• Of course, FIFA can stop

a lot of the foolishness using:

- replay technology
    - award/rescind cards based on video evidence
    - make the consequence fit the infraction e.g. if you stop a sure goal award it
    - stop the clock in stoppage and extra time

and that 's just to start...

http://g.ca.sports.yahoo.com/soccer/...ing070310.html

Steeeups

All the ref inna the Ghana match had to do was award the goal, saying him see it cross the line. Who could naysay him? Afterall, the ref in the ENG/Ger match miss an obvious goal and dem nuh change dat.

In the interest of justice, the ref shoulda just blow the whistle and point to the spot. Uruguay would not even register a complaint!
    Last edited by Willi; July 5, 2010, 10:29 AM.

i find no fault at all with the ref's decision. he did the right thing on all accounts. remember, he could have "missed" the handball as well. because of how important it was, some refs would not have the cojones to award a penalty with no time left.

the ref was en punto.

Nah sah.

Him see the handball and him see that the man coulda possibly head it.

Goal! It look close enuff. No arguments from anyone. Spirit of the law upheld.

Willi, I totally agree with you but then the naysayers would say the laws says the ball must cross the line and FIFA would fire the referee....
          Point though...we have a group that play football daily (kinda scrimmage with a bigger goal) and if anyone hands a ball going to the goal - the goal is awarded. That is the spirit of the game. No arguments.

in your scrimmage game, can the goalie use his hands? do you play offsides?

in my opinion you cannot get around the rules. the ref has no discretion. you really go down a slippery slope when you ask the refs to conjure results outside the rules of the game.

a rule change is required!

Conjure....?

It looked like a goal to me at first. Any doubt goes to the attacking side. Worsarah in this case! LoL

yes CONJURE!!!

Like how the Linesman and ref inna the England match conjure a no goal when even a blind spectator wid him back to the field could see seh dat score????

Last minnit of play and man ah swat ball off the line wid him hand? End the play....goal....every moral fabric of the game violated there. Even with a doubt, the attackers must get the advantage.

Can the ref saw without a shadow of a doubt that the ball did not cross the line??? I am sure he cant and he should use his discretion to award the attackers the benefit of the doubt.

The result as it stands brings the game into disrepute!

If FIFA had video replay, the referee in the Ghana game would have given the ruling of a red card and a penalty on the field, then stopped the game for video review to determine if the ball had crossed the goal line.

If the ruling of "no goal" was confirmed, the next step would have been Ghana taking the penalty kick.

exactly.

an wi call dem tief don't it? and call fi dem head nuh true?

NHL Rule Book: Rule 39 Video Review

http://www.nhl.com/ice/page.htm?id=26326

Some interesting points I did not know:

EVERY goal must be reviewed by the replay official.

The replay official may signal the game referee to delay the ensuing face off for a moment to take a longer look at the play.

The replay official may summon the referee to the scorers table for a full review, OR the referee may request a review.

The decision of the video replay official, not the referee, is final.

in your scrimmage game, can the goalie use his hands? do you play offsides?

in my opinion you cannot get around the rules. the ref has no discretion. you really go down a slippery slope when you ask the refs to conjure results outside the rules of the game.

a rule change is required!

There you go again. The lawyer in you need to be exorcised. True, the ref was FIFA legally correct but I agree with Willi.That is what I have been preaching. I also also agree that a rule change is required so that it does not happen again.

Now back to the ref. He had two right choices 'no goal ' or 'goal" based on what HE saw. Video replays are not allowed in the decision making process therefore the referee had the moral option of 'seeing' that the ball had crossed the line. All he had to do was to see that the call crossed the line. I dared FIFA to send him home for seeing that the ball crossed the line.

Dem seh tief shall never prosper, but it look like seh Diego, Henry and Suarez did...or did they?

LoL