Rule change required!!!

• Rule change required!!!

A deliberate hand ball on the line should be ruled a goal by the referee, from a cost benefit analysis, especially in an OT situation the cost of a red card at the end of the match for one player and a penalty kick can be significantly less costly than actually deliberately using hands to keep a ball out of the net.

That case was proven today, the cost of cheating can be of far less impact as it is a known statistic that penalty kicks in ot and after Ot are almost 50-50 or 60-40 versus the absolute death faced if the ball is not handled at the end of OT, so from a cost benefit analysis it was a extremely wise decision to handle the ball, giving uruguay another chance to breathe, with the possibility of the kicking team missing the penalty or the goal keeper saving the penalty of clsoe to 40-50%.

If a ball is handled on the goal line by a field player it seems that should be an automatic goal rather than an penalty as the rules currently dicate of having to take a pressure filled shot with a goal keeper in play versus a shot that was destined for the back of the net and only not happening becuase of the use of the hand by a field player, so the penalty is also a fine against the team taking the shot.

Just my thoughts, mad as hell about the game and that those punks won that match especially that cheat Suarez, a punk of the highest order, cheating actually wins in this case!!!

Agreed 100%.

Every 4 years the game is put on the world stage and besides the spectacle of the WC, the flaws and shortcomings of some laws of the games are examined and exposed. You have articulated EXACTLY what Exile and I discussed after today's match... it's a travesty that Suarez will now become a hero for having cheated and a side that outplayed the opposition and demonstrated such heart has to go home.

I feel it for the Ghanaian bredrin and FIFA MUST re-examine the deliberate handball on the goal-line...for surely, as a ref can call back a goal, he can also award one in such a case... and I am talking specifically of this particular foul; it's done in basketball, why not in football.... a great injustice was c rommitted today and this kind of victory for me is hollow and frankly leaves a bitter taste in my mouth about the fair play and all that shyte that FIFA loves to espouse.

This WC demonstrates in no uncertain terms that replays and goaline technology need to be introduced... and this particular foul of a deliberate handball on the line should result in the goal being awarded...forget the effing pk;the odds then move from a 100% certain goal to an 80% certain goal and then as in today's game, a 50-50 chance of winning... how can the villains claim victory... FIFA must act... but mi nah hol' mi breat'...

Having said this above, Suarez did the "right" thing in the context of the current Laws... is there anyway that we as a community can lobby FIFA about making a rule change...start a Facebook page or osmething...unuh know seh all of AFrica plus anyone with any sense of what "fair play" and natural justice is, would support this.

Suarez is a merceneray of the highest order, there is no honour is stopping a ball with your hand in a game that is played with the every part except the hand, he has no honour at all and it seems this is the case with many of the professional players, with the best examples being Maradona, Henry and now this guy, (with Maradona showing pride about his dishonest actions how can anyone compare this guy to Pele) we might as well call this thing handball as when this thing is counted at the highest stage of competition it transforms into something else and the guardians of the game look more like statues guarding a lost city than living breathing entities that can affect change. This almost make me feel like stop watching ball, it has taken the joy out of the game, even though my other team won today, my heart was with Ghana!

well i agree. but for the handball ON THE LINE it is a goal. a rule change would be in order

The current lack of teeth in laws empower this behaviour...

The other thing is the use of replays to make things right on goals like the Arg Mex and Ger Eng match. We have the technology to make certain things right, why not use it?

and for sure, the offending player should be heavily sanctioned, like a 4 match ban. plus fine!

No!

...so deliberately stopping an attacking in the ...in the goal-area or penalty-area should be a goal?

...Hey! ...stopping the ball on the goal-line in front of goal or just before the goal-line in front of goal but a little further out with the hand is definitely action in the penalty-area...and could often be in the goal-area! ...so you would like all those cases to be the award of a goal?

...or you are now going to add if the ball is traveling at "X" velocity "no goal" but at "Y" or greater velocity goal?

...are you going to award a goal for those where the ball was on its way away from goal but the player was on the goal-line i.e. those that would have not gone into the goal?

...any the goal-line runs quite a long way!

Penalty mi seh if the offense is committed in the penalty-area by a defender...save and except the goalkeeper.

How much for a hand ball on the 6 yard line?

2, 4 matches. i dunno!

Should we start banning Jamaican cheats from our National team?