Is the first touch the most important thing?

be that as it may....

April 2006, Simon Kuper wrote in the Financial Times:
    "One night last year some legends of Dutch football gathered for dinner in an Amsterdam house. Around midnight conversation turned to an old question: who was the best Dutch footballer ever? Dutchmen have been voted European Footballer of the Year seven times, more than any other nationality except Germans. Yet Jan Mulder, a great centre-forward turned writer, chose a player who had never even threatened to win the award nor, at the time, a Champions League: 'Bergkamp. He had the finest technique', said Mulder. Guus Hiddink, the great Dutch manager, nodded, and so the matter was settled."[11]

I agree, what wonderful technique and many may call him the best based on just that, just as many Brazilians will say Marcelinho Carioca had better technique than any Brazilian over the past 30 years and as such rate him over many who those outside of Brazil consider greats of the game.

However, Mr fraid of flying faced a league where he had to face Costacurta, Ferrara, Cannavaro, Nesta, Vierchowood, Montero, Aldair and other defensive generals week after week and came up short.

The name Pisa comes to mind. The match could have been in the early nineties and at that time, many Jamaicans thought they knew about the game. We, as Jamaican fans of the game, have come a long way in terms of ball understanding and appreciation.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I remember that game and that goal. Bergkamp was a true master of the game. That season I was torn apart between cheering for The Empire and cheering for the Invincibles. That Gummers team was awesome!!!
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I think most things are predicated by a good first touch. But the problem we have is not the touch per se as we have the skill is the intelligence of that touch. Towards your next action for example

but thats the idea sass. Your first touch dictate where and what your next action is. so I see players with wicked ball control but its not the same as a good first touch and that is the problem with yard players. The control wicked and you will hear someone say anywhere it touch him it dead! but the idea is to keep the ball moving in the direction of the next pass or shot.

Speed without a good first touch is absolutely useless - I give you Luton Shelton.
                Or Eddie Johnson...

well said OJ, move to the head of the class.

Fi ball control yes.

Doni a big baller. is like you figget. Yuh Criscito and Pepe cant hold a cangle to Doni.

Yuh figget the goal Bergkamp score gainst Argie in France 98??? How yuh love dem ball control deh?

LoL

Dont figget Cantona neida! Ball artist extraordinaire with magic feet!

Especially number 4 goal when him was at Sheffield!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=etAwiDwZHQc

Boss, mi would never even mention Pepe and Criscito in a sentence (apart from this one) with Donadoni. Good baller versus very good baller with great control

You can get away with it on the wing but not in the center of the field. If you notice Luton Club now turn him into a winger.

Awright sah.

Fair enuff!

Yuh nah tek mi on today. LoL

It doesn't matter where on the field you are.

It does. You have a lot more space on the wing. You can make more mistakes out there than in the center of midfield or forward. you can swing the ball from Midfield wide and the player run it down, only that they have to learn to cross the ball.