All the fuss about Video Replay in Football...

• All the fuss about Video Replay in Football...

....still will not solve the issues that people keep harping about. Why?!?! because believe it or not even with video replay mistakes are made. Ive seen it happen even in NFL/NBA games and offficials still make bad calls at times.

What needs to be amended/replaced in the football books are some of the archaic laws FIFA have had in place a long time! Im not tryna revisit the Ghana/Uruguay issue but any handball on tha goalline constitues a GOAL/automatic red card in my humble opinion. If they stamp it out now then another team wont attempt to do it to prevent their team from losing gaining a temporary reprieve. FIFA should start rite there ...

all mistakes will NEVER be eliminated..it is about minimising mistakes. a very simple concept really ....

one factor not mentioned often is that the video replay can actually increase the efficiency of the officials. when review time comes no one wants to have the most calls overturned .....

The handball should be Goal and yellow card.

Why spoil the game with an expulsion?

The handball should be Goal and yellow card.

Why spoil the game with an expulsion?

Because it is intentional/deliberate. It should be a red card nothing less. That rule is currently in effect when a defender takes out an attacking player who's clean thru on goal so why not same verdict?

all mistakes will NEVER be eliminated..it is about minimising mistakes. a very simple concept really ....

one factor not mentioned often is that the video replay can actually increase the efficiency of the officials. when review time comes no one wants to have the most calls overturned .....

While it can increase efficiency it isnt bulletproof! It doesnt minimise mistakes it only highlights controversial ones. And even then, depending on camera angles officials still have tha ability to make bad calls as evidenced in playoff games both in NBA/NFL. Same applies to football.

Originally posted by Warlord View Post
            It doesnt minimise mistakes it only highlights controversial ones.
            Huh?? If it is used to determine close calls why would it not help to minimize mistakes? Clearly it is not bulletproof, the question is wether it will reduce enough mistakes to make its use worthwhile.

Anyway lets start with goal line technology before we get to video replay.

go figure..is that gap in logic that is often a source of amusement. him parroting something him hear somewhere without even understanding it!

Huh?? If it is used to determine close calls why would it not help to minimize mistakes? Clearly it is not bulletproof, the question is wether it will reduce enough mistakes to make its use worthwhile.

Anyway lets start with goal line technology before we get to video replay.

Good question. Will it reduce enough mistakes to make it usage worthwhile?? Look no further than good/bad calls made by officials that use video replay in the leagues i mentioned that currently use it. They usually take alot of time viewing tha play by play from different camera angles which is extremely time consuming and even then they still have the ability to make a controversial call which happens. My point is cameras or not its down to match officials. Let's wait and see what FIFA decides to do about it.

And yes I agree goalline technology is needed in today's game. That is definitely a must.
                Last edited by Warlord; July 7, 2010, 05:06 PM.

go figure..is that gap in logic that is often a source of amusement. him parroting something him hear somewhere without even understanding it!

Must be speaking about yourself son. I stated my opinion and my opinion only. I dont pay attention to what tha so-called pundits think. Havent u realised that yet? Oh wait... I forgot your one of 'em that go wit da masses and agree with everything they say wholeheartedly.

They mustve had an interesting time wit your kind in highschool.

LOL!!! it would have been better if yuh did parrot....!!!

you wish you coulda live my life, yute!!!

LOL!!!!!

[quote=Gamma;244878]LOL!!! it would have been better if yuh did parrot....!!!

you wish you coulda live my life, yute!!![/quote]

Naw im good.