How unnuh rate Webb in di Finals ?

So, can you please point out the incompetent calls the ref made?
    You are joking?
    Right?

...if you were serious you would have said, SOME of his incompetent calls?

The earliest signs of incompetence was his caution to Van Persie and immediately after ignoring a similar offense committed by Pouyal!

The game then had a series of good passing by Spain...good easy actions to manage by any ref...and he ruined it by at the first little touch...acting the fool instead of allowing the game to flow and thus prevent any show of turmoil...he stopped the game to wave his hands about and thus drew cluster of players to him who remonstrated with him...he would draw that to himself repeatedly.

There was also Pouyal's as last defender but the goalkeeper bringing down the attacker on the way to goal. Mandatory expulsion says FIFA. Webb issued a caution.

There was the kung-foo fighting kick to his opponent's chest by Nigel De Jong - Not even a 'seh wha?'

...but his greatest failure was too often stopping play when it was better to allow the game to flow. Sure it was a 'high-stakes' uncompromising match with no team giving an inch but Webb had a hand in making it the unattractive less than sweet flowing more open attacking contest it could have been. It would not be a stretch to say we saw more of Webb than football.

You are joking?
      Right?

...if you were serious you would have said, SOME of his incompetent calls?

The earliest signs of incompetence was his caution to Van Persie and immediately after ignoring a similar offense committed by Pouyal!

The game then had a series of good passing by Spain...good easy actions to manage by any ref...and he ruined it by at the first little touch...acting the fool instead of allowing the game to flow and thus prevent any show of turmoil...he stopped the game to wave his hands about and thus drew cluster of players to him who remonstrated with him...he would draw that to himself repeatedly.

There was also Pouyal's as last defender but the goalkeeper bringing down the attacker on the way to goal. Mandatory expulsion says FIFA. Webb issued a caution.

There was the kung-foo fighting kick to his opponent's chest by Nigel De Jong - Not even a 'seh wha?'

...but his greatest failure was too often stopping play when it was better to allow the game to flow. Sure it was a 'high-stakes' uncompromising match with no team giving an inch but Webb had a hand in making it the unattractive less than sweet flowing more open attacking contest it could have been. It would not be a stretch to say we saw more of Webb than football.
      Is it the first a player got a caution for a late tackle? NO! As for the Robben incident, Robben played on, should the ref have issued a second yellow for an attempted foul? Lets see, how many of you would be here cussing the ref for sending off Puyol when there wasn't a foul .. ray ray.

The problem for most of you is that you tuned in to see a game more exciting that the previous day. The Dutch came with a plan to get in the face of the Spanish and all now most of you who claim to be fans of the game nuh realize that it was a tactical battle between the 2 finalist. Stop searching for a reason to blame the ref because if he had ejected couple players unuh would still be complaining.

Is it the first a player got a caution for a late tackle? NO! As for the Robben incident, Robben played on, should the ref have issued a second yellow for an attempted foul? Lets see, how many of you would be here cussing the ref for sending off Puyol when there wasn't a foul .. ray ray.

The problem for most of you is that you tuned in to see a game more exciting that the previous day. The Dutch came with a plan to get in the face of the Spanish and all now most of you who claim to be fans of the game nuh realize that it was a tactical battle between the 2 finalist. Stop searching for a reason to blame the ref because if he had ejected couple players unuh would still be complaining.
        No one can with certainty say what would have occurred if Webb had a better game...but I know for sure I have seen him do much better job.

As to the nonsense about what I hoped to see and what occurred? ...nonsense.

In terms of someone as my self who look at technical skills of the players, relative pace (by players & teams) at which the actions take place, and the manifestation of the 'thought process' of each player and each TEAM as UNIT...there is much in the match to delight the 'teacher'.

...there is much also for the uninformed to claim the refereeing was more weighted towards Spain. It could be said that the ref did his damage early and thus could afford to turn a blind eye to say - Nigel De Jong's second phase of the game, unceasing "kung-foo fighting" .
        Last edited by Karl; July 15, 2010, 11:27 PM.

Ulterior motive , my motives are plain as day, Webb was not on par as the african ref in the USA game and he had a tougher game.

Webb made a mess of it.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I completely agree with Lazie on this. The only or rather the main wrong call that he made was not issuing a straight red card to DeJong for the kung-fu kick.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I completely agree with Lazie on this. The only or rather the main wrong call that he made was not issuing a straight red card to DeJong for the kung-fu kick.
              So you are saying it was a well refereed game?
              ...that is your call!
              Not a problem!

The keeper "bringing down the attacker " Karl??? when? maybe after he had successfully collected the ball...

However, I do agree that Webb came out with the preconceived idea that he was not going to tolerate any nonsense...as if it was a Manchester Derby him was reffing...(LOL) and totally disallowed any flow of play from early on. had he given them a bit of rein his performance might have been better.

I would give him a B, or a 75% if you prefer.

The keeper "bringing down the attacker " Karl??? when? maybe after he had successfully collected the ball...

However, I do agree that Webb came out with the preconceived idea that he was not going to tolerate any nonsense...as if it was a Manchester Derby him was reffing...(LOL) and totally disallowed any flow of play from early on. had he given them a bit of rein his performance might have been better.

I'll take a look after this post - but I thought I said the last defender but 1! That 1 defender would be the 'keeper! Pouyal was that last defender but 1! Pouyal should have gotten a madatory (a FIFA mandated) red card!

Spain would have been playing with 10 from the early in the contest.

Do not remember the exact time the pull down occured? Was it the first half...or around the 45 - 60 minute? Can't remember...but something tells me it may have even been about the 25 minute????.

..and you are absolutely correct, Bruce!

...just read it, Peter and this is what I said,
                      ...Pouyal's as last defender but the goalkeeper...
                      ...and I agree with your B or 75%. Webb kept the game from boiling over!

Sorry, I misread the sentence... I find it ironic that the one time Robben didn't go down the ref didn't give the foul...

I think the ref did a good job under the circumstances. It was a bad game that deserved the cards that was ditched out. Regarding the De jong foul, It could have gone ither way..a red or the yellow he gave. I'm happy he used common sense and didnt give him a red and impact the game more than he should. Bottom line, the player was able to get up and continue so common sense prevail. Going by the book rules is not the right thing to do in every situation guys...Remember, subsatnce over form..it applies here...That's why its a man reffing the game and not a machine.