• Barrett looks set to lose JFF job

Barrett looks set to lose JFF job

Published: Thursday | July 29, 2010 0 Comments and 0 Reactions

Barrett

Ryon Jones, Gleaner Writer Former national captain and current Reggae Boyz goalkeeping [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]coach[/COLOR][/COLOR] Warren Barrett seems likely to lose his job with the national team. This according to a source close to the investigations into a bloody altercation involving Barrett and a referee on Sunday, which led to the abandonment of a match at Jarrett Park.
    It is understood that the Jamaica Football Federation's (JFF) Disciplinary Commission has recommended in its report, that the FIFA [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]World [COLOR=blue !important]Cup[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] 1998 custodian be stripped of his duties with the organisation, following the incident. It should be noted that the final decision lies with the JFF's hierarchy led by president, Captain Horace Burrell.
    "Anonymously, I would say that it looks like he will get the drop, things are not too in his favour," said the source. "There is a section about who headbutted first and looking at it, apparently he did it and he was on the bench. Based on what I saw, his comments from the bench drew the ref over to him to kind of stop him," the source added.
    The incident at the centre of the investigations occurred on Sunday afternoon, when Barrett and referee Donat McKenley came to blows on the touch-line after a verbal exchange during the Steve Bucknor Masters League second leg semi-final [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]game [COLOR=blue !important]between[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] Barrett's Violet Tourers; the competition's defending champion, and Hanover Masters.
    At the end of the fight, Barrett was left nursing a bloody nose while blood was seen dripping from the lips of referee McKenley, who also had a dislocated finger.
    When contacted, chairman of the JFF Disciplinary Commission and second vice president of the St James [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Football [COLOR=blue !important]Association[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR], David Watt refused to comment on the issue, but did point out that all the reports from the parties involved have been received.
    "I am just preparing a cover note to the JFF, but I can't comment on it because I am the chairman of the JFF disciplinary committee," said Watt.
    Tender a report
    A 24-hours timeline was given for Barrett to submit a report to the St James Football Association and then for the association to tender a report to the JFF within 72 hours.
    "A timeline was given to submit the reports and I was in Kingston yesterday (Tuesday), and when I came back, I got Barrett's and then I got three more. So the Jamaica [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Football[/COLOR][/COLOR] Federation's request for the reports has been followed," said Watt. "By the end of today (Wednesday), the reports from Barrett, the referee and match commissioner will be sent off to the JFF.
    "I am really surprise that it happened in the Masters League because initially, when the Masters League started off in the parish, it use to be really friendly. I want it to go back to its original state," he added.

I thought barrett was born again...........

Christian nuh fight? Den what was di Crusades all about?

"...a servant of the lord...does not have to fight...

gwane dekan HL

Deacon in his church....

A Demon Deacon?