Willi, How you say this England team FAR Superior

First post about football:

Willi, the French team may have performed worse than the English team (just about) but there were obvious reasons for that. Players were being sent home, refusing to train etc. Not only that but Henry and some other players were not even starting.

Now England have no such excuse. They played badly because quite frankly, they are not that good. Or atleast not as good as the English media made them out to be. People get caught up in the Premiership hype forgetting that the English players are supported by better foreign players who mask their flaws and make them look better than they are.

The England team lack the skill and pace to compete with the better teams. They are not, save for 1 or 2 "world class" (a phrase that has been thrown around too much in the world cup). They are a good, above average team with good and some very good players, but they are far from great or "world class". Thats the fact that the English fans are starting to except after being outplayed by pretty much every team they played against in this world cup.

Lets be honest, they should be grateful for the 4-1 defeat against Germany, imagine what the score would have been against Argentina?

How England reach Sth Africa if dem not good as you lot say.

How comes Argentina barely scrape thru qualifiers? Now they are touted as winners. I picked Argentina as I know they are talented and that after hitting rock bottom, they could only go one way. I likewise shunned Spain, as I feel that when you peak too soon...

England played poorly and they had far worse problems than France. France problems were before the Anelka blowup. England's problem is mostly around Terry. Capello should have dropped his azz long ago. He is a cancer in the side. The players dont respect him and on top, he tried to stage and unsuccessfoul coup after the Algeria game.

When England went down 3-1, he was in Germany's 18 yard box!!! This was during open play and he knows that the entire English backline is not known for speed! I am sure he was there going for glory (where he would get the credit for any resulting goal) knowing that if they get hit onthe counter, the blame goes to the manager! A win-win for bad bargain Terry in his mind! I mean there was like 25mins left of play and he is this reckless???? Especially as they got beaten for pace twice before and Eng was dominating possession at that time?

Now as to Rooney. I have NEVER seen a player drop of form like that ever. in a 2006 warm up, I saw Rooney live running thru the Argie back line like they were non-existent. Its the pressure that got to him and he choked. You could see it in his face.

Willi, who did England have to play in the qualifiers and who did Argentina have to play? LOL. Not to mention they did not even qualify for the last Euro championships.

England had an easy qualifying group and a "easy" group in the World Cup, the "easiest" for years. I put easy in quotations because England barely made it out of the group stages and they finished in second place.

England are not a bad team, they are just not as good as they will have you believe. They lack the technical skill and the speed of the better teams, heck even Algeria were technically better on the ball. A couple of the players look overweight (Rooney, Johnson) and out of shape.

As for Rooney, I feel soory for him. Its not his fault people overated him. With Manchester United he plays alongside skillful foreign players who are able to give him the service he thrives on. With England he doesn't have that and he was exposed for the player that he is. Very good in certain conditions, but not great.

http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/f...o-2006139.html

http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/f...s-2006187.html

Argentina got 6-1 from Bolivia in the qualifiers!

YHow can a player lose basic technical ability in 3 weeks. Was he falling over balls for ManU? Was he incapable of beating any defender? Was he incapable of completing a simple pass? Its less than a month ago!

I am not saying that Eng has a great team or system, I am saying that France sucks even more! France normally has a slection of VERY skillful players to choose from, but their barrel is bare at the moment.

For the record, I dont see much EPL or listen to EPL hype.

Lol! I've read all about Terry's attempted coup. He's still mad the captaincy was stripped from him. Terry is generally a very unsavourary character who has been involved in a lot of dodgy dealings. Still, that does not compare to what went on in the French camp. The only excuse England have is that they were not good enough. Even the English media, who are notorious at making excuses for the poor performance of the football team, acknowledge this.

As for Rooney, he was rushed back after an injury at Man utd, I don't think he has fully recovered, plus the pressure "the white Pele" lol. Saying that, Drogba played with a broken arm and still managed to have an impact on his team. Rooney was terrible.

Both France and England have ageing teams with little talent coming through. But atleast France have had a decade or so of playing quality football and a World Cup and Euro cup win. England, despite the hype have little to show from their "golden generation". Back to the grass roots.

MissLondon I woulda marry yuh just on that post.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Golden generation is crap. The 1986/90 was their golden generation. LoL
                The French only had ruptions because the coach nuh good. Hehehehe

They sucked even before Anelka exploded. This French team thinks they are somehow equivalent to the Zidane team.

Fair enuff about Rooney, we agree there.

I think the dislike for Terry goes deep. Not of his teammates trust him. (At least not with their significant others...LoL).

The English media just a week or two ago was thinking they would win the World Cup, so how could I take their utterances seriously now, when I could not then?

They are like an extreme pendulum.

ENG was never going to win the WCup!

Willi, the English media go through the same cycle every four years. A couple of weeks before, they start the hype "footballs coming home", "This will be our year", "Golden generation", only for them to have to eat their words a couple weeks later when England get knocked out after another dismal performance. I'm sure its been the same since 1966! LOL. You have to give it to the English, no other nationality has such blind faith in their medicore football team lol. This time its slightly different though because there is no one else to blame. Some are trying to blame Capello, but the truth is too obvious even for that blame game; They are not good enough!