Let Ricketts go - JFF boss will approach FIFA

• Let Ricketts go - JFF boss will approach FIFA

Let Ricketts go - JFF boss will approach FIFA if MLS club fail to release national keeper

Donovan Ricketts
    The Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) and Major League Soccer (MLS) club LA Galaxy could be on a collision course following the club's reluctance to release national goalkeeper Donovan Ricketts ahead of the upcoming Trinidad and Tobago friendly.
    The Reggae Boy shot stopper has enjoyed a fruitful spell since moving to the MLS and joining the LA Galaxy in 2008. However, despite a real purple patch of form, which has seen the keeper earn rave reviews in the American league, he has not appeared for the national team since July of last year at the CONCACAF Gold Cup.

excuses, excuses
    According to the federation, invitations for the keeper to link up with the squad have consistently been turned down by the MLS club for a variety of reasons. The keeper has missed the last six friendly internationals, a situation that has drawn the ire of local football's governing body.
    "The LA Galaxy have been acting selfishly over the last two years, we are happy that Donovan has been doing well, but not releasing a player consistently to represent his country is unacceptable," Captain Horace Burrell head of the JFF told Star [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]Sports[/COLOR][/COLOR].
    "We have been extremely accommodating, we understand that under certain circumstances the player will be unavailable. We have repeatedly requested his presence and Bruce Arena (coach) and the LA Galaxy have consistently come up with a different excuse. This is no longer acceptable and we have advised them that we will be approaching FIFA as it relates to enforcing the regulations."

FIFA rules

Burrell
    According to FIFA regulations, "A club holding the registration of a player called up to play in the national team must release him to the national association on the fixed/set dates (FIFA dates) for international matches in each calendar year."
    The Jamaica vs Trinidad game, which is set for August 11, will fall on an official FIFA friendly international match date.
    The club versus country controversy has long been a hotly debated issue in international football, with several clubs and national associations already having clashed over the issue. However, in the instance that a player fit for duty is not released for a national team, the club can be barred from using the player for two matches. "We understand their interests, but we also have our own in preparing a national team. We have been cooperating for two years but we will no longer stand for it," Burrell said. [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]Jamaica's[/COLOR][/COLOR] next friendly international is expected to be against Costa Rica on September 5, a match for which Ricketts is again expected to be called upon.

why get Ricketts for Trinidad game?

why not?

Give another youngster a chance. The coach have no reason to look at Ricketts. He is establish number ONE already. Give another keeper a chance to develop.

What?? we can't afford to lose in a practise game against Tand T? What him a go call Fuller and Bibi etc too?

Give another youngster a chance. The coach have no reason to look at Ricketts. He is establish number ONE already. Give another keeper a chance to develop.

What?? we can't afford to lose in a practise game against Tand T? What him a go call Fuller and Bibi etc too?
          If it wasn't pre-season he would get them too.

what happen to the other goalkeepers... ricketts is not a must have for this game... not worth putting up a fight with his club for this game...

so wait what is more important? Pre season or regular season?

BECAUSE............

We have adequate replacements! This is a friendly game and other custodians should be given opportunities to play for the national team. Sawyers, Murray, Kerr, McCallum need games too. The JFF is creating a mountain out of a mole hill.
                "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

just asking! geez!

i agree! let's give our other goalies a look-see.

whatever happened to Dwayne Kerr?! I haven't seen him on the radar lately.

What about the fans? They are expecting to see a decent squad from each country on the field. The federation have a point, Ricketts have not played with the national team for over a year. Why should they wait for a qualifying game or its equivalent to get him in sync with the rest of his fellow Yard players. It's a FIFA date, release the player. I wonder what the Galaxy's response would be to the USSF in the request for Donovan on a FIFA date.

ah suh? mek trinidad beat wi an' yuh wi si sup'm!

u knoo someting gamma , i think ja going to lose in tnt and win in kingston.
                        Jamaica you mite get a Petroleum well with
                        United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
                        happens then I don't know.A Petrol Well is
                        Probably forthcoming...

gamma we may lose in port of spain and win the return in ja , but its all
                          good thou cause ricketts is the best goalie ja have and its good for him
                          to play with the team in preparation for 2014 qualifiers .
                          Jamaica you mite get a Petroleum well with
                          United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
                          happens then I don't know.A Petrol Well is
                          Probably forthcoming...