• FIFA decides to take 'corrective' measures

FIFA: Replay of Tevez goal 'a mistake'

JOHANNESBURG -- FIFA will censor World Cup match action being shown on giant screens inside the stadium after replays of Argentina's disputed first goal against Mexico fueled arguments on the pitch.
    Angry Mexico players protested to referee Roberto Rosetti after the screens in Johannesburg's Soccer City showed Argentina forward Carlos Tevez was offside before he scored the opening goal in a 3-1 victory on Sunday.
    FIFA spokesman Nicolas Maingot said Monday that replaying the incident was "a clear mistake."

Jeff Bradley: In front of their very eyes

Unfortunately, there's no turning back a call, even when players and coaches see the video evidence, writes ESPN The Magazine's Jeff Bradley. Story

"This will be corrected and we will have a closer look into that," Maingot told a news conference Monday. "We will work on this and be a bit more, I would say, tight on this for the games to be played."
    Maingot said the screens were used to broadcast a FIFA "infotainment program" to fans before the match and could be used to replay some match action.
    Responsibility for operating the screens falls to South Africa's World Cup organizing committee, which took charge of the 10 stadiums during the tournament.
    Organizers' spokesman Jermaine Craig said he had spoken to the stadium broadcasting team about the incident.
    "The goal was awarded and it happened relatively quickly," Craig said. "In retrospect, maybe it shouldn't have been shown. It was shown and unfortunately there is nothing we can do about that."
    Maingot said FIFA has not yet received feedback from its officials at the match about a mass confrontation between coaches and players behind the Mexico bench as the teams left the field at halftime.
    Italian referee Rosetti was at the center of a melee trying to separate heated conversations that included Argentina coach Diego Maradona.

Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press

These ********s can't be serious.

I am having a slight debate here on whether Tevez was offside... the law speaks of being level with the second to last opponent but nothing about being behind the last opponent which was one of the two Mexicans.

Any thoughts? anyone?

I am having a slight debate here on whether Tevez was offside... the law speaks of being level with the second to last opponent but nothing about being behind the last opponent which was one of the two Mexicans.

Any thoughts? anyone?
        He was clearly offside. He was closer to the goal than any of his oppenents when the ball was passed.

Any thoughts? anyone?
          The law clearly states he is offside by being in the position he was.

Explanation -

At the moment the ball was played - You are in an offside position if you are nearer the opponent's goal-line than the ball unless there are two opponents nearer the goal-line than you are.

At the moment the ball was played to Tevez he was -
          1) Nearer his opponents goal-line than the ball

...and...

2) there were not two opponents nearer to that goal-line than he was.

---------

Fact is, he was alone in on goal when the ball was passed to him!

The assistant referee was perfectly place....therefore he must have been momentarily BLIND!

Karl,

I cut and paste the following from FIFA.COM, Laws of the game. I have highlighted the words "second-last opponent" .

It is not an offence in itself to be in an offside position.
            A player is in an offside position if:
            • he is nearer to his opponents’ goal line than both the ball and the
            second-last opponent

A player is not in an offside position if:
            • he is in his own half of the fi eld of play or
            • he is level with the second-last opponent or
            • he is level with the last two opponents

Tevez was nearer to the goal-line than both the ball and the LAST opponent. technically he is then NOT offside?

My instinct and sense of fair play tell me that the position he is in should also be considered off-side but the wording of the Law seems to vindicate the refs decision to let the goal stand. Where is Gamma?

I can't imagine interpreting it any other way!

Surely if being nearer than the second-last opponent makes you offside, then the clear implication is that being nearer than the last opponent is also offside?

3rd rate italian ref...lol or hungarian in Englands case..lol

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Anyone noticed when the ref blew for a penalty against Ghana , espn replayed it once and it showed the ghanian player did get the ball.

They want you to see what they want you to see , not what you should see , if fifa used replays how would a video replay be done would it be done from the cameras angle or the ref.......the angles , tell the whole story.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Karl,

I cut and paste the following from FIFA.COM, Laws of the game. I have highlighted the words "second-last opponent" .

It is not an offence in itself to be in an offside position.
                    A player is in an offside position if:
                    • he is nearer to his opponents’ goal line than both the ball and the
                    second-last opponent

A player is not in an offside position if:
                    • he is in his own half of the fi eld of play or
                    • he is level with the second-last opponent or
                    • he is level with the last two opponents

Tevez was nearer to the goal-line than both the ball and the LAST opponent. technically he is then NOT offside?

My instinct and sense of fair play tell me that the position he is in should also be considered off-side but the wording of the Law seems to vindicate the refs decision to let the goal stand. Where is Gamma?
                    Firstly - You have ignored the instruction to consider where Tevez was when the ball was played (played to him)!

Secondly - Your quote:

Gives the wrong interpretation. You should have written either -

Tevez was nearer to the goal-line than both the ball and the LAST opponent. Technically he is (was) IN an offside position?
                    ...or...

Tevez was nearer to the goal-line than both the ball and the LAST opponent. Technically being in an offside position does not of itself make for you being called offside?
                    The problem with the latter position (quote) is you must follow on with - That not being called offside assumes the player does not become active on the instant play.

Conclusion: Specifically as it relates to Tevez he became active...actually received the ball and put it in the back of the net (Truth is it would not matter what he did with the ball once he became active. He was OFFSIDE!)

...and...

Cho man, mi kno yuh can read. This is merely your misunderstanding of what 'The Law' says.

This rule is a little obscure, FIFA needs to overall the entire rule book.

The second-last opponent must be referring to the last defender (the goalkeeper being the last). However, the goalie was in front of Tevez, and the two defenders. The goalie must have played Tevez onside..
                      Six days I work for my children, on the seventh day they work for me.
                      Mitty

Originally posted by Mitty View Post
                        This rule is a little obscure, FIFA needs to overall the entire rule book.

The second-last opponent must be referring to the last defender (the goalkeeper being the last). However, the goalie was in front of Tevez, and the two defenders. The goalie must have played Tevez onside..
                        The goalkeeper is a defender!
                        The second last opponent is whomever that person is. It could be the goalkeeper or another opponent.

Do not think of the goalkeeper as other than a defender (just another defender) when discussing the OFFSIDE.

Karl, offside is about positioning. I cant see how being in front of the ball will lead to the same call as being behind the ball as far as the goalie is concern.
                          Tevez may have been offside, but the rule is so obsure that one can argue away the offside call just based on the position of the goalie when the pass was made.
                          Six days I work for my children, on the seventh day they work for me.
                          Mitty

them making it from bad to worst. Again see how the man dem a screw with the technology?

it should be used but the ref should be privy to all angles , not just the camera mans biased angle but all angles and it should only be used when a penalty or goal is in question at the time of blowing the whistle on a questionable incident.