OK...FIFA needs to change the rule...handball on the line...

Willi what seems like a second for the camera is like 10 minutes for that player. His country, his house, his club, his money, his family and going out a the world cup. LOL.

I have been fairly consistent in how I see an amendment or addition to the laws... which is related to a HAND_BALL on the goal-line (between the posts) that impedes the ball crossing the line into the goal. I see the decision being made in conjunction with a video replay to verify that the infraction did prevent the ball crossing, otherwise a penalty would result.

Arguments that it would slow down the game I don't buy... there have been an average of 2.3 goals scored PER GAME in the WC... and the Ghana incident is the only one of its kind. The issue for me is that goals are so relatively few that teams that have earned a legal goal should not be denied.

I only added the 6 yd box comment as an afterthought... but I don't see why it couldn't apply.

Wait hold on dey, how much time as a player, especially if you play defense have we stood on the line holding a post, which person here on this forum has ever tried to save a goal off the line with his hands, we never even thought off it as it goes against the most fundamental ethic of the game, we don't use hand we use foot, why is this such an argument, Ghanapure and simple got a goal denied, many of these Argentinian and Uruguayan players have no regard for the rules , they would probably sell there family if it could save them, that is how much a win is worth, I love to win, but i certaintly do not want a tarnished win. again I want to see all the man them that a defend Suarez tell us how they tried the same thing as i know anybody on this forum who probably has played orgainzed ball at least 10 years should have been in a position on the goal line, is either we stand for something or Suarez is the most brilliant guy who ever played the game.

OK!

Dis breddah yah bring di game inna disrepute dat ah di problem, dere is deliberate hans mi understan dat. But him ah too handedly a bat dung di ball outah di goal, dat ah tiefness. Nutten like dis nevah happen before, if ah suh him waan guh keep mek him nevah mek dem select him as ah keepah.
            Last edited by myYout; July 6, 2010, 04:55 PM.

Two Uruguayan players tried to handle the ball.

The first one missed the second one succeeded.

A Mockery of the Game.

What you have to realise is that maybe with 15 minutes to go he wouldn't have handle the ball and there was still chance his team coulda score. This will only happen once in a while.

I don't buy it that the Argentinians and Uraguayans have no regards for the rules. Watch the Championship league in England and it is no better. Who dirtier than the Italians when they want and did you see Shumaker on Battiston in 78?

The man made on dirty play throughout the game so is not that he has no regard for the rules. What you say Henry don't either.

It is not brilliant but a just reality. The man did it, it is no defending him, he should be punished as the rule states.

The whole thing is just pure agony, it really spoil the whole cup for me, I would have been ok if uruguay won fair and square but the whole thing left me feeling very much dissatisfied and the more i think of it the worse i feel. Cannot get over it at all, the use of the hands in that situation should be a goal, anything else makes the whole thing look like a poppy show.

i agree 100%!

yeah mi understand still. It is a tough one. If a rule change fine but not to one that is even more controversal in 4 years time. FIFA have done a great job of doing that.

The punishment for that handball should be more than just a world cup game. It hurt to see Ghana go like that but sports is a wicked thing.

Yeah me nuh have a problem with a rule change but it has to be well thought out so there are no unintended consequences.

I just don't see the sense in a rule change to give a goal for that hand ball without at the same time also making sure through the use of technology that goals like the England one that crossed the line are given. Suppose that one was in the last minute of extra time to win the game? Yes one is deliberate and one is a mistake but in the end the result is the same.

And I am sure most won't admit it now, but if this happened to a team other than Ghana, lets say England for example, there would not be the same amount of outrage and call for change of rules.

a coulda di USA, losing in such a manner would be unfair!

you nuh see man a say the US should just accept it and nuh talk bout it when they had their goal taken away.

Bwoy it nuh easy still.

Indeed, the USA has been unfairly hurt by this nonsense called offsides. Time to get rid of that silly offside rule!