Crouch is technique perfect

• Crouch is technique perfect

Crouch is one of the best strikers in the EPL. Dun talk!

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=629 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD colSpan=3><DIV class=mxb><DIV class=sh>Liverpool 3-0 Bolton </DIV></DIV></TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top width=416><DIV class=mvb><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=416 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=bottom><DIV class=mvb><SPAN class=byl>By Jonathan Stevenson </SPAN></DIV></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    </DIV>

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=203 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><DIV> <DIV class=cap>Crouch showed fabulous technique to score Liverpool's opener</DIV></DIV></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>Liverpool climbed above Bolton to third in the Premiership after a superb second-half performance at Anfield.

Peter Crouch grabbed the first, the striker majestically volleying in from eight yards after fine approach play from Dirk Kuyt and Jermaine Pennant.

Kuyt was again involved two minutes later as Steven Gerrard brilliantly volleyed in the Dutchman's cross.

After Jussi Jaaskelainen saved well from Sami Hyypia, Kuyt got his goal by drilling under the Bolton goalkeeper.

<DIV class=avinline>Interview: Liverpool boss Rafael Benitez </DIV><DIV class=avinline>Interview: Liverpool's Peter Crouch </DIV><DIV class=avinline>Interview: Bolton's Gary Speed </DIV>

The second-half drubbing was largely what Bolton deserved for an apathetic display during which they failed to muster a single shot on target.

Unbeaten at home in the league for 27 games now, their best run since 1981, Liverpool kicked off 2007 in lively fashion as they surged at Bolton from the start.

With plenty of width provided by Mark Gonzalez and Pennant they tested Bolton's defence early on, Gerrard lashing wide and Kuyt's goalbound volley bravely blocked by Abdoulaye Faye.

Bolton did not want to give third place up easily and they soon settled into their customary rhythm of breaking up the play, though they never looked like creating much.

To Liverpool's credit they matched their opponents' physical ability and continued to probe for an opening, with Pennant a constant threat down the right.

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=208 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD width=5></TD><TD class=sib606><DIV class=sihf>606: DEBATE </DIV><DIV><DIV class=mva><DIV id=q1></DIV>All the early season criticism of Rafa is now being shown to be ridiculous <DIV id=q2></DIV><BR clear=all></DIV></DIV><DIV class=mva><DIV class=mva>SM</DIV></DIV><DIV class=ibqlinks>

RE: Crouch is technique perfect

The rotation system that Rafa has implemented will be copied by all in the next two seasons, our system has depth. Crouch , Kuyt, Bellmay , (in form )Cisse , Pongoalle (loan in form). Its all about depth with form. We still need that 2

<TR><TD height="48" width="487" bgcolor="#e5e5e5" colspan="2"><SPAN class=headline> GERRARD: PENNANT DESERVES SPECIAL PRAISE </SPAN>
    <SPAN class=small>Paul Eaton 01 January 2007 </SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD height="90" width="130" bgcolor="#ffffff" valign="top"></TD><TD class=med width="357" valign="middle">Steven Gerrard reserved special praise for Jermaine Pennant following Liverpool's 3-0 victory over Bolton at Anfield. </TD></TR><TR><TD class=med width="487" bgcolor="#ffffff" colspan="2" valign="top">Pennant was a constant threat to the Wanderers defence and fed a regular supply of dangerous crosses into the visitors' penalty area.

Goals from Peter Crouch, Gerrard and Dirk Kuyt secured victory but the skipper was quick to praise Pennant's contribution after the final whistle.

He said: "It was the perfect start: a home win, three points and a clean sheet and we played some really good football against a decent side.

"It's been a great week for me personally but personal things are put to one side when you go onto the pitch.

"It was a great team performance and there should be a special mention for Jermaine Pennant. He's been criticised this season but today he was fantastic, his crossing from the right was superb.

"My goal was really nice. I was really quiet second half but I was pleased with the goal.

"We've had a decent run of late and it was important to keep that going today. We were disappointed to lose at Blackburn because we've been playing well, but the idea now is to keep going and keep trying to close the gap on the top teams every week." <CENTER><SCRIPT language=JavaScript></SCRIPT></CENTER></TD></TR><TR><TD height="12" width="487" colspan="2"></TD></TR>

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Henry, Kolo Toure&amp; Drobga!

mmmm? Cesc Fabregas - problems with power

and Rio Ferdinand's left foot may be just off... ----

I think the above are the closest to whatI would like my ten outplayers and my reserves to be...i.e. *11 players with Fabregas' touch and passing ability, Henry's speed &amp; scoring ability, Drobga's strength &amp; scoring abilityand Rio Ferdinand's and Kolo Toure's defensive prowess.

I am sure building such a TEAM...or a close cloneis possible! The REGGAE BOYZ?

Most of the other good players are lacking either in proficiency with one foot or heading.

*Why can not goalkeepers be excellent outplayers...after all is said and done it would be good to have excellent PENALTY takers and excellent **'out-defenders'.

**Goalkeepers must be excellent judge of space and time...&amp; thus should be good at knowing when to come outof their Penalty-Area to defend...&amp; should be able to handle the ball well with feet and head. Right?

Rafa fi stop thinker with the forward line, start Kruyt and Crouch as it is the best combination he has and run Bellamy and Fowler off the bench until they start lighting it.

Mosiah, nuff big up to Crouch as that was a fantastic goal. Now the other shoe...budum! See it drop deh...Crouch should have had a hat-trick. That is what is frustrating. Do you think that Michael Owen would have missed those headers? Nah sah.

If I was Rafa, I would mek Crouch do NOTHING but practice finishing ALL DAY LONG. Then, when him go home, I would havehim eat YAM, BANANA, DASHEEN and NUFF FOOD to fatten him up; andin the off-season, I would send him to Bill Bellichek to go through weighttraining with the New England Patriots (or any other NFL team for that matter). The youth need some strength rasta.

Anyway, a great win for the Mighty Reds, especially on the heels of the Manurenited tie at Newcastle. To win the title, Rafa has to go on a 14 game unbeaten run, including winning 3 times at Anfield against Manurenited, Arsenal and Chelskum. We can do it. Great performance today by the Reds. (Clap)