries try to get players from all over that is qualified to play for their national team, but since we have such an ABUNDANCE, we can reject players at will.

my only problem is with those who try to use jamaica. we have seen them in the past, and they will continue to raise their ugly heads.

Well said Farmah. I started responding to Paw last night on the same issue, but cancelled my post somewhere in the middle of writing it. I said to myself, why bother.

Anyway, I could not have put it as well as you did. I fully endorse your position on the matter.
                          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Thanks for the support Tilla. Paw shocked the hell out of me! Is time we all move away from the insularity boundry because it neither befits us nor benefit us.

unnuh cant read? mi say, mi nuh want di switchers pon di side and mi nah tek back nuh chat. mi nuh have a problem with baller wha born up deh and want play fi jamaica first. a di one dem wha play under-20 or whuteva but realise say dem too ruxy fi mek USA senior team and den run come a JA as back-up mi have a problem wid. dem fi frig off.