The Gunners really learning from Wenger.

• The Gunners really learning from Wenger.

<H1>(tdown)(tdown)</H1><H1>Jagielka hits out at Arsenal's 'big babies'</H1>

<BR clear=all><DIV class=text11 style="BACKGROUND: #fff"><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top>

Arsenal's nemesis Phil Jagielka claims the 'big baby' Gunners refused to shake his hand after he had kept them at bay during their shock 1-0 defeat at Sheffield United. </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></DIV>

Jagielka was the Blades' hero, retreating from his favoured forward position to replace the injured Paddy Kenny in goal as the hosts held on to their narrow advantage in Saturday night's Premiership fixture.

The response from Arsene Wenger's beaten stars did not entirely surprise him.

'If they want to be like big babies, let them be big babies,' he said. 'We expect that now from Arsenal - we have had it a couple of times. They don't care to shake hands; they get very upset.'

'That's what happens when you have a lot of foreign players who don't like the nitty gritty of the Premiership.

'I'm sure they are just disappointed to lose, but as far as I am concerned you have still got to be sporting enough to offer a handshake.'

RE: The Gunners really learning from Wenger.

The Sheffield United may well be right...but, his surliness on being ignored is...Yup...you guessed it, crying like a baby!

Yet, Wenger and his players need to take setbacks with a stiff upper lip while showing respect for opponents grit and successes. Yup...my GUNNERS need to offer the little common courtesies.

How is he crying like a baby? The youth simply pointing out that the gooners are a bit bitchy when things don't go their way.

Dont you find it interesting regarding his comments on the foreign player thing. I do think Allediare and Baptisa really must decide if they deserve to wear Arsenal Colours, very dissapointed in them.

one of the reasons the fans in Toronto hated Vince Carter was that he was alway hugging up and buddying up with the opponent after a loss. I want my player to be upset after a loss and hate loosing. That don't meant you cant shake hands but don't be happy doing it.

OJ (1/2/2007)one of the reasons the fans in Toronto hated Vince Carter was that he was alway hugging up and buddying up with the opponent after a loss. I want my player to be upset after a loss and hate loosing. That don't meant you cant shake hands but don't be happy doing it.
            1000% agree!

OJ (1/2/2007)one of the reasons the fans in Toronto hated Vince Carter was that he was alway hugging up and buddying up with the opponent after a loss. I want my player to be upset after a loss and hate loosing. That don't meant you cant shake hands but don't be happy doing it.
              Watch yuhself OJ, yuh slowly coming across as if yuh want to agree with unsportsmanlike behavior. Suh why when unuh win, unuh expect the other players to be a good sport? As mi say, the gooners really learning from Wenger the Whiner.

Lazie (1/2/2007)How is he crying like a baby? The youth simply pointing out that the gooners are a bit bitchy when things don't go their way.
                You do notwhip a man and then go around bitching because he did not shake your hand on receiving that whipping.

I suppose you have to have played a game to really get it?!

When a man start to refer to "foreigners" and how they behave my spidey senses tingle... no matter the context. So while Jagielka's observaion may be correctabout Arsenal players,to introduce the "nationality card" as a reason why, in my books is also crossing the line. He could easily make his point without going there.

How should his teammate Nade (a frenchman) who scored react when he hears his Captain (?) I believe make such a comment?

pr

Peter R (1/2/2007)When a man start to refer to "foreigners" and how they behave my spidey senses tingle... no matter the context. So while Jagielka's observaion may be correctabout Arsenal players,to introduce the "nationality card" as a reason why, in my books is also crossing the line. He could easily make his point without going there.

pr
                    You are so right!

Jagielka was not just bitching...he was 'throwing himself on the ground,tearing hair out, tears streaming from his eyes,switching between rage and self-pity' i.e. acting the cry baby!

Suh people gonna ignore everything else and focus on one line? hehehe ... Wenger at work.

Lazie, The point is that it is a KEY line. I understand his point about sportsmanship, but to me he loses credibility as a sportsman himself when he attributes reasons why, to "foreigners".

pr

Karl, a 2007 now ... stop chat foolishness.

You Arsenal fans are amazing. Unuh cyaan man up and admit that unuh players behave like brats when they don't win. Not only the players ... Did Wenger shake Jose's hand after that game? Remember this?

Lazie (1/2/2007)Karl, a 2007 now ... stop chat foolishness.
                              Just start 2007 by being balanced andfair!