• National Goalkeeper Coach Warren Barrett suspended

July 24, 1010

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

National Goalkeeper Coach Warren Barrett has been suspended from participation in all football activities with immediate effect.

This decision, taken by the Jamaica Football Federation includes Mr. Barrett’s role in the national programme as National Goalkeeper Coach.

The decision follows a reported altercation today in which it is alleged that Mr. Barrett physically and verbally abused a Referee officiating in the Western Masters League Semi-Final involving Hanover Masters and Violet Tourers being played at Jarrett Park.

As a result of the incident the officials left the venue and the scheduled practice game between the National senior team and a St. James Claro Invitational team had to be aborted.

The JFF has instructed the St James FA to launch an immediate investigation into the incident and to submit a report to the Federation in seventy-two hours.

In the interim the President of the JFF has apologized to fans, sponsors and officials for this incident and re-iterates the Federation’s policy of zero tolerance in respect of these types of incidences.

Wow!!!! Bayman dem tek this thing serious.

It must have been something bad but I am not surprised, all his career even from a teenager Warren has always been like this and always trying to dictate the games form where he is.

He abuses referees and other officials and talks way too much in games and seem to cant control himself.

We take this Masters League thing way too serious, I dont even cover it, in my mind it is recreation for the old geezers and does not deserve that much space in the media..

I was at the match yesterday and the people I spoke to all expressed shock that Warren could have done something like this. I believe some have started to spin the story to make it appear as if the referee attacked him, but I'm not sure that's going to work. I didn't see how it started as I was fast asleep given the boring nature of the game. Just caught the end when fists were flying a little wildly as players tried separating them.

Yes, Mobay puts too much importance into this Master league thing and that explains why Munro usually gets whupped by Cornwall come Jackson Shield time, at least from the Masters side.

What I do know, and this has been the only constant when it comes to Jarrett Park - expect some commotion of some sort!

sigh

Very few of the Cornwall boys who play the over 35 game actually play Masters League or are even from MoBay and many time when the game is played in MoBay, we have 'loaned' you a few players...take you licks and chill man

Slap!!!!!!!
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

they may not play master's league officially, but they play regularly, with much passion.

but that is to your credit!

jackson shield means very little to me. munro use it as an opportunity to link up and drink beer!

Bloody brawl at Jarrett Park - National coach and referee trade blows

Adrian Frater, News editor

Dr Clive McKenzie (left) examines the dislocated finger of referee Donat McKenley. - Adrian Frater

Western Bureau:

Sunday night's big three-game Pre-Independence Football Fiesta at Jarrett Park, in Montego Bay, was abandoned midway the first game after a bloody fist fight on the touch line between former national captain Warren Barrett and referee Donat McKenley.

Following the fight, which occurred in the Steve Bucknor Western Masters League second leg semi-final clash between Barrett's Violet Tourers and many time champions Hanover Masters, Barrett was left with a bloody nose while referee McKenley had busted lips and a dislocated finger.

Violet Tourers Phillip Wong also got involved in the exchange of blows as he was seen inflicting a blow on Mckenley, while he was wrestling with Barrett, who was on the touchline in his capacity as Violet Tourers player/coach.

"It was a most embarrassing sight," said St James FA President George Evans. "As president of the St James F.A. and a fan of the game, these are the kinds of things you don't want to see in our football."

In the aftermath of the fight, members of the St James Referees Group, who were slated to officiate in the other two scheduled games, which should have featured a clash between NPL contenders Reno FC and Village United and Jamaica's Reggae Boys and a select Claro/St James XI, withdrew their services forcing an abandonment of the game.

"Regardless of what happen, I don't believe Warren (Barrett) should have gotten into a fight with the referee," said one obviously embarrassed female fan. "In addition to being a former national star, he is a member of the national coaching staff and regardless of the situation; he needs to keep a dignified posture at all times."

However, in trying to explain what happened, Barrett said the referee came over to him in a threatening manner and in the ensuing argument, he was headbutted in his nose, drawing blood. He said the blows he threw were in self-defence.

For his part, referee McKenley said Barrett was behaving in a disorderly manner and he came over to speak to him about it. He said while he was speaking to Barrett, the former goalkeeper headbutted him and he was forced to defend himself.

"I was speaking to him about his behavior when he headbutted me," said McKenley, who subsequently lodged a statement about the incident at the Mount Salem Police Station. "I did nothing wrong. I was only doing my duty as a referee."

With the referees withdrawing their services, spectators and vendors, who had paid to enter the venue, descended on the main ticket office, demanding a refund of their money. With the situation threatening to get ugly, JFF vice-president Bruce Gaynor, who is also the general secretary of the St James F.A., promised a free game, featuring the national team as compensation.

"We cannot refund you because some of the persons who bought tickets did not keep their ticket stubs and it would be unfair not to refund them as well," noted Gaynor. "We will compensate you with a free game featuring the national team in the near future."
                http://jamaica-star.com/thestar/2010...s/sports4.html

I still have nightmare of seeing the Seba striker stabbed by his own fan after missing some goals in a match in Mobay against Waddadah.

Very few of the Cornwall boys who play the over 35 game actually play Masters League or are even from MoBay and many time when the game is played in MoBay, we have 'loaned' you a few players...take you licks and chill man
                    Loaned us a few players...huh?
                    Just as said - We do not take it seriously...you do!
                    Damn even a put licks pan unnuh ownah player dem

DR McKenzie is really a Vet but then again Donat is a mutt. Did Doc treat Warren as well?

Karl youn have no damn clue what you talknig about and just jumping itno ppl arguments..you should see the Munro boys come out to play the Masters game.

Mosiah can gwaan talk, they dont take it serious because they hardly ever win and on the few occasions they do with, they sing about it for 12 months.

What does that have to do with this incident?

As I said it was flashback. Not directly directly attach to this incident but it speak volume of the atmosphere in Mobay and what length people go to "support".

So I ask again, which fan was involved here and who was supporting which team????

Maybe I am just too damn tied and not getting what you are trying to say