OK...FIFA needs to change the rule...handball on the line...

Well i's about time that something is done... the Law is flawed if the cheater regains an advantage by committing a foul.

And it matters not that it is because it happened to Ghana that some posters are upset... anyone with a sense of justice would be; cheating cannot be allowed to benefit the cheater...especially in football where, as in today's match you can play for 120 minutes and only two legal goals are scored... a goal in football is VERY VALUABLE and cannot be cheapened the way it is by this obvious oversight in the Laws of the game.

FIFA should do the right thing and rewrite the deliberate handball Law... when committed by the last line of defence, on the goal-line.

Uruguay cannot be blamed that Asamoah Gyan learned how to take penalty kicks from Onandi Lowe.

Exile, apologies, I did not see this post at all, was so mad i just went straight to it!

Not tru.

Most time man look circumspect.

This was volleyball.

Mi happy rightnow!

Argentina Campeon!

Change it how?

The man got a penalty and bungled it. The Uruguayan player never expected to have saved his team's chances and was surprised and jubilant when the penalty was missed.

99.9% of the time that penalty should have been as easy as taking candy from a baby.

so?

suh looking at WHO mek the cry as opposed to the justice or injustice of the situation? yuh just as bad as dem (we)

FYI...according to one source I read the conversion rate for penalties is 80-90%... a far cry from 99.9%.. all now we would still be watching the 94 shootout between Italy and Brazil if the conversion rate was so high...

Well said.

BTW what is the conversion rate for penalties in the quarter finals to date in open play, I believe it is zero, three penalties taken and none scored and for all penalties in the quarters it has been 13 taken and 6 scored that is 46%, rule change needed for sure otherwise in tight games at the end the guys marking the inside and outside poles on all balls heading for goals we will be seeing all guys of diving and pushing balls away if the ball looks like it is going to score. football will be well volleyball for sure.

this is simple a once in a lifetime thing. You may never see this happen again in a very long time . How many times before have you seen anything like this?

For the very reason that it might be a "once in a lifetime thing" it needs to be done right... you don't think?

My point is football will not turn volleyball as Stoni is trying to say. Getting right is fine but this will not happen very often.

I don't think it will become volleyball either, but when a player tries to do it (make it v-ball) he should be sanctioned heavily.. the consequence for "goaltending" on the line is too soft when as you say it is a once in a lifetime opportunity... after 120 mins of giving it your all to see a SURE goal batted away and the the offender becomes a hero?? it IMO makes a mockery of the game.

my reaction is from the gut and somehow the result doesn't sit right with me... just my opinion.