• Claude Davis 'can be Premier star'

DAVIS 'can be Premier star'

NEIL Warnock is backing Claude Davis to be a massive hit in the Premiership in 2007.

Davis was not at his peak as Sheffield United went down to a disappointing 3-1 defeat at Middlesbrough yesterday, but Warnock feels the best is yet to come.

The manager began his transfer dealings as soon as the January window opened yesterday by selling Ade Akinbiyi back to Burnley in a deal that could eventually net the Blades £1.125 million.

At the Riverside though, Boro's own experienced strikers Yakubu and Mark Viduka were a class apart.

But Warnock said: "Claude is still a young lad with only four years in the game.

"He gets on the wrong side of players at times but when you come up against top class strikers like we did yesterday then it's going to happen.

"The important thing is that Claude takes it all on board. He has done ever so well so far and it is all a learning process for him.

"It was hard for our central defenders but they stuck at it.

"Chris Morgan was unlucky not to score with a strong header from a corner, but then it was a cert penalty when he brought down Yakubu."

Warnock - still buoyed by Saturday's 1-0 win over Arsenal - gave his team his full backing and believes that United can quickly bounce back.

He said: "You don't like losing any game but it's hard to be critical because our workrate was very good as usual.

"We have had four tough games in eight days and that's a hell of a lot to deal with in this league.

"But we've got eight games at home and eight away and these will decide whether we are in this league or not next year."

Warnock is confident of strengthening the squad this month.

He said: "Hopefully we can bring in two or three quality players to supplement the squad and give everyone a run for their money.

"We've got a fighting chance. Not many teams will fancy coming to Bramall Lane and we've played the top five at home already."

With Paddy Kenny injuring his groin against Arsenal and Ian Bennett out with a broken finger, Paul Gerrard stepped up between the posts at the Riverside and did well, being deceived by a deflection for Boro's first goal and then getting a hand to Mark Viduka's rasping volley for the second.

Warnock said: "Paul was a bit disappointed not to push the second one out a bit further.

"But he did well. He's not played at this level for some time and you tend to forget the power of players like Viduka."

Warnock added that Paddy Kenny was having scans on his groin injury today.

Akinbiyi returned to Burnley just under 12 months after leaving for Bramall Lane in a £1.75 million deal.

Burnley announced his return yesterday as a £750,000 signing, £650,000 now with a further £100,000 payable in the summer, but the Blades claim they will receive a £1 million-plus sum depending on add-ons in the deal.

The 32-year-old rejoined the Clarets on a two-and-a-half-year contract but was not eligible for yesterday's game against Stoke which, however, fell victim to a waterlogged pitch.

Burnley manager Steve Cotterill said: "I'm absolutely delighted to bring Ade back, as I'm sure the supporters and his team-mates will be - both those he left behind and the new ones he will meet."

United host Swansea in the FA Cup on Saturday when Chris Morgan and Rob Hulse will be suspended. Swansea will be without striker Lee Trundle.

02 January 2007

RE: Claude Davis 'can be Premier star'

His positioning when tracking back is still off and hestill ball watches a lot but I dont know if there are any other defenders in the premiership, certainly not his size, that can recover as well or react as quickly to break upplays as Claude can.

He is good very good -even in his baptism period coming off an injury - he is good. He will end up at a bigger club sooner than later.
    SA 2010: Reggae Boyz coming home!

I was going to offer my opinion but I don't want guy fi trace mi say mi a hate pon wi owna people.

Mosiah (1/2/2007)I was going to offer my opinion but I don't want guy fi trace mi say mi a hate pon wi owna people.

Certain man mek yuh ketch yuh fraid?:evil: