There are many teams in the world cup that played a much faster game than Spain but while speed is an asset it is surely not the number 1 ingredient for wining at the highest level.
Is Speed everything?
Spain moves around faster than any other team. Other teams move the ball more quickly from defense to attack because they may be more direct, but their interchanging and pace off of the ball movement is unmatched.
Speed isn't everything, but it is one of the main ingreadients why they won. If them did fill them midfield and attack with pure Xabi Alonso type runner, them would be out by the second round. Fortunately they have Villa, Torres, Iniesta, Xavi, Pedro, Ramos, Navas, Silva and MataLast edited by Me; July 19, 2010, 06:27 PM.
Some a di defender them slow like snail.
Spain is more about teamwork than anything else.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Yes, but they keep possession, and they can maintain that possession because of how quick they are with AND without the ball.
Additionally, they keep two central midfield players to protect Pique and Puyol. There wingbacks are fast, so it is only if those guys are isolated they get into problems.
that is why I say it more about team. It is not like all the players are fast. They work with a very good plan and everybody do their work.
As I said there are many teams faster than they are.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
All the teams that made it the semis were good teams and showed excellent teamwork. What separated Spain from Netherlands, Germany and Uruguay was their ability to maintain possession and pentrate defenses due to their technique and the faster speed at which they move the ball around.
"faster speed at which they move the ball around."
I want you know that is very different from speed. There are other teams that move it fast as well only that Spain was effective.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Playing Speed...Play fast get result...play slow no results
If traininig is slow or at a moderate pace as training related to football fitness expect team results that will not be keeping with the standard of those teams outside CONCAVCAF. If you can play CNCAVCAF teams and beat them then you have to move to a higher level of playing fast.
When training players both individual and team speed must be considered. Also groups of 3-4 in attack as well. Defending speed is also a consideration.
Methods needs to be improved for teams that have amateur club or semi pro play in their country such ours...Jamaica. We have taught a GSM International coaching course called Football fitness. It works abd coachies in Jamaica are getting some reuslt. This need to be done at the national level.
Paul Banta
Speed is speed. they are fast in attack on and off the ball. Whether all of them will beat the Ivory Coast or even France in a 100 meter is another matter. They were faster than Netherlands and Germany.
yes it isn't the only thing the matters, but it is a MAJOR part. Just as technique is a MAJOR part and playing as a team is a MAJOR part. Teams lacking in any of those areas do not make it far in the World Cup.
Yes, the difference in speed is quite evident. Honduras looks like they play quickly when you watch them in CONCACAF against teams like us, El Salvador, trinidad and even the U.S.
However, when they played against the bigger nations it showed how much slower they played the game than they did.
But you can be slow and still pass the ball with speed? No?- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
You can be slow, pass the ball quickly but because you are slow your off the ball movement is still slow, so you will not be able to replicate the fast passing method that a Spain or a Chile (although them have couple Brucky boo) attacks. Them man deh pass quickly AND they are hard to catch once they make that movement after the pass.
Speed of thought and speed of play is important. Speed does not always means quickness or ability to spring from 40 metres but speed of ball circualtion which may relate to ability to recieve the ball , keep it moving and play with the first touch or second . Spain is one example. Cameroon on the other one had great team speed but thier passes was slow and predictable. speed of play which is related to speed of thought is key.
Good way to put it. Maybe many of our teams can learn something from Spain, Germany and others.
I make this point because too many times I see the Reggae Boyz trying to use pure speed, not moving the ball around, not disguising it in anyway but just trying to run down teams.
You put it right.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.