• Thierry Henry leaves Spain....

Thierry Henry leaves Barcelona for New York Red Bulls

Henry scored 51 goals for France in 123 appearances

France striker Thierry Henry has signed for Major League Soccer side New York Red Bulls from Barcelona on a "multi-year contract". The former Arsenal captain, 32, is expected to make his debut for Red Bulls in a friendly against Tottenham in the United States on 22 July.
    Henry signed for Barcelona in 2007 and had one year remaining on his contract but the club agreed to let him leave.
    Henry said: "This marks an exciting new chapter in my career and life."
    After falling out of favour at Barcelona last season and enduring a torrid World Cup, where France failed to progress past the group stages, Henry is excited about the prospect of a new challenge in the United States.

US football is improving - Ferguson

"It is an honour to play for the New York Red Bulls," he stated.
    "I am fully aware of the team's history and my sole goal during my time here is to help win the club its first championship.
    "Knowing Red Bull's significant commitment to soccer locally and internationally, I am confident that my team-mates and I will succeed."
    The Frenchman is Arsenal's all-time record goalscorer, with 226 goals in 370 games between 1999-2007, a period where the club won the Premier League twice and the FA Cup three times.
    In June 2007 Henry moved to Barcelona in a £16.1m deal and his success continued at the Nou Camp.
    Henry scored 49 goals over the course of his three years in Spain, where he twice won La Liga and picked up a Champions League winner's medal and also won the Uefa Super Cup and the Fifa Club World Cup.
    606: DEBATE

I personally wish Thierry all the best... legend is bandied around too much these days but he certainly qualifies

RVP1968

In a distinguished international career, Henry scored 51 goals in 123 appearances for France, winning the World Cup in 1998 and the European Championship in 2000.
    And Henry's impressive career trophy haul is something Dietmar Beiersdorfer, head of Red Bull global soccer, is eager to add to.
    "It is without question that Thierry Henry is one of the most successful and recognisable soccer players over the past 15 years," said Beiersdorfer.
    "We are thrilled that Thierry has decided to come to New York to help the Red Bulls compete for championships this year and for years to come. His international pedigree is second to none and he is a proven winner."
    to none and he is a proven winner."

How many season tickets will he sell?

Should be good for the MLS...wha mek Portmore or Harbour View cudden sign him?

32 years old? how could he help Portmore or Harbour View?!?

Mekk him gwaan. Is green card him a look!

LOL...

He would fall way down the pecking order at portmore

He would have a hard time concentrating given the goats.

the two-legged or four-legged kind? LOL

but he could try out for the volleyball team, di way him love use him hand dem!

Football's rest home for faded stars acquires another resident

Will the NPL ever reach these lofty heights??

How yu a diss TH suh? look at his resume; surely he MUST have something significant to offer... musn't he?

he has won EVERYTHING that he could win...WC/Euros/CL/La Liga/EPL/FA Cup/Spanish Cup/..don't recall if he won Serie A with Juve....

How yu a diss TH suh? look at his resume; surely he MUST have something significant to offer... musn't he?
                        One of my favourite players in his heyday ...no diss intended to TH

He has a lot to contribute to MLS of course...even operating at 50%

Well ... affi guh watch a game or 2. Never seen him play LIVE yet. HL, wha yuh say? Oh yeah ... I forgot.

First things first.....Death to the Redcows....ok secondly I saw Thierry Henry on MSNBC's Morning Joe today giving an interview about his signing with the Redcows. Interesting how for some reason that this world cup has had a bigger impact with the casual fan than the previous. It has entered pop culture status almost. I would credit ESPN with this. They put alot of effort into making this a true event for the country.

I am sad to say this is a very good pick up for the Cows and seeing how they seem to have gotten their act together without TH I think the east will turn into a two horse race between they and the Columbus.

As for my thoughts on DC United......SHUT UP ASSASSIN! - T.K.

Gamma: How many years since he was the best at the GUNNERS?